We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked a 2 week package holiday with Thomson staying at the Schonegg on half board for 2 weeks in June 2012. Our main concern before we went was the customer rating in the brochure for food was only 76%, much lower than the other hotels advertised. We needn't have been concerned. The food was varied, plentiful and beautifully presented. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom appeared to be newly refurbished. The reception area was pleasant and had lots of information about things to see and do. It's a 5 minute walk to the centre of town where you can catch a train or bus and visit the stunning scenery of the Tirol and nearby Bavaria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidnsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    41
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
100
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Schonegg in February 2011. We found it to be a clean, cosy hotel with a homely atmosphere - a comfortable retreat after a day's skiing. Our room was not huge, but perfectly satisfactory and we found it handy having a balcony to air any wet outer clothes (there's a dedicated ski room for skis and boots). The hotel staff worked extremely hard and we found everyone to be both approachable and accommodating. Food was typically Austrian and there was plenty of it: lots of choice at breakfast, tea/coffee and cake in the afternoon and 4 or 5 courses for dinner. There is a convenient lounge area which provides space to relax in the company of other guests - much better than having to spend all your time in your room. The hotel is away from the centre of town and less than 10 minutes walk from Ski School or buses. It's near the train line, but this was no problem noise-wise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Schonegg and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have just returned from spending Christmas week at this hotel in the lovely resort of Seefeld. In contrast to a previous reviewer (Bill0416) we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Service at meal times was excellent. It is true that a bottle of water with dinner costs 4.40 Euros and this can seem a lot when you consider that the brochure price over Christmas is well over £800 per person. However charges for water are the norm in most hotels in Austria and indeed elsewhwere. The food was great and the atmosphere in the hotel was warm and cosy. Fresh fruit and biscuits were freely available at all times and there was a very tempting free cake buffet every afternoon. Our room was relatively small but very comfortable and very well serviced. The location is very central being close to shops, cafes, bars and the station. Overall this was a great holiday and we rate the Schonegg very highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I were part of a group that stayed at this hotel for two weeks. I am writing this review to hopefully balance the reviews we read before or trip. The Schonegg was located in a beautiful spot and just a short walk to the village. The village had ample shops, places to eat, and more. The hotel itself is very clean, very well kept, and the rooms are while not plush are certainly acceptable by any standard. The reviews we read and others in the group read stated the staff was very friendly. To everyone on the trip this was just not the case. The staff is efficient, stiff, and if you get a tiny smile consider yourself lucky. Warm and friendly is just not the case. Dinner is satisfactory most days but on two occassions it was a diaster. One example was the fish that was served to the guests. It was not done and virtually every order was sent back. A small apology was given but guests were not given any food to replace the nearly raw fish. The same breakfast was served everyday with Sunday being the only exception. In short the Schonegg was in a nice location, the food was fair, but really the staff is not the least bit friendly. If I were going back I would look at the many other hotels in Seefeld first but the Schonegg is satisfactory if the other options are not what you want price wise, food wise, and service. One suggestion or two... charge a little more and serve water, and make the guest feel welcome and not like you are putting up with a not so popular relative. Monika works very hard in the dinning room and we appeciated all she did to make our dinner as good as it was.

Room Tip: The location is great because it is an easy walk to the village. The staff could do much more to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We spent Christmas and New Year 2010 at Hotel Schonegg and had a fabulous time. The family owners and staff made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful at all times. Christmas Eve was wonderfully festive and made all the more special from the warmth added to the celebrations by the family. The gala dinner was a real treat and full of surprises!

The hotel itself is situated very close to the centre of Seefeld and a 5 minute walk from the train station, which is 40 minutes by train from Innsbruck. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a shared balcony which was lovely if the sun came out. The afternoon cake buffet and sauna / relaxation area were a delight after a day on the slopes. The lounge area had lots of comfy sofas for relaxing with a drink or a book.

Meals at the hotel were delicious. There was a good choice at breakfast with plenty of hams, cheese, fresh breads, cereals and fresh fruit on offer. The scrambled eggs were particularly memorable. The evening meal offered a choice of 3 main courses, together with a very good salad buffet. The hotel was more than happy to accommodate any fussy eaters.

Seefeld itself is a traditional Tyrolean town with a very pretty town square which at the time was hosting a Christmas market. There is lots to do within the town. For skiers, there are two main skiing areas which you can get to via the free town shuttle bus and a smaller nursery slope in the centre of town. There is also a vast cross country skiing network and an ice rink. As guests of the hotel you also get free access to the Olympia swimming complex which has saunas, slides and indoor /outdoor pools.

Thanks to Family Schwenniger from the Field family for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week's skiing in Seefeld, staying at the Schoenegg. We loved the hotel - the staff were fantastic. They really could not have done more and were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the smallest room category and, although it was fairly basic, it had everything we needed, was beautifully clean and cosy with a nice sunny outlook from the balcony. (Although the hotel is close to the train line, this was not a problem at all in terms of noise. Also whilst the hotel was virtually full the week we were there, there was not much noise evident from room to room.) The food was great - excellent breakfast buffet, very tasty afternoon cakes(!), and enjoyable dinners every night. Great value for money all round. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and would stay here again if we come back to Seefeld.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_Williamsons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Shonegg for a week on a ski-ing trip. It's a lovely hotel with exceptional staff and wonderful food. I put on so much weight! The breakfasts were great - a large buffet of hot and cold food. There are wonderful cakes served in the afternoon and amazinf five course dinners. The room was perhaps a little basic, but it was spotlessly clean and adequate for our needs. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and the ski bus stops. Seefeld is really more a cross-country resort than a downhill one - it would be good for beginners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#4 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Seefeld
Parkhotel Seefeld
#6 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Speckbacherstrasse 174, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soon we are there - 3 walking minutes from the pedestrian zone at a quiet and relaxing place. A friendly and hospitality service - which is obvious throughout!And an ideal starting point for a car-free holiday - for winter and summer hikers and walkers, cross country skiers, skiers, mountain bikers, nordic walkers and golfers. Everything is easy to reach on foot. WLan is available in the hotel lounge and in most of the hotel rooms.Free of charge: Halfpension, Admission to the Olympia pool, Hotel sauna and infrared cabin, daily afternoon cake (in winter daily, in summer weekly).Parking area.In summer further included: Minigolf, special guided walking tours, relaxing garden area with children playground, bikes, Reduction at the Golfakademie and Wildmoos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing