We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Closerie Saint Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Closerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sainte-Hermine, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a great stay with Marcel and Katharina at La Closerie. Such a relaxed environment and the hosts do an excellent job in ensuring all the guests integrate at dinner. The pre dinner drinks are truely special (can only be experienced in person) and are a great prequel to the dinner served. The rooms are large and well equipped and we would recommend a stay to anyone. Plenty to do in the surrounding area and highly recommend a visit to Chateau Rivau. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
144
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Just amazing! I have visited multiple 5 and 6 star hotels all over the world, but never experienced anything near the level of worldclass hospitality you get in this place. A basic, but very well kept room, VERY good wine for a reasonable price, the dinner was wonderfull and an extremely nice couple that manages this hotel. Most relaxing vacation ever! Thank you katy and marcel

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank don1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We (couple with teenage daughter and grandmother) stayed at this beautiful B&B in July 2013 for 3 nights. Katharina and Marcel were welcoming and gracious hosts. We enjoyed delicious meals, wine and conversation in this idyllic setting. We had 2 rooms that were spacious, clean and very comfortable. A great location for exploring the Loire valley and Chinon. I recommend La Closerie highly. SC

Room Tip: I think you would be happy in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2janeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for one night on our way back to Kent from the Dordogne. We would love to have stayed longer. The room was beautifully clean and the hosts could not have been more helpful. The breakfast round the kitchen table gave an opportunity to chat with other guests of various nationalities - all part of a wonderful stay. Would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbuchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Australian couple on wedding anniversary trip. Found La Closerie on the internet. What a find! Marcel and Katherina are the perfect hosts in a beautiful setting. Food superb; atmosphere relaxed and friendly; room spacious and comfortable. Even with 10 at an evening meal, Marcel and Katherina have a natural gift for making everyone feel at ease, regardless of character types or language. Not just a B&B but an opportunity to make new friends from around the world. Ideally situated to explore the region. A visit to the wine cellar is a must.There is also ample interesting reading about the house for those 'taking it easy' times We stayed 7 nights and will definitely return if we can get back to France. Thank you Marcel and Katherina and all the friends with whom we shared such a wonderful time.
D & K

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in October and are very happy with our choice.
Good location, nice clean rooms, tasty breakfast and very welcoming and helpful owners !
Definitely recommend this cosy B&B
Marina & Gene

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Where to begin? The breakfasts: bountiful and with many choices on the table each morning. The (optional) dinners: very well prepared and tasty, with a different menu each evening. The rooms: spacious, clean and airy. The bed: so comfortable I fell asleep immediately.
We 3 Americans were traveling with our Swiss friend; he was an exchange student in our home 33 years ago. He was a former colleague of Katharina Hirt in Zurich, which is how we found this B&B. Lucky us. Our friend has serious food limitations, and Marcel and Katharina were able to meet his needs while feeding us "omnivores" well. With a full house, there were 12 people at the breakfast table, consistently fun folks. We shared a lot of travel ideas, such as the best of the chateaux to visit if one only had limited time. La Closerie St. Martin was our home for 6 days and nights; we took day trips each day. We wish he had allowed more time there with such good hospitality, food and wine. Ah yes! Dinner begins in the wine cave below the courtyard, with wine and hors-d'oeuvres.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyO717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#6 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
23.3 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
0.8 mi away
Au Prince Grenouille
Au Prince Grenouille
#2 of 4 in Ligre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Saint Martin

Property: La Closerie Saint Martin
Address: 6 rue du Prieure | Les Roches Saint-Paul, 37500 Ligre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed&Breakfast near Chinon in the Loire Valley. Our house, the outbuidlings of a former Priory is situated in a classified hamlet in the middle of the Chinon vineyards. All the rooms have en-suite and are uniquely furnished. We also offer dinner upon prior reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Closerie Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing