We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Closerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having discovered this lovely place last year rather by chance (we needed an overnight stay on the way to Bretagne), we decided to spend this year's Easter holiday there, to explore the local chateaux. No regrets. The medieval hamlet "Les Roches St Paul" will immediately put you in the mood to explore the historical sites that surround it (Chinon, Ussé, to name only two). If you're more interested in buying local wine or cheese, Marcel (the owner) can provide the right addresses.
For culinary delights, look no further: Dinner starts out in the vaulted wine cellar with a local bubbly wine, then proceeds with inspiring home-cooked dishes, accompanied by local wines and ending in true French style with a selection of cheese and a fabulous dessert. Seated at a large table together with the other guests and the owners, you'll enjoy interesting dinner conversation.
We had a rather large room with a comfortable canopy bed and a tastefully renovated bathroom. A travel bed for our 16 month old son was provided at no extra cost.
We felt very welcome throughout our stay. The owners were always available for questions and the occasional chat.
Overall, a very good choice and certainly worth its money (85 EUR for the room, 30 EUR per person for dinner).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pleasant and helpful hosts,nice room, good breakfast, convenient location for exploring western region of Loire Valley. Good home dinner and interesting excursion to a wine cellar. The property consists of ancient renovated monastery (was closed in time of our stay) and more modern building. Nice sitting room with a fire. The living room decorated in ancient stile, a bit ascetic. 15 minutes from Chinon, easy access to 6-7 beautiful chateaus

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeituni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel H, Propriétaire at La Closerie Saint Martin, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about La Closerie Saint Martin. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

To avoid any misunderstandings, we would like to state that while our B&B is located in two outbuildings of the former priory of Les Roches Saint-Paul, the main priory building (in ruin) is not part of our property and has not been open to the public since 1768 when it was turned into a farm.

And while one of our two houses is indeed “more modern” than the other, it still dates back to the 17th century (while the other building is from the 14th century). Inside both houses, the rooms, bathrooms and our kitchen are of modern standard of course.

Thank you again for your visit and your comment.
Katharina and Marcel Hirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our two couples decided to spend the holidays traveling across France for 17 days. We arrived at La Closerie Saint Martin Christmas Evening for the beginning of a 3 night stay. We were met by Katharina, Marcel, and Fado with smiles and the smell of wonderful food. We were treated to a 7 course Christmas dinner after wine and hors d'oeuvres in the cave (which was a limestone mine in the 1200's.) Each morning Marcel had a scrumptious breakfast with coffee, tea, and juice ready for us. Marcel mapped out our tour of the Loire Valley and the "must see" chateaus to see. The dinner was so good the first night, we opted to have dinner again with Katharina and Marcel. Another couple and their daughter who had just arrived joined us. It was like a big family dinner. The next day we toured another chateau and the fortress in Chinon. On our third night we took Katharina and Marcel to dinner with us at a restaurant in Chinon that Marcel recommended. Great restaurant and a staff who couldn't do enough to insure we enjoyed the dinner and the evening.

I've traveled all over Europe, South America, Africa, Australia, Southeast Asia, and the USA. I've never stayed at a more wonderful place. La Closerie Saint Martin is one of those "Bucket List" places to stay. I know Katharina and Marcel will remain friends for a life time. These are really good people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenoCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last summer, we stayed for the third time in La Closerie and again it was a wonderful stay. Marcel & Katharine are just the perfect hosts. They are both very good cooks and the meals we had were delicious and always very different from the previous times. To be enjoyed in combination with the regional wines of course! They have this wonderful cave where the apero is served. The rooms are spacious and very clean, all in a different theme. But the central place/garden is the best. We love sitting there with a nice glass of wine, relaxing and enjoying the quietness of the place during the day. And of course there is Fado, everybody's little friend. Thanks Katharina & Marcel for making us feeling at home every time we come over.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My review is long overdue. We stayed at La Closerie Saint Martin in September for 5 nights. It was simply wonderful in every way and we loved every moment of our stay there. Marcel and Katharina are truly
exceptional hosts who are so helpful and kind. They work incredibly hard to ensure that their guests have everything they need during your stay with them. Each and every morning they would inquire if we needed
any information for the area to plan our day and their recommendations were perfect!

The bed and breakfast itself is beautiful and located within a small picturesque village just outside of Chinon. The pictures you see on their web site are exactly what you see in person. Our room was comfortable and clean and we felt quite at home right away. The inner courtyard was tranquil and we loved sitting and relaxing before dinner after a full day of touring.

One of the highlights was dinner. We had originally booked dinner for the first and last night of our stay and ended up having dinner there all but one night. It was such fun to dine with other guests and the food was amazing, all fresh ingredients some of which were from Marcel's own garden. It was very nice to be able to just walk down from our room and have dinner and wine and not worry about driving. We also enjoyed the visit to the cellar on some evenings prior to dinner to start our evening off with an aperitif and starters.

Another highlight was the wine tour we booked through the bed and breakfast. Marcel arranged the date and time and off we went with our wine guide Alain. We can't recommend this tour enough. Alain is very charming and friendly and definitely knows his wine. We enjoyed our time with him immensely and felt the wine we bought was outstanding in quality and bought quite a few bottles to bring back!

In closing, Marcel, Katharina and Fado made our stay so memorable and the Loire Valley has so much to see and do we would love to come back and stay at La Closerie Saint Martin again. Staying there was the perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiS809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were two couples traveling together and stayed in Le Prieur and Les Annees 30 rooms. Both were nicely appointed and comfortable. Everything was sparkling clean. So glad we booked dinner there on our first night. We enjoyed it so much we ate there again the next night. Drinks in the wine cave before dinner was a real treat. The food was excellent. Breakfast was also delicious. Marcel and Katharina are charming hosts. They helped us plot out a great day of sightseeing. They really know the area. We all wished we could stay longer than our two nights, and we all hope to return. I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Le Prieur and Les Annees 30 were both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Marcel and Katharina are the perfect hosts and they do an incredible amount of work to ensure the comfort of their guests. We stayed for seven nights in two different rooms. Both rooms were spacious, comfortable, well-appointed, and immaculate. The dinners soon became the highlight of each day and were shared with the other guests and Marcel and Katharina when they weren't busy in the kitchen. The food was always fresh, delicious and well-prepared. Dinner conversations were interesting and the whole experience was a real pleasure. We only wish we lived closer so we could stay more often.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank robtCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Closerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Saint Martin

Address: 6 rue du Prieure | Les Roches Saint-Paul, 37500 Ligre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed&Breakfast near Chinon in the Loire Valley. Our house, the outbuidlings of a former Priory is situated in a classified hamlet in the middle of the Chinon vineyards. All the rooms have en-suite and are uniquely furnished. We also offer dinner upon prior reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Closerie Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing