We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with a truly personal touch”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a truly personal touch”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Central from 23rd to 30th Jan 2013. Our 3rd visit, we had stayed previously in September 2008 and June 2009, and we'll be back. This is a privately owned hotel and the owners, Hans and Angelika, are very "hands-on", friendly and helpful. All of the staff are likewise, which really adds to the enjoyment of our stays.
Bedroom light and spacious, with large comfy sofa. Many would, justifiably, call this a junior suite. Large well-lit bathroom, with good powerful shower over the bath. Food has always been good, but new chef, who we understand has been there about 3 years, has definitely improved the quality and sophistication. Meat, fish and veggie choices at dinner each day. Call order service for freshly cooked eggs and omelettes at breakfast in addition to standard Austrian fare.
Half-board package is good value.The hotel's central location in the town is also a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judi_lomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    63
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
105
231
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Traveling through Europe for 4 weeks in winter, we chose to spend Christmas in Seefeld because it offered an authentic white Christmas and more than just skiing. We selected Hotel Central for our half-board accommodation based on Trip Advisor reviews, and our expectations were exceeded.

The family hotel provides a warm, friendly welcome, and guests are soon known by each wonderful staff member, so that you quickly feel part of the family.

Our one bedroom apartment was cosy, tastefully furnished in blonde wood. It had all that we needed.

Meals in the hotel were all absolutely superb and our 8 year old twins were provided with plenty of kids choices too. The chef really does an outstanding job on the 4 courses offered for dinner, the meals were some of the best in our 4 weeks traveling through Europe.

Christmas was made extra special with the fantastic Gala Dinner on Christmas Eve. Wonderful food in a very festive atmosphere.

Seefeld was also brilliant, our kids loved their three days of ski school, the Olympia Bad swimming pool was great - especially with the indoor pool linked to a very heated outdoor pool allowing us to 'swim in the now'. The Christmas markets were magical and we also loved going between the mountains in the cable car.

One of our daughters begged to be left behind at hotel central - stating she would dance to earn money to live on! One day we would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nipadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Central, Seefeld in Tirol for 7 nights in late September, 2012, and it was . . . wonderful! We’d been to Seefeld about 15 months before this visit and loved it – it’s a very cosmopolitan town, and has about every creature comfort one could hope for. Last time we stayed somewhat out of the town centre, but this time we wanted to be a little more in the middle of things so we chose the Hotel Central.

The hotel’s name really does reflect its location – about 100 yards from the Dorfplatz, the large square in front of the cathedral, which is the centre of the town. If you arrive by train, you’ll find a 250 yard (downhill) walk from the station to the front door of the hotel. If you arrive by car, the hotel offers free parking in their parking lot over the road from the front door.

When you walk in the front door, you can immediately see that the hotel is a cut above the usual skiing/hiking/hang-gliding accommodation. The standard of the furniture in the public areas, the open airiness of the place, fabric tablecloths and flowers on the tables in the restaurant, and the quirky bits of art and sculpture around the place are all dead give-aways. The greeting at the front desk was warm and friendly, and in just a few minutes we were in the lift and on the way up to our room.

We had booked an apartment-style room on the top floor. It was very spacious, with a tiny but functional kitchen, a very large bed and a fold-out sofa, two bathrooms and enough floor space to hold a significantly large party. The view to the mountains over the close-by Hotel Eden was gorgeous, and sitting in the window and watching the foot traffic go by on Munchner Strasse below was endlessly fascinating. It was very comfortably furnished, and the bed was ultra-comfortable.

Alas, after one night, your reviewer’s better half, who is not accustomed to such spacious holiday accommodation, decided that we should have a more conventional room. In some embarrassment, we approached the front desk the next morning and put this request to them. They immediately responded, giving us the only room that remained empty for the following 6 nights. In fact, Angelika, the lady of the house, seemed to be hugely embarrassed that we didn't like the room. We soon sorted out this situation by citing Ms Crooksmeister’s attack of agoraphobia in the large room as the reason for our wanting to move, not the standard of the room, and the matter was settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Our new room looked out over Andreas Hofer Strasse, which is the main East-West road through Seefeld. During the day it’s quite noisy, but the volume of traffic dies down quite early in the evening and we had no noise problem with leaving our window and balcony door open during the night. Besides, the view over the Kurpark opposite, where there are concerts from time-to-time, was soothing in the extreme.

The room was nicely fitted out, the sofa was a good place to sit and read, and the bed was as comfortable as the one in the larger room. There was a flat-screen TV with a reasonable assortment of English-language channels and a safe. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very functional. The hotel provides free wi-fi connection and even has a laptop that they lend out if you didn't bring your own. The town is also one big wi-fi hotspot – handy if you care to take your device down to one of the local cafes for a quiet coffee and a look at the e-mail.

The Central is right in the middle of things. It’s a short walk to both of the Spar supermarkets in the town, there’s a cash machine 50 yards away, straight across the road, and English newspapers are available in a kiosk at the station and at the smaller Spar on Dorf Platz. Then there’s the very reliable Tip Top laundry 200 yards up the road on the Eastern side of the railway line. Since our last visit, Tip Top has opened a self-service laundrette, which makes it doubly useful. The main thing about Tip Top for the traveller is that if they say it will be ready tomorrow at 4, then it will be ready – guaranteed.

We were on a half-board hiking package at Central, which included the usual breakfast and dinner, but also featured a packed lunch to take on our hiking adventures during the day. This was very handy as it meant not having to queue waiting to buy sandwiches at the supermarket in the morning before we could start our walk.

Our 2012 holiday in Europe was the first time that we’d opted for half-board everywhere. We were a bit worried about this because of the possibility of sub-standard food and limited menus. Uniformly we found that these fears were not warranted. In the case of Hotel Central this was especially so. Breakfast was excellent every day, with a chef on hand to cook an omelette or eggs any way you like them. There was an abundance of meats and breads, and plenty of healthy stuff, like fresh fruits and yoghurt (your reviewer doesn’t do much in the healthy line, but Ms Crooksmeister does and she loved the breakfast). They even do drinkable coffee – a real revelation compared with many European hotels.

But, for us, dinner was the standout. Every evening there was a very good salad bar, a clear or a creamy soup and a choice of three main courses – one vegetarian, one meat and one fish. And, of course, dessert. The presentation of the main courses was as good as you’ll get in the best of restaurants, and the taste and freshness of the food were beyond excellent, if that’s possible. The man who runs the kitchen, who we didn’t meet, is a genius who has been working in the valley for over 30 years. It’s easy to see why the local establishments keep hiring him. And to top it off, there’s a good list of local and international wines at reasonable prices. After trying a number of them, we settled on the local Veltliner white, which was very drinkable and very well priced.

And then there’s Seefeld. What a magnificent place. Its handy to Munich in the North (2 hours on the train, a little less if driving) and Innsbruck in the South (40 minutes by train or 30 minutes driving). The walking or hiking opportunities abound through some of the most picturesque scenery you’ll see anywhere, and at a range of difficulty levels that will challenge the best of walkers, but will leave the less energetic tired but physically intact. Bus routes to outlying areas mean that there are lots of opportunities to take a bus out and walk back, or vice versa.

Bottom line – Seefeld is hard to beat as a mountain destination, and you won’t do better in Seefeld than the Hotel Central.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crooksmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazareth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived to this hotel late at night after a long day of sightseeing in austria and germany.
Although we haven't booked earlier the lady in the reception (Eyvone) was extremely nice and handeled our check-in quickly and with a smile:)
The room was a suite but in a room price. Extremely clean, spacious with a sallon and a bedroom seperated.
there was also big closets and a balcony and a kitchen!
The bathroom very clean.
breakfast was served in the dining area with variety of food.
free wifi and parking free.
i highly reccomend this hotel which is as its name centrally located in lovle seefeld.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazmouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights as a base for touring Southern Germany, Austria & Northern Italy, and we chose this hotel because of the good Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
We arrived late in the middle of a thunderstorm and were greeted very warmly by Angelika who booked us in very quickly and organised an evening meal in the restaurant.
I rate this hotel so highly because of it's excellent staff. The high quality of the food is a credit to the chef & kitchen staff. The front of house and serving staff are extremely pleasant, very friendly and very knowledgable. The housekeeping staff, in particular Bozanna, are excellent and our room was spotless every day after her brief visit.
We had asked for a quiet room and we got room 310. I think this is one of the smaller rooms but it was ideal for us. We had a large west facing balcony which allowed us to sit in sun until late in the afternoon. The only minor issue was the roof Velux window did not have a black out blind and therefore the sunlight woke us very early on our first morning. However, after a quick word with reception they arranged a very quick fix and all was well.
The hotel is located in the heart of Seefeld and you can walk to all attractions and is a 5 minute walk to coaches and the train station for trips further afield.
The owners proudly display their Tripadvisor certificate at reception and clearly work, with all their staff, very hard to maintain the high standards they have achieved, as they are regularly around reception, the dining room and lounge to interact with guests.
I would certainly go back to Hotel Central in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of the Tirol. Staff are great, food is very good (stayed a week and only one so/so meal--the rest were excellent especially the breakfast buffet). We stayed there as part of a motorcycle touring group so ate at the hotel every night for a week :).

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the mountains which was very nice... some rooms do face the ally so you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our third stay at the Hotel Central and as before everything was as excellent as on our two previous visits. We were welcomed as old friends by both Hans and Angelika as well as by the staff. The relaxed informal atmosphere makes for a pleasant stay. The dinners were as varied, imaginative and enjoyable as on previous visits. At breakfast one of the chefs will cook eggs to your order, a new and welcome innovation. There were also information packs available at Reception which helped in planning days out since they contained nuggets of information which were not available elsewhere. Given the overall ambience, not to mention the good value, if you are thinking of a holiday in Seefeld I would advise you not to look any farther than the Central. In answer to "Kate S" there is information in the welcoming pack about how to have clothing laundered.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 302 which had alarge balcony and good views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stravaiger_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
#3 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#4 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterbrau
Hotel Klosterbrau
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Muenchner Strasse 41, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#4 Best Value Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#5 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Central is situated in the centre of Seefeld at the beginning of the pedestrian area. A comfortable lobby with hotel bar and fire-place invites to linger. For the youngest guests there is a playroom to romp. The recently redecorated rooms (all for 4 persons), designed in light birch-wood, are equipped with corner unit, cable TV, telephone, safe, balcony, shower/bath, toilet and hairdryer. The apartments additionally have kitchenette and sitting corner. Next to our hotel you find a free of charge and secured parking lot. Further you can use the free Wi-FI throughout the house. In delightful surroundings you'll relish the breakfast buffet including a "health corner" and the choice between three 4-course dinners with soup- and salad bar. The property also offers vegetarian dishes and a weekly theme buffet with typical Tyrolean dishes and a wine-tasting. Escape from the pressure of everyday living in the newly built Central Therme with sauna, steam bath, fitness room, massage and much more. Bathrobes and shower-sandals are available in the room. The hotel offers a reduction for the entrance to the swimming pool Olympia (Monday-Friday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing