We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel shame about the owner”
Review of Hotel de l'Orange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de l'Orange
Ranked #2 of 7 Sommieres B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel De L'orange for over 8 years sometimes 4 or 5 times a year and now have finally reached the end of our patience. Although the hotel is delightfull the owner and patron leaves a lot to be desired. He has been extremely rude to us and our guests on numerous occasions so much so that last year one of our freinds left in disgust at his appalling behaviour

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mirrors967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Orange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have reviewed this hotel before, and been generous in my assessments because I and my colleagues have stayed here sometimes up to three times a year for several years , the original 'finding' of this hotel was probably 8 or more yrs ago and we as a group have used it ever since.
Philippe Fremont is an unusual character , he runs a truly stunning hotel but increasingly his mercurial attidude to guests and the 'rules and regulations ' have made us all feel that we walk on eggshells to stay here.
The swimmiing pool is lovely, the rooms are generous in proportion, the setting is stunning and the town of Sommiers is historic, but we unfortunately as a group have had to decide we cannot stay anymore. A dispute about the car park gates and a hasty reaction from Philippe cancelling all our october reservations including a couple of colleagues who wern't even with us on this trip has been the last straw. The security and running of this hotel is the duty of the patron , not the guests ,at £100 a night we expect to be treated with some respect and consideration.
If you are a fleeting visitor to this hotel, its lovely and hopefully you will stay on the right side of the owner, longer or more frequent visits will involve a lot of zipped lips and a fair amount of patience . So 'au revoi'r Philippe we shall miss the hotel and Sommiers but pastures new beckon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 885jilly157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

....watch out for the hospitality! It would have been a better experience if we had not been charged an extortion amount for a bin which got accidentally broken and got told to clean it up ourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazwaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times with colleagues .Philippe is always welcoming and deals with our English eccentricities well, We leave early and although the parking is limited we are always assured of a trouble free get away. Perhaps an update on the beds, better pillows are overdue and we note this time that the soap wasnt replaced and that despite the heat we were not offered a fan when we asked.
But leaving aside these small annoyances we would still recommend this hotel and the town of Sommiers which is breathtaking.
Hotel orange has a lovely pool on the roof which has been on many occasions when really hot a life saver for us, the umbrellas have aged and need an update but the views are to die for and its peaceful .
I think Hotel Orange has a faithful following who will keep visiting to enjoy all those small comforts and indulgencies which give pleasure. long may it last and lets hope the standards are maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilly157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

It was a great place to stay...atmospheric, gracious, artistic, homely, comfortable and welcoming and thoroughly generous and good value for money. We had a courteous welcome, lots of helpful advice and lovely breakfasts. We unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel de l'Orange (http://hotel.delorange.free.fr/) for a weekend in September 2007 on the recommendation of a friend who lives near Sommières.
Sommières is an ancient town dating back to Roman times beside the Vidourle river, halfway between Nîmes and Montpellier. It has a vibrant Saturday morning market where just about anything is available for sale.
The hotel is a beautiful 17th century villa with elegant old-world charm on a hill overlooking the town. There is parking for a few cars at the front gate. Inside the gate is a typical Mediterranean courtyard with palms, cypress trees and grey pebbled ground. Through an imposing front door one enters a high-ceilinged salon which is the reception area of the villa. Philippe de Frémont runs the B&B with loving pride and a great eye for detail. He serves breakfast in the courtyard for his guests every morning, offering homemade jams and other fresh produce from the market. He has a wealth of knowledge to draw from if you have any questions about the area.
There are several rooms scattered about the large villa, all with private baths. Ours was at the front of the house, overlooking the courtyard. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a bright blue and white bathroom. If the weather gets too hot, there is a roof top swimming pool available to guests where you can relax in private. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sommieres
0.4 mi away
Hotel Estelou
Hotel Estelou
#1 of 2 in Sommieres
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Pondres
Chateau de Pondres
#1 of 1 in Villevieille
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Jardin
Hotel Le Grand Jardin
#1 of 1 in Aujargues
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ethic Etapes - Le Cart
Ethic Etapes - Le Cart
#2 of 2 in Sommieres
14 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Mas de l'Olivier
Le Mas de l'Olivier
#1 of 1 in Verargues
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Vanille
Villa Vanille
#1 of 7 in Sommieres
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Orange

Address: 7 rue des Baumes, 30250 Sommieres, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Sommieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sommieres
Price Range: $121 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- 2 Brilliant Gites: a Studio & a 2-bedroom Gite CEVENNES, is a vast family affair, with two bedrooms, a double and a twin, an open plan salon where cooking, dining and lounging are comfortably accomplished. The entrance is via a staircase to a private sun trap. terrace MAZET is a cute idyllic, independent studio for two with a fabulous private terrace off the gardens. - 5 Fabulous Chambres d'hotes We have five fabulous bedrooms in the main house. All delightful double bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. The bedrooms are made up of one ever so slightly more modest double room, a marvellous one bedroom suite and three more, all of which are as generously grand as you would expect in a building of this elegant era. They are all rooms with a view: overlooking the formal courtyard, the gardens to the rear or towards the magnificent church in front of l'Orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing