We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferienhotel Kaltschmid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in just this past week. I was impressed with pretty much everything. The location was great for the centre of Seefeld for all the shops, bars, and train station. The food was fantastic and very well cooked and service in the restaurant was great too. The rooms where nice and clean. Only downfall was there was no balcony in our room and there was a small en suite bathroom; but that didn't worry us. The overall cleanliness of the rooms and hotel was smart and I couldn't find any faults. Big hotel with a lovely Swimming suite on the 4th floor and a roof top spa. Would definitely go again and I would recommend it to anybody else. Also I must say Seefeld was a lovely little town with lots to do and see and within easy reach of other trips out either by foot or public transport.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    90
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
142
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is located in the centre of the lovely town of Seefeld, amongst the bars, shops, restaurants and very close to the ski slopes. Although central, it is still very quiet in the rooms.

The rooms are quite spacious, nice and have a television and safe. The facilities include a panoramic view swimming pool, outdoor hot tub and adult area spa. The spa has 2 saunas, 2 steam rooms and a chill out area. All good quality. There is also a kids playroom with games and pool tables.

I went as a couple and stayed on a half board basis for 1 week in February. The food was always very nice and plentiful. It included free wine, beer, water and soft drinks.

The hotel has plenty if people, creating a nice atmosphere. It is quite laid back and not too formal or stuffy.

I would recommend Seefeld for beginner/intermediate skiers due to the perfect gentle slopes and no crowds. Also, a great resort for cross country skiing and walking, due to the beautiful scenery. Seefeld is only a short distance from Innsbruck, making transfers about 25 mins.

I would recommend the hotel for couples and families, due to the lovely food, relaxed atmosphere, nice selection of facilities and friendly staff that dress in traditional Austrian dress.

I very much enjoyed my stay and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CoolRiderUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here last year for our ski trip to Seefeld. The hotel had a great atmosphere to it and was kept very warm. Perfect location and easy access to the ski resort and to the town centre. The hotel itself was very welcoming and the restaurant always had a variety of foods on offer at breakfast and dinner. The bar stayed open till late if you wanted to stay up. The spa facilities were top notch and were great for relaxing after a day of skiing. Would definitely return. Great trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank APOOLE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This Hotel was amazing. The rooms were big and had lots of space, the pool and panorama pool were brilliant with beautiful views. The food was always served hot and very quickly. There was hardly any noise in the rooms at night and I found it very easy to sleep. I would recommend staying here to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but I would recommend a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is about our sixth time staying in this hotel and we thought that we would treat ourselves to Christmas here as it is very comfortable with just about everything that a family could want. We stayed in an apartment in Haus Seefeld with two rooms, kitchen toilet and bathroom (please see my previous reviews for pics of this) and took half board as the food here is very good.
The staff were kind and helpful as ever. The hotel was fairly busy but our waitress at breakfast and dinner, Ensi, deserves a really special mention as she took great care of us and was very kind to the children. She was most professional in her care of all her diners and I was very impressed.
The food was of a very high standard and far better than anything I get served to me in the UK even when I pay a lot.
The Kindergarten was fabulous with activities for the children and crafts. The Café am Kurpark was entertaining as ever with its heady mix of great drinks, ice creams, cakes and of course meals for those not eating as guests inside the hotel. Alex the piano and cello player was in great form. Of course I must mention the pool area with rooftop Jacuzzis and steam rooms sauna etc. Super !
If I ever win the lottery I am moving in here ! It is so friendly and it is always sad to leave everyone when we go. They are so kind to us as a family !

Room Tip: The apartments in Haus Seefeld are ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish lass
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas week and had a wonderful experience. We last stayed in this hotel many years ago,in summer,and the standards have not changed,still the same high quality. Our room was lovely and quiet,overlooking the bandstand and ski slopes. The reception staff and all staff were friendly,helpful and always smiling with the usual Gross Gott greeting whenever we met.
The hotel was warm and very comfortable. Now,the evening meal food...plentiful,varied,superb quality and Michelin star restaurants could not beat the presentation and taste. We complimented the chefs at every turn,but really mere words could not express our delight. My husband is quite fussy and tends to avoid certain foods....not here. He ate everything presented him and extolled the great taste and flavours of the food. Our waitress,Mirka did not have any English,but she understood everything we said,as we did her. Our German is not good,but we managed to make ourselves understood everywhere we went.
Our chambermaid was lovely,so happy and friendly and whenever she saw us leaving our room just after 0800 to go for breakfast,she had the room made up for our return...sometimes with a towel animal,most unusual for a room other than a cruise ship, but it brought a smile to our already happy faces !
The only downside,and we did mention it to Herr Kaltschmid,was the smoking in Tenne,the nightclub and it also spread over to Am Karpak restaurant. He did say that will change for this year which can only be better for guests and staff alike. There is an glass enclosed area for smokers off the reception area.
We had a wonderful holiday,the first time we have ever gone away for Christmas and as a result,hope to go away again this year,all being well.
Seefeld is a lovely place and suitable for all types of winter sports person,and none. Trains can easily be taken to Innsbruck and beyond,or
Germany and they run on time,are clean and very comfortable...as you would expect for German efficiency.
The atmosphere in the pedestrian area was very festive with the Advent and subsequent Christmas markets adding to the feeling. Most stalls during the week opened at 1400,but earlier at the weekend.
The place was busy,but we never felt overwhelmed by people and everybody was so pleasant. There are plenty of little cafés and restaurants for simply coffee, drink, or anything to a full meal.
The shops sell good quality items,many designer items,so the prices are reflected by the name !
To conclude,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning. Well done all staff and trust they have a very good 2014 !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishlassAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Situated just off the main square of the beautiful resort of Seefeld, this is comfortable, relaxed and well run family hotel. A warm welcome from the Reception Staff will start your relaxing and comfortable stay.

The Pool and Spa are situated on the fourth floor looking out on the stunning views to the mountains, sitting in the outside hot tub is even more breathtaking as well as relaxing. €10 to hire a bath robe for length of stay is well worth for walking to and from room to spa.

Bars, Restaurants and Cafes are excellent with good food, service and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49Tgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#8 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Seefeld
Parkhotel Seefeld
#6 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
#3 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterbrau
Hotel Klosterbrau
#7 of 60 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Kaltschmid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Kaltschmid

Property: Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Address: Olympiastrasse 101, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#19 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienhotel Kaltschmid 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ferienhotel Kaltschmid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld In Tirol
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Seefeld
Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing