We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Le Clos de Ligre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos de Ligre
Ranked #4 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a lovely property in a quiet village. We were the only people staying for the night - this may be because the price is slightly higher than for other B&Bs in the area. Although Martine was not around when we arrived, she had left us a note and key to our room and we were able to use the swimming pool, which was fine. She also made a very nice meal for us which we ate in an attractively furnished dining room, and even though she had friends round on the terrace, she was very attentive. We actually slept badly because there was a huge thunderstorm raging but otherwise, we would have been very comfortable as the room was nice. Tea and coffee in the room was a bonus and we had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this B&B. It was 110 Euros per night, and we had two rooms for two nights. The rooms are old, rustic, spacious, unique and very clean. Upon entry into our room we were surprised to find a lizard in our room! Being that the property is out in the country, we thought it was cute. When I pulled down the covers at night to get in bed and found another lizard in my bed, it was not cute! Additionally, the mosquitoes and flies buzzing around made it feel a little like camping! Our room was comfortable and having a television to keep up with the Olympics was very nice. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the bathroom which we used. The hostess was hurried when we arrived and never offered a welcome drink or cup of tea, which we thought was surprising and instead she offered other places for us to visit while we still had time. We just wanted a rest after a long drive! We were never shown any common areas that could be used and never told that the wifi was only in the breakfast room.Our children had a room in another building and their room was very nice and spacious as well. Breakfast was pretty disappointing. We were offered tea or coffee and given a basket of croissants and baguettes the first morning. In addition, there was canned fruit, some yogurt, cereal and off tasting juice. The next morning was an even bigger disappointment when we were told the bakery was closed for vacation and we were given toast. I think that for the price of the room we should have been given at least some fresh fruit and some cheese with our toast. Our hostess was nice enough, but never really engaging. All in all, I think you can find a better place that isn't so remote and rustic.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Delightful owner, beautiful rooms, clean and tidy and very comfortable. Absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed with Mme. Descamps in 2007, and eagerly made reservations to return again in March 2012, as part of a family trip with our son and daughter-in-law. Martine was out the door to greet us even before we'd parked the car. Her cheerfulness and eagerness never flagged during our stay. The rooms we chose turned out to be absolutely huge, spotless, comfortable, and decorated with touches that made them interesting and fun to be in. Our dinner and the breakfast the next morning were large, excellent, and filling. The only drawback to this stay was that we couldn't stay longer. Le Clos de Ligre is a wonderful place, more than reasonably priced, and Martine is a superb hostess.

Room Tip: I doubt Martine has a poor room anywhere in the entire place. We've stayed in two of her rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCareyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Late review!
We spent 5 nights at Le Clos de Ligre in July last year. It is a beautiful old house in the French countryside, only a 10 min drive to Chinon. The rooms have lots of character and are decorated and furnished in a rustic style. The owner Martine was very helpful and welcoming but she did not impose and we felt very free to come and go and use the swimming pool and gardens as we pleased. Breakfast was served in the beautiful courtyard and Martine kindly made up a breakfast tray every morning for our 14 year old son who never made it down in time for breakfast!
No shops or restaurants in the village but it is very pleasant for walking or cycling.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We have travelled extensively in France and the welcome we received by the owner, Martine, was wonderfully warm. She speaks excellent English and was very helpful in answering questions about the nearby vineyards. By request it is possible to have dinner at the Clos de Ligre. We arranged this and Martine cooked a superb dinner, served family style in her elegant dining room. Before dinner we were offered an aperitif in her very comfy living room along with several other guests. Our room was large and bright and it's decor very French. The countryside location was beautiful and quiet and yet convenient to many of the chateaux of the Loire Valley. We really appreciated being made to feel so at home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandfeverckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This review is late in coming. I also reviewed on Rick Steve's website. This B & B was beautiful! The location just outside of Chinon was the perfect getaway. The rooms were gorgeous (we peeked into them). The breakfast was sumptious and Martine helped us plan our day trips every morning, lending us her maps and telling us which routes were the most beautiful. Even after a week in Paris, staying at Clos de Ligre really was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamigirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
487 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
179 reviews
24.6 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
466 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
898 reviews
7.1 mi away
Relais du Plessis Resort
Relais du Plessis Resort
#2 of 2 in Richelieu
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de Ligre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de Ligre

Property: Le Clos de Ligre
Address: 22, Rue Rouilly, 37500 Ligre, France, 37500 Ligre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a 19th elegant residence, large sunny gardens, swimming pool, private parking. 5 attractive, comfortable bedrooms, private bathrooms, elegant simplicity and traditional charm. Sitting room with billiard table, baby grand piano. Delicious breakfasts, generous candle-lit dinners on request. Authentic taste of life. Memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos de Ligre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing