We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dog only enjoyed the stay”
Review of Hotel Klosterbrau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Klosterbrau
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Our dog only enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After many years we have decided to return to Seefeld during a tour in Austria and Germany and we booked this hotel considering the five stars rating and the dog facilities.
Well after two days stay our dog only enjoyed the stay, which for him was great (welcome in the room, allowed to stay at breakfast, allowed in one of the restaurants, a lot of dogs in hotel etc.).
But this hotel for my wife and myself did not deserved its rating. Valet service and luggage service were very efficient. Front desk was efficient, but not really welcoming: also the offer of a welcome drink was so unfriendly (and limited choice ) that we preferred to skip. Concierge was always absent with a short notice on the desk informing about the reception location. None of the front desk was able to inform us about an evening concert in the closed main Church of the village (we enjoyed very much a violin and organ duo concert). Double room "Maximilian garden" (announced on hotel web site as "Where luxury initiates") was spacious but really in need of refurbishment and bathroom was small and really old fashion. Breakfast service was great due to the vaste offer, but service was not attentive and very slow. Dinner at Gewelbesaal was average, but never on level of a main restaurant in afive stars hotel:the best of this first evening was the fantastic magician entertaining at table guests with unbelievable magics. At the end of service the young maitre informed us that the evening after the restaurant was fully booked due to a wedding reception and we could take dinner only at Braukeller restaurant. Please consider that half board basis is obligatory at this hotel. The day after dinner at Braukeller was a full disaster: terrible service despite the fact that we both speak German, limited choice, over all terrible earthy food too salted and very frustrating ambiance. As other reviewers have written there are much better options in Seefeld and we will not return at Klosterbrau, which we cannot recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mywayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    41
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
97
212
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel Klosterbrau is located in the pedestrian zone of Seefeld, and is a five-minute walk from the train station. If you arrive in Innsbruck, the hotel is a 30-minute taxi ride from the main train station. The building was once a monastery, and the family has decorated the property with a fine attention to detail. For families, there is an indoor and outdoor heated pool, with ample lounge chairs and daybeds. The facilities and property are well-maintained and very clean. The staff was attentive, if not slightly aloof.

My family and I had a highly memorable vacation. Our room was tidy and spacious. We selected the half-board plan, which included breakfast and dinner in the main dining room, and lunch downstairs at the Braukeller. The hotel offered a fresh and diverse menu, and an elegant, carefully-prepared dinner service. Many items, such as the vegetables, dairy products and jams came from the family's garden or local farmers. There was also complimentary wifi in the rooms and in many areas of the hotel, a nice touch not normally found in high-end hotels of this price point.

The only incident that left a less favorable impression was the management's response to an error they made. I was charged an extra daily fee for an older child, but was not informed of this cost when I made the reservation and prepaid for my visit at hotels.com, as well as at the time I checked in. I was only made aware of this charge when I received the final bill, the night before I left. When I raised this issue with the management, their response was surprisingly defensive and cold, which I did not expect from a five-star establishment. They offered no apology but finally did agree to correct the error on my bill. This incident slightly marred what had been an idyllic experience.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor that has been renovated, and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizaPKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme Hale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you looking for a wonderful place to stay in the Austrian Tirol this hotel offer lovely rooms fine dinning and family and staff that make your stay complete this is the hotel for you.The 5star accolade is well earnt from the hand written welcoming letter the goodbye gift nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel Klosterbräu in Seefeld is an amazing hotel with a very personal touch in a great mountain setting! The overall experience totally lives up to a five star expectation and is even overdelivered by the personal service. (personal note in the room, a gift at check-out and a personal letter sent back home...)
We especially liked the Spa of the hotel which has really everything you can imagine including a "sauna master" who provides oils, teaches you how to use the sauna etc.
Also a very nice and romantic experience was the dinner in the wine cellar of the hotel (great food, superbe athmosphere, good service).
Seefeld is a perfect location for winter as well as summer offering skiing slopes, cross country slopes, a lake, hiking trails, a beautiful village center etc. Hotel Klosterbräu is really the first choice for vacation in Seefeld!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms already and liked all of them. In the summer the ones with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FQTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Be amazed when you check in at the Klosterbräu! The historical building itself is breathtaking. The staff warm and welcoming, the rooms spacious and the bathroom a little spa on its own. The real spa area is one of a kind. Definitely use the make up artist, she is an expert in her field! The outside are with the pool is just amazing. The food was tasteful and great. The best meal however was the breakfast - it is a shame that you only can it so much but I was glad that we spent two nights at the hotel so I was able to enjoy it twice. The next time when we are in Austria I for sure make sure that we stay again at the Klosterbräu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A converted monetary makes for an unusual and enchanted hotel. The candles in the halls give a medeival feel to the campus. The views of the Alps are spectacular. The staff is friendly ad attentive. The breakfast buffet is unbelievably diverse with so many choices. You do have to be patient for your coffee service.
The salad bar in the evening is scrumptious.
You will not be disappointed at this jewel in the mountains.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthcawl
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

5 star treatment in an old converted Monastery. Ideally situated in Seefeld centre with transport to the ski slopes.The Rooms were spacious and cater for all levels and the Restaurant 6 course menu had many choices.We do not like buffet food and there was a Tyrolean buffet evening. We were invited to another Restaurant a la carte room if required. There is a large on site Spa with indoor and outdoor pools .One of my wife's treatments was not quite up to standard but this was soothe Family Management. All staff were very polite and helpful and all guests are welcomed and shown around the old historic cellars. It was my Birthday during our 5 day visit and this was acknowledged in a most dignified way. An excellent family run Hotel.

Room Tip: The Rooms that we saw with a bath look smaller than those with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seefeld in Tirol
0.5 mi away
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
#3 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Interalpen-Hotel Tyrol
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#4 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#2 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klosterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterbrau

Property: Hotel Klosterbrau
Address: Klosterstrasse 30 | Seefeld in Tirol, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#6 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#6 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Klosterbrau 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Klosterbrau & SPA is a former and 500 year old monastery and has been used for over 200 years is already owned by the family of the hosts' family Seyrling ". There are available: five different Themenrestaurnts, a cozy piano bar, an award-winning spa "Spiritual SPA" with year-round heated outdoor swimming pool, two Jacuzzis, six different saunas, relaxation rooms, massage & beauty treatments, a 150,000 square meter large private garden. Year-round child care and a new children's playroom and playground for children and dogs are welcome! Casino, golf courses, boutiques, restaurants and bars are in the immediate area. The hotel is quiet and sunny in the pedestrian zone of Seefeld in Tyrol. The host family Seyrling looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Klosterbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterbrau Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing