We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Seefelderhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seefelderhof
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This is the second year in a row I have stayed at this hotel and it was just as good this year as it was last year.

The bedroom was of a reasonable size, the bathroom was very small but as we just wanted the room as a base room it didn't really matter too much. The water to the shower was hot every night which was the most important thing. We had fresh towels whenever we wanted them and the room was clean.

The food was excellent as it had been the year before. There were a couple of options which I wasn't keen on but on the whole the choice was good and the food itself very tasty. The breakfast was also good with plenty of choice. I'm very much missing the wonderful crusty rolls with scrambled egg and yoghurt with honey and muesli.

The service was very good and despite not speaking the language we managed to get by very well. It was nice that if you met a staff member in the town they said hello.

The pool was quite cold but after a long walk in the baking sun it was very welcome. We didn't use the other facilities in that area as baring all to the world is something we weren't prepared to do.

A very pleasant 2 weeks and we would certainly be happy to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staffitaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

We have just returned from a week skiing in Seefeld and have stayed at the Seefelderhof Hotel. The hotel is family run and typical Tyrolian. The rooms were basic but clean - sheets and towels changed every day. The staff were very friendly, the buffet breakfast was typical - cerial, fruit juice, cheese, ham, bacon, eggs etc. The evening meal was six courses, with waiter service for some of the courses. The food was lovely and nicely presented, if we wanted to be extremely critical there was some times when they were a little slow replenishing some things but that was only a few times.

There was entertainment ( bingo night, lantern walk, candlelit dinner with singing) some nights in the hotel but it was fairly quiet. Even though it was quiet we had a lovely time - only ventured out of the hotel two nights out of seven. We went with another family and had with us two boys aged seventeen and eighteen and a thirteen year old girl. The hotel is about a five to ten minute walk from the village but there is a shuttle bus that takes you into the village if you don't fancy walking.

We went into Insbrook for the day on the Train - worth a visit if you want to take the time away from skiing. We were all at different levels of ability on the slopes but found that there was something there for everyone. When we asked people who had been to the ski schools they gave very excellent feedback.

We spoke to a couple who had stayed in the hotel Veronica and they said that had been excellent too.

The resort itself is quite expensive in some bars but it is very pretty. We had snow every day whilst we were there. We will certainly visit Seefeld again and would definitely go back to the Seefelderhof Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTTYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Loved Seefeld village, Hotel no more than a basic 2 star.
Friends stayed in much better value hotels, food very basic. Room very average .
For us the worst part was the cigarette smoke, all our clothes stunk of smoke even the ones left in the wardrobe.
We ate out a few times and were told that we would not have to pay all inc price for these 2 nights. We are still waiting for a refund even after sending over 10 e mails with no reply!!! They are not intrested in replying now we have left .
We had 2 rooms (2 adults 3 children 12/9/6yrs), very expensive for what we had, other hotels had family rooms for 5. We dont mind paying for good qualiy accomodation, this was very overpriced.
I would not recomend this hotel as staff were not friendly, and for the reasons above I agree with other guests that the afternnon tea is not suiltable for anyone skiing !!! . Great ski resort though, highly recomend the Sport Activ at the Gschwandtkopf.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tam6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Seefeld itself is fantastic - beautiful setting, surrounded by mountains, lots to do, close to Innsbruck airport. However, if you have kids in ski school and adults wish to ski on the main slopes it is a logistical nightmare as they are in different locations connected by buses. The buses run very efficiently but you do spend a lot of time running to and fro.

The Seefelderhof was sold to us as 4star but is no more than 3 star. Compared to other family-run ski hotels we have stayed in in Austria it was very disappointing (food, rooms, facilities and service - wise). Suggestions for improvements (eg after-ski tea served at a time that makes it possible for those in ski school to be there!) were met with grumpy bemusement.

Also, (esp if you have young kids carrying ski gear) you are "one bus stop out of town" but this is the first stop on a one-way circuit which means you have to do all the other stops on the circuit to get into town.

We visited and spoke to friends in several other hotels and we suspect you could do better elsewhere. That all said if you booked it expecting 2star you'd probably be pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HLCARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

A clean and comfortable hotel with a varied evening food menu with Austrian speciality nights.
Non-smoking bedroom was small but maintained to a high standard.
One improvement would be to make this a complete non-smoking hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikehogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Seefelderhof. We thought the hotel was excellent; our room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom, although small, had a shower over the bath, hairdryer, magnifying mirror and - most importantly - plenty of hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially when I had to keep my ice compress in the freezer behind the bar). The food was of excellent standard; often six courses - soup, appetizer, salad buffet, main course (generally a choice of three main courses but you had to make your choice at breakfast), dessert and cheese buffet.

The village bus (free, every 30 mins, one-hour round trip) stops directly outside the hotel as does the free ski-bus to Rosshutte (every 20 mins). It's about a 10 mins walk to the centre of the village and the train station.

It was snowing when we arrived on 10 March but on 11 March we awoke to clear blue skies and we didn't see another cloud for the rest of the week. This meant that skiing conditions - especially for beginners like us - were far from ideal. The nursery slopes in the village (Geigenbuhel) could only be used at the beginning of the week (although I fell off the drag lift at the end of the 2nd day and twisted my knee ligaments so my skiing finished then!). There was plenty of snow on the Rosshutte and Gschwandkopf ski areas because they used the snow cannon overnight but I don't think the conditions were good for skiing.

Because of my injury I had cause to visit Dr Genelen in Seefeld. All doctors in Seefeld are private so I had to pay for my consultation but he spoke excellent English, I did not have to wait to be seen and he was able to give me a couple of x-rays on the spot. In total it came to 160euros (that included an ice compress).

My fall has not put me off of skiing and we would definitely recommend Seefeld and Hotel Seefelderhof.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Lol-Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Just returned from a week's ski-ing staying at the Seefelderhof hotel. It is a small hotel a couple of minutes walk to the (albeit small) centre of Seefeld. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and their English is excellent. The food at the hotel is excellent and with extensive choice for breakfast, the only fault being that the only choice was for the main course at dinner though there are five courses in all and it really is cooked beautifully!

The rooms were a good size but the bathrooms were rather small. The only downside to this hotel is that the spa doesn't open until 3.00 pm which is great when returning from the slopes but not if you're not ski-ing and sitting round!

All in all it is a great hotel and I would certainly return to it again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank pna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seelos
Seelos
#23 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#5 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vergeiner
Hotel Vergeiner
#40 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
#24 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hochland Hotel Residenz
Hochland Hotel Residenz
#20 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seefelderhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seefelderhof

Address: Muenchner Strasse 146, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range: $117 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seefelderhof 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seefelderhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seefelderhof Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing