We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil corner of La France Profonde”
other travelers have booked this property
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive
the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
the living room is too big to photograph well - this is one of the sitting areas
the main fireplace, which is very atmospheric in spring or autumn
the other end of the living room, with the pool table, old piano, and the library
the library sitting area area in the evening
the kitchen has oak work tops and is large enough for several cooks
it is very well equipped, to semi-professional standards
the range cooker is tucked under a 300 year old oak beam
its very comfortable for large groups
there are 6 en suite bedrooms, all similar to this
another typical bedroom, simple but comfortable
the simple en suite bathrooms are all like this
you might prefer to eat out in the courtyard, which is a real sun trap
or perhaps on the terrace, looking out over our fields
the grass in front of the terrace looks over to the 12th century village just across the valley
the 11 x 5 m poo is solar heated.  It has its own walled and sheltered garden that gets sun all day
the pool is open until sunset, and cleaned for you regularly
you might like to walk in the grounds - thats the 12th C church in the background
this is the estate from our land, with snow capped Pyrenees in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fanjeaux, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gboardman...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil corner of La France Profonde”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent a supremely relaxing week at Le Puget in the summer of 2014. Our accommodation was the farmhouse which is spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and a lovely place to unwind. Le Puget lies in an attractive and peaceful setting, surrounded by nature and ideal for exploring on foot or just taking in the view. There are various different natural habitats, woods and wildflower meadows, a pond, farmland, wild boar and many species of birds.

John and Janie were very welcoming hosts and a great source of local information and historical knowledge. John cooked truly delicious meals for us using local ingredients accompanied by well-chosen wine - a true gastronomic experience!

Mirepoix is a delightful local town to visit and we also enjoyed some walks in the area, but our priority for the week was relaxation and we found ourselves spending a lot of time in and around the pool, reading, sunbathing and playing table tennis. Le Puget really was the ideal location for our holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenA4242
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A feast for all the senses”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A stay at Le Puget is a real treat! The spacious and comfortable farmhouse was a wonderful home-from-home (only with a better equipped kitchen, and comfier beds.... Hmmm I wonder if John and Janie would mind if we moved in?) They were the perfect hosts, rustling up delectable food and full of local knowledge from wine to walks. And all set in the most gorgeous scenery in the sun-kissed Pyrenean foothills. A truly blissful, relaxing stay - we'll be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place for a Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I've been meaning to write a review for ages about our fantastic stay at Le Puget in July this year. We were a fairly large party of 6 children of varying ages and 3 adults and the house was ideal for all ages with plenty of space. Stunning walks and views and a lovely pool. There is so much to see and do in that area that a week isn't long enough. John and Janie were so welcoming and helpful, even arranging the Tour de France to pass by at the end of the drive way. They were a mine of information on the history of the region and advice on places to go and organised a delicious dinner for one of our evenings, full of locally sourced food.

Thank you John and Janie, we'd love to come back, if you'll have us!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TetianaRo
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A lovely peaceful place in a sunny region between "terre et mer"”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at Le Puget in June along with my friends. Le Puget is very large spacious house with lovely views on the Languedoc. Well equipped kitchen, swimming pool, cozy bedrooms, large terrace and a huge area for the morning-evening walks led to the fact that we wanted to stay at home rather than going out.
John and Janie welcoming hosts who are happy to help. In the first evening we were welcomed with a traditional French dinner and excellent local wine.
We all liked very much the general ambiance of the house, and definitely will be back again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Le Puget for a few days recently and have no hesitation at all in registering appreciation for the place itself, the hosts and the wonderful landscapes and all that go with them. The domaine itself is beautiful and calm with gentle views over farmland punctuated by ancient hilltop villages. The nearby cities of Mirepoix, Carcasonne and Toulouse are beautiful and resonant with a tragic history, great markets and wonderful food. We stayed in the farmhouse which we were delighted to have all to ourselves whilst the wonderful host John recovered from a large hen party the previous week. In fact, I don't think he really wanted any guests that week but he made time and space for us for which we were truly grateful. The house is very comfortable ( great bed) well equipped and welcoming, situated in a peaceful enclosed courtyard and with it's own garden. it would be easy just to chill and never go out if that is the kind of holiday that is wanted, particularly given the easy access to gentle local walks and the swimming pool. In spite of his tiredness, John welcomed us with wonderful wine and food on our first evening and was an invaluable source of support when illness and air traffic control strikes threatened. He must have regretted his decision to allow us to stay but we did not! In spite of these challenges, we managed to have a wonderful break at Le Puget and that just about sums it up. The place is unique and wonderful. We were not! . We will certainly return !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxonDc1
Oxon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest and most peaceful places I've ever visited... a real pick me up..!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife has stayed at Le Puget a number of times, and always spoke very highly of the property and surroundings, so when the opportunity presented itself of us going away without the kids, we jumped at it. It was absolutely wonderful - just a few days away but a vacation in every sense! Lazy days and nights in heaven. Clearly also an ideal place for larger groups to do as fancy takes them - unwind, celebrate, go on retreat, indulge in passionate conversations late into the night and generally recharge batteries with the help of local food and wine (which the host can advise and also provide). A true gem. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD1
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What is this life if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Plenty of stunning views here to behold. Back again for another stay, and of course, John & Janie haven't dropped a gear. Their attention to detail is faultless and they spend their time ensuring your stay wants for nothing. Really goes without saying.... we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing