We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two blokes on bikes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Pont Romain
Ranked #5 of 6 Sommieres B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“two blokes on bikes”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

a mate and i had cycled from Montpellier.when we first saw the hotel it looked like an old prison building, what a surprise when we turned into the garden and entered the building, loads of character and quirky rooms, the twin room was large the beds very welcoming after the bike ride, the breakfast was very good value, staff welcoming and friendly, definitely stay at the pont romain again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    8
    12
    3
See reviews for
20
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I saw this hotel when we were staying in the area a few years ago and wanted to return to stay! The rooms are "old world" very high ceilings + shutters, slightly mis-matched furniture but altogether very charming. Unlike the previous reviewer, our shower worked very well and our room had a nice view over the garden + pool. Although it was very hot when we stayed, and the rooms are not air-conditioned, the room was cool and the fan was more than adequate for a comfortable sleeping environment. We arrived on a Tuesday, the night the restaurant was closed, but there are a lot to choose from within walking distance. We ate in the restaurant the second night and found the food excellent and very good value. The desserts are particularly fabulous! A great location, peaceful and friendly staff with the added bonus of a lovely pool, which seemed underutilised when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went to this hotel for 1 night, booked online a room with a terrace for 1 night.. Once there, the room didn't have a terrace (which was important and why we booked). The reception could do nothing about it and said something about making it up somehow, but never did. Another problem was the shower, no hot water, only very cold water and the tv didn't work.
We didn't have breakfast (13 euros) but had a coffee, very expensive (6 euros) because i took it up to the room.
Otherwise the town of sommieres is very quaint and very enjoyable !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunamare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sommieres hotels

Beaulieu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Garden terrace, swish of sophistication, tinkling of a little stream, delightful welcome. Things start well at the restaurant of the Pont Romain - then get better. The €39 dinner was the best value-for-money meal we've had in an age: inventive starters, briliantly cooked duck and lamb, and desserts that needed hanging in a gallery, such is their magnificent presentation. Don't taste bad, either. If you're in the region - between Nimes and Montpellier - I'd really not hesitate. I can't speak for the hotel, as we didn't stay there, but the restaurant provides an evening of quite memorable finesse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peregrine34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Took my wife and self here for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary,best € I've spent in a long time.Very good food,lovely ambience,superb staff.An Oasis of calm,book it! PS if you like your Chocolate desserts Frederic is in a class of his own.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Guide Michelin had an attractive description, so we made a reservation.
Reception staff was very friendly, the twin room was spacious and stylishly furnished. There was free Wlan in the room. That is what I can say as positive.
The worst: toilet a n d bed had "leftovers" from the previous guest !
The restaurant is not as good as the menu promisses, the portions minuscule.
A bit of a tourist trap. Only time that I was disappointed on my France trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank walhella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hotel is in a lovely old building but the hotel itself is just old. Everything from the wooden floors, to the furniture is old, but not the charming type of old. The doors are the original doors with the big old keyholes that all the noise goes through.
We asked for a quiet room and they put us over the terrace where everyone sits outside to have dinner.
The breakfast was quite expensive considering we get a plain yoghurt, 3 mini pastries and a piece of bread.
The hotel does have a nice garden and pool and is well located in the cute village of Sommieres.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesssazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sommieres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estelou
Hotel Estelou
#1 of 2 in Sommieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Jardin
Hotel Le Grand Jardin
#1 of 1 in Aujargues
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ethic Etapes - Le Cart
Ethic Etapes - Le Cart
#2 of 2 in Sommieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maison d'hotes La Boca
Maison d'hotes La Boca
#3 of 6 in Sommieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Orange
Hotel de l'Orange
#2 of 6 in Sommieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vanille
Villa Vanille
#1 of 6 in Sommieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Pont Romain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Pont Romain

Property: Auberge du Pont Romain
Address: 2 avenue Emile Jamais, 30250 Sommieres, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Sommieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sommieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Pont Romain 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Pont Romain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing