We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Closerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fishguard, Wales
1 review
“Absolutely splendid”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have such happy memories of my stay with Marcel and Katharina. They have a marvellous place where their guests can relax and enjoy themselves, and they have the great gift of making people feel special and very, very welcome.

La Closerie was perfectly located for my meanderings to see chateaux and the lovely countryside, and it was marvellous to come back each day and enjoy such delicious meals each evening.

The final example of the care they take to make guests feel so welcome came on the morning of my departure, when I had to leave at 4 o'clock in the morning for an early ferry departure in St Malo. Tip toeing down the stairs I found a paper bag by the door with the following note attached - 'Breakfast for on the way. Love K'.

Half way on my journey I stopped at an aire to partake of my La Closerie petit dejeuner, and thought once again how fortunate I had been to find such wonderful holiday accommodation.

Hatti
Fishguard
Pembrokeshire
Wales

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
152
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's, gites, auberges and Zimmer in the British Isles, Europe and North America during our vacations and La Closerie Saint Martin is tops in every way. Katharina and Marcel made us feel so very welcome from the outset and were there any time we needed advise with regard to what to see, the best way to get there along with very helpful local maps and which days to choose to go the certain destinations. When we enquired regarding a suitable dining place to celebrate a special birthday Katharina recommended and then, at our request, called to make reservations for us. Both Marcel and Katharina were always helpful during the week of our stay without being intrusive and showed a genuine interest in what we had done and seen after we would come back from a day of adventures.
We do like to socialize with other guests and the atmosphere that our hosts created at breakfast time and especially for the evening table d'hote was ideal for the enjoyment of getting to know strangers and the forging of new friendships. The setup in the courtyard and the inside dining area certainly helps in this respect because they are so inviting.
The decor in the rooms may be described as welcoming yet uncluttered - and always super clean - ours looked out onto the central courtyard and, with the fine sunny weather which we had, we were able to leave the large windows open all night through and enjoy the peacful silence of staying in a quiet hamlet with just the bird songs to awaken us in the morning.
Beyond La Closerie and Les Roches Saint Paul there are so many wonderful chateaux, abbeys, churches, gardens and pretty town and villages with their market days to visit that, although we do not genrally return to the same locations, we shall visit the Loire again and La Closerie.
Thank you Katharina and Marcel - it was a wonderful and memorable week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denderleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We read all very positive comments and had high hopes but were nevertheless a litlle bit disappointed. The welcome was very cool and distant. We entered, were shown the room and within 2 minutes the owner was gone without any further info. We did not feel really welcome. Afterwards we went to the nice terrace and were than offered welcome drink. Location and food were ok. It is difficult to park in front of b&b, bit further there is parking. Strange is that you do not get a key to close the room. Also beware of the dog... He almost attacked without reason. Rooms are super super clean

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at La Closerie Saint Martin, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are sorry to hear, that you have not been entirely happy with your stay and the welcome you received at La Closerie. In our experience many guests are tired from their journey when they arrive, so we prefer to let them settle into their room at their own pace and not overwhelm them with information right upon arriving. Therefore we wait until the welcome drink to have a chat and see whether they need any advice or help. We are also present during dinner and breakfast and are usually around at any time to assist with anything our guests might need.

We are happy to announce that we have just been able to purchase a second property close-by and can now provide further private parking just a few steps from our house. This will hopefully prevent any inconvenience for our guests and their cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband does not like bed and breakfasts but he loved La Closerie. Marcel and Katharina take a genuine interest in their guests and really take pride in what they do. We enjoyed a tour of their impressive cave where we were offered sparkling wine and Marcel's home made apperitif before dinner. It was nice to have some home cooking after traveling for several weeks. The hosts prepare the dinner and also joined us for dinner. Marcel or Katharina were always present during dinner engaging in conversation and it was a great way to meet fellow travelers. Also the rooms are spotless and bed very comfortable. There is a beautiful courtyard for relaxing. We would not hesitate to recommend La Closerie and would return! Thank you Marcel and Katharina!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holger73
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had planned our trip to the castles of the Loire river and their gardens for a long time. I had always dreamed of going and I wanted it to be perfect in every way – including the place we would stay at for 7 nights. So I did some extensive research online for a couple of weeks and finally decided on “La Closerie”.
And let me say this, we were far from being disappointed!

I had been looking for a typical place for the area, one that was classy but not aloof, with all modern comforts yet oozing with traditional flair. La Closerie is just that.

But not only the place itself was simply marvelous – the people running it, Marcel and Katharina, as Swiss couple, were just wonderful, too: open, friendly, welcoming, unobtrusive and accommodating in every way. And Fado, the house dog, is a character in himself.

When we arrived, we came just in time for an aperitif which they serve in the beautiful cave underneath the medieval La Closerie, that now serves as the wine cellar. This, we soon learned, was the procedure every night before dinner. Although dinner is optional we pretty much attended every night. It was just so yummy: Katharina and Marcel make an art out of cooking without becoming too fancy. The dishes are all French cuisine and French style: a starter, a main, cheeses, and desert. Served with excellent wines and lots of fresh baguette. One night we tried a local restaurant in Chinon but woefully returned the next evening…

Breakfast was equally as good: croissants, fresh bread, cakes, muesli, jam, cheese, yoghurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, orange juice – you name it. If you want to taste France, at La Closerie you have it.

The rooms were beautiful: we had the booked the biggest one, but all others were nearly as big and equally as cozy. Old wooden floors, big windows, the most comfy bed (!) and en-suite bathrooms; ours even had a big bath tub. At night it is so quiet that we city-dwellers had to get used to the lack of noise. We loved it. We were quite surprised to see that all rooms were made up every day, something we would not have expected from a bed and breakfast place. But as the rest, service and cleanliness were impeccable. We especially liked the little coffeemakers in the rooms. Though not French but British custom, we still appreciated that. And had afternoon tea and early morning coffee every day in our room.

Wi-fi is free and available in the rooms, which was great since I had a couple of conferences to attend on skype. The inner courtyard of the U-shaped mansion is the perfect place for a chilling afternoon or evening. During the day, you just have to go and visit all those famous and breathtaking castles that are all in a 1 hour radius around La Closerie: Vilandry, Chenonceau, Amboise, Blois, Chambord, and about 400 others. In case you get bored with castles, Marcel is an excellent guide. He pointed out a church in Ligré that is in no book but was just amazing. Or the most charming old village at the confluence of the Loire and the Vienne. Or the town of Richelieu, which is still unchanged since its founding years. Or local markets. Or caves. Or… The list is endless.

To make a long story short: don’t spend the weeks searching I did. Just pick La Closerie.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holgerschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a most wonderful stay with Marcel & Katharina and fado. We stayed with our three boys and were made most welcome for the entire duration of our three night stay. It is the perfect place to stay & we can only but sing it's praises. We really, really hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

La Closerie Saint Martin has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed at. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us very helpful advice on which restaurants to eat at and the best places to visit in the region. The meal we had with the other guests where we sampled local wines and cheeses was very enjoyable. Our room was immaculate and had everything we needed. The location of this B&B was perfect for us, close to so many things to see and do while far enough out of town to be quiet and relaxing. Two nights was not enough, we will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielsv650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
2.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Clos de la Garde
Le Clos de la Garde
#1 of 1 in Anche
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Domaine du Heron
Domaine du Heron
#1 of 1 in Riviere
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Au Prince Grenouille
Au Prince Grenouille
#2 of 4 in Ligre
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Saint Martin

Property: La Closerie Saint Martin
Address: 6 rue du Prieure | Les Roches Saint-Paul, 37500 Ligre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed&Breakfast near Chinon in the Loire Valley. Our house, the outbuidlings of a former Priory is situated in a classified hamlet in the middle of the Chinon vineyards. All the rooms have en-suite and are uniquely furnished. We also offer dinner upon prior reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Closerie Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing