We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B in the Loire Valley”
Review of La Milaudiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ligre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Milaudiere
Ranked #3 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B in the Loire Valley”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I spent four nights at La Milaudiere recently and stayed in the Medieval Room. Laurent is a wonderful host and he has an exceptional B&B. He has spent 12 years restoring this 18th century farmhouse and barn into a set of clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated apartments. La Milaudiere is excellent value and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Thank you Laurent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZimKiwiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent four wonderful nights at La Milaudiere. Owner Laurent Marolleau has lovingly restored this 18th century farm into a peaceful retreat in the heart of the Chinon area. Laurent's attention to each guest is exceptional. We had a lovely living room and kitchen at our disposal. Each of the suites is interestingly themed and comfortably appointed. We returned each evening after a day of site seeing, to this quite farm and had our dinner on the terrace or in the living room.

Delicious breakfast with homemade jams. Laurent is great with local attractions and on helping plan our days. I would love to spend another trip at La Milaudiere if I return to the Loire.

Room Tip: We loved the Medieval Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ligre is about ten minutes drive from Chinon. This B&B is quiet and our room (Soleil) had a four poster bed on the ground floor and two further beds and bathroom on the first floor. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambswonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menerbes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I visited the Loire Valley with our daughter and her partner and stayed in the Soleil Room at La Milauderie. The room was sizeable with a mezzanine level providing a separate sleeping and sitting area for one couple and the lower floor the same. We enjoyed spending time in the communal lounge, kitchen, dining area and terrace and garden where wifi was available. Laurent was a magnificent host...so friendly, enthusiastic and accommodating. His breakfasts were beautiful.
We all loved staying at La Milauderie and, although we ventured out each day to visit chateaus, gardens and nearby towns, we felt as if we were returning to a "home away from home." Thank you, Laurent. We would highly recommend La Milauderie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our host Laurent was outstanding. The rooms were just out of a dream book. The breakfast was wonderful. All you could ask for. There is a large and beautiful kitchen and also a beautiful, period, comfortable living area for all guests. Just so generous all around. Beautiful garden settings and 200 year old restored house.

Room Tip: Medival room was lovely, but all other rooms are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneGisela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spend 4 full days visiting Loire Chateaux. Key point for it was B&B in Milaudiere at Ligre.
Mr. Marolleau provides beautiful standing housing at competitive prices. Bedrooms with medieval atmosfear, and excelent breakfast with home-made products. Also lots of leaflets and advise for visiting Loire area. Thanks Mr. Marolleau for this experience.

Pasamos 4 dias en la zona. Punto importante fue el buen alojamiento elegido, habitaciones con atmosfera medieval a precios muy razonables. Buen desayuno con productos caseros. Abundante informacion y consejo del Sr. marolleau. Gracias por ello!

May-2013 J. Blanes (Madrid/Spain).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIO B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milaudiere, Propriétaire at La Milaudiere, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias para vuestra opinión sobre la Milaudiere. La región del Valle del Loira es muy grande y muy ricos de tesoros y maravillas. Obviamente, 4 días no son suficientes para visitar la zona de Orléans a Angers. Un saludo, Sr Blanes y espero a la próxima vez... Isabelle & Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked here for three nights but ended by staying for two more as it was so comfortable and convenient for many of the chateaux near Chinon. The owner Laurent has worked hard in converting an old farmhouse and its outbuildings into an excellent bed-and-breakfast. The rooms are quaint and imaginatively presented (" Campagne" had flowery bed coverings, "Venice" was more Italianate..) which added to the charm of the house; they were clean and comfortable. There is a sitting room with a small kitchen for guest use, but Laurent was able to recommend many small local restaurants as he does not do any meals apart from breakfast. These though were excellent with home-made jam, great French bread and the best croissants we have ever eaten. He buys bread and croissants from two different establishments to ensure the best, which is a sign of his commitment. We'd love to stay here again: highly recommended.
Our one tiny observation is that he doesn't take credit cards so it's more convenient to pay him in cash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milaudiere, Propriétaire at La Milaudiere, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your time writing this fantastic review, very warmful. We shall have a real pleasure to see you again this summer with your family. See you soon. Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
2.8 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
491 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
908 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Au Prince Grenouille
Au Prince Grenouille
#2 of 4 in Ligre
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Clos de Ligre
Le Clos de Ligre
#4 of 4 in Ligre
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Closerie Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Milaudiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Milaudiere

Property: La Milaudiere
Address: 5 rue Saint Martin, 37500 Ligre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the chateaux of the Loire, we welcome you to our fortified farmhouse which dates back to the fifteenth century. Completely renovated in compliance with local heritage, Milaudiere you with its comfort, combining modernity and tradition. Its location within the village of Ligre actually a haven of peace and tranquility while being close to the medieval town of Chinon (10 minutes drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing