We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!..”
other travelers have booked this property
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive
the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
the living room is too big to photograph well - this is one of the sitting areas
the main fireplace, which is very atmospheric in spring or autumn
the other end of the living room, with the pool table, old piano, and the library
the library sitting area area in the evening
the kitchen has oak work tops and is large enough for several cooks
it is very well equipped, to semi-professional standards
the range cooker is tucked under a 300 year old oak beam
its very comfortable for large groups
there are 6 en suite bedrooms, all similar to this
another typical bedroom, simple but comfortable
the simple en suite bathrooms are all like this
you might prefer to eat out in the courtyard, which is a real sun trap
or perhaps on the terrace, looking out over our fields
the grass in front of the terrace looks over to the 12th century village just across the valley
the 11 x 5 m poo is solar heated.  It has its own walled and sheltered garden that gets sun all day
the pool is open until sunset, and cleaned for you regularly
you might like to walk in the grounds - thats the 12th C church in the background
this is the estate from our land, with snow capped Pyrenees in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fanjeaux, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
davehM318...
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect!..”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently had a wedding to attend in the south of France it is the first time that myself and family have been to the rural regions of France ..close to the Pyrenees Mountains. I have to say ..breathtaking!!!.is an understatement, what an absolutely incredible and inspiring place to go.
We stayed at the barn domaine de Puget which we had read excellent reviews about and it seemed to cater for the size of our party and had facilities for both us and the kids and also an elderly member of the party which I have to say John (owner) when the out of his way to accommodate for.
The actual property is stunning the pictures seem tiny compared to the actual size of this place if the pictures impress the reality will be overwhelming absolutely huge...front and back stunning views and a relaxing courtyard which is so peaceful at breakfast ..property is exactly the taste of decor you would want and expect from this kind of property, all round absolutely out of the top draw!
Pool is immaculate
Table tennis well positioned
Pool table indoors is fab
MASSIVE MUSIC AND DVD CHOICE..really helps when you have kids and great for setting the tone for wine and conversations accompanied buy great food prepared in their very high spec and very spacious kitchen.
8 burner hob. Two full size ovens underneath.. When you enjoy cooking..walking out of your own kitchen is usually daunting when preparing food for others.. this kitchen is been thought through very well and using it is an absolute pleasure.
Other things to note:-
Loads of land, beautiful walks, huge array of wildlife from Golden eagles, otters, huge moths glowworms, carpenter bees et cetera et cetera ...many of which I've never seen before!
If I continue then John will have nothing to share with you upon your arrival I can only conclude by saying if you can, you absolutely must go!!!this an enchanting, delightful and most pleasant experience.
10/10 John .. You and your wife are a credit and we very much appreciated the extra effort you made to make it perfect for us!

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
1 review
“Perfect End to Our French Vacation!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Le Puget in May 2016 as a group of 11 for the last days of our two week trip. John met us when we arrived and was sure to leave some wine in the fridge for us. The property was perfect and we were able to visit many local sites by car. We arranged for John to cook us dinner with wine pairings and the dinner (and setting) was perfect. The bubbly was to die for! We also loved the kitchen at the property, as we were able to prepare several meals ourselves. John also made sure we knew which local bakeries had the best breads, and which one had the the best croissants. I'd visit again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slice of French Heaven”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were immediately delighted by a picturesque courtyard, Olive tree and the old farmhouse and knew we had arrived somewhere very special. The farmhouse itself is very well equipped and spacious with all the modern amenities you'll ever need. The rooms impeccably clean, the spotless sheets and beds very comfortable. So many private places to relax, eat, explore and take in all aspects of the enormous property. Such an exciting place for our boys to wander and to take in the hill top views and breath in the country air. Best of all enjoyed with GnT in one hand and a sunset of course. We thank John for his fantastic hospitality and have already eyed up the larger Barn property for a holiday with a bigger group next time. We shall be back.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsbells...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility ”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said.
Janie and John are wonderful hosts friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
The barn and the farmhouse clean and comfortable, pool table, massive CD collection for all tastes. Lovely swimming pool a little chilly when you first get in but you soon become used to it.
A real gem of a place would fully recommend for peace and relaxation and a good base for exploring an truly beautiful area.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a word - fabulous!”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous:
Accommodation, hospitality, views and to top it all - weather!

We were staying as part of a large party of wedding guests and the layout of the very comfortable accommodation made it easy to stay alongside people who we did not know.

John and Janie were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay special.

I would recommend Le Puget for anyone wanting to relax in near idyllic surroundings. My only regret was that I did not arrange car hire as transport is definitely needed to make the most of the surrounding areas.

Date of stay: July 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning, relaxing, idyllic spot”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Le Puget for our family reunion, a group of 15 coming from Toronto and Israel. It was just perfect!
John and Jane were most welcoming hosts, friendly, helpful and not intrusive. The villa itself is spacious with plentiful room for privacy or group settings,
Our children ranged from ages 6-24, and we were 3 couples, 1 grandmother, and 8 children.
There were activities for all, ping pong, billiards, swimming pool, piano, extensive library, movies, music, comfortable sitting/visiting areas inside and out. Gorgeous outdoor space, beautiful nearby towns, stunning views, awesome day trips with gorgeous nature and interesting history. The kitchen is large with an extensive collection of utensils and serving pieces to accommodate our large group.
We were often torn between our day trips and just lounging around our lovely surroundings. I highly recommend this lovely tranquil spot for an idyllic vacation.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way it accommodated our large group, in the kitchen, dining areas, sitting areas, and indoor and outdoor spots.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anny B
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Following my retirement, I wanted a really special family holiday, 3 generations, and we found it at the superb accommodation provided at Le puget.
John and Janey couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The barn and farmhouse were delightful, far exceeding our expectations from the photos, loads of space, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. Everything we needed was there and special requests attended to. The swimming pool was refreshing and in spite of some cool weather (which took us by surprise )was warm enough to take the 2 year old in. It was a lovely area to get together at the end of the day.
The surrounding countryside has many places of interest to visit. My only regret was that we were unable to stay longer! !!

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing