We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel service level at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel service level at all!”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Astoria is a very nice hotel, beautiful interior, but service is terrible. Stuff is rude and without manager control at all, he is always in the office as one receptionist said.
Spa is closed at 7 pm (should be open till 8 pm), even you couldn't use outdoor part of swimming pool, the spa stuff member, Mr. Markus Scheyer, said that it was broken, he lied.
There is no concierge service and we didn't get a real help.
Hotel is far away from city center and Olimpia sport centre, we took a taxi every day.
One day we ordered Sacher cake and 3 days later we called to ask about it, phone took Claudia Einhemmer and answered that they didn't have it and if we want we could order one and it will be after 2 days, but she knew that we should leave after 1, she even didn't say sorry, also added that there is one cake in the hotel but she will not give us even 1 piece of it. She was very very rude.
Once we asked to clean our room, when we came we saw that it wasn't done, we asked again and they just brought towels and left them in the bathroom chair.
Bedding were changed rarely, dirty glasses from cocktail were in the room for 4 days.
And so on....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    66
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
90
295
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

From arriving at the hotel to leaving we were made to feel "at home". The location being perfect for us. Not too close to the town centre but close enough for a nice 15 minute walk.
Without exception all the staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food....... to die for.
As a person who doesn't eat a large amount the idea of 5 courses for evening meals was something I personally was not looking forward to however the choices, size of portion and superb quality made every meal somthing to savour.
The spa facilities and pool were first class and despite inclement weather we managed to completely 'chill'. A perfect summer hotel for middle aged couples wanting to relax in beautiful surroundings. I can only imagine what it must be like in winter but we highly recommend (also if you are travelling to another hotel in the group - as in our case the 'Sacher' in Salzburg - given voucher for free upgrade) FIRST CLASS

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amron240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Yes it is listed as a 5 star hotel, the food is excellent and the service is certainly five star.It is only let down by the type of room you get. We travelled with Thomson and we were given a 2 star room. Don't know if these rooms are only given to Thomson guests but you won't get one of the nice rooms shown on the Astoria website. The decor was 1970's, no carpet just a tacky plastic covering you get in youth hostels, marks on the walls,poor lighting,you can't walk round the bed with the wardrobe doors open,bathroom was 3 star but needed attention,the shower screen leaked water over the floor. I'm sure if you paid the room supplement for a more spacious deluxe room you would have a better experience but the whole point of choosing a 5 star hotel is the whole package. It should not be advertised as 5 star if you are only given a 2 star room, Thomson need to take note. You would be better off staying in a good 3 or 4 star hotel and paying the room supplement for a superior room. We did this at the Hotel Eden a couple of years ago and wish we had done the same this time. Only stay here if you can afford the room upgrade, otherwise look elsewhere. As you would expect in a 5 star hotel the drinks are very expensive, 35 euros for a bottle of wine, 3.40 for a small beer, 5.20 for a bottle of water, not cheap. If it wasn't for the food and the service here I'm sure we would have moved to another hotel in Seefeld as this deal with Thomson just wasn't value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHoliday22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I can honestly say that this is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that was better than 'home'. Fabulous setting with stunning views of the mountains, food was faultless and the staff in the restaurant attentive without being intrusive. The spa area was spotlessly clean and maintained a very relaxed atmosphere,and there is salad lunch included plus tea and cake in the afternoon. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
There is often a class in the gym each day with 30 mins of pilates, yoga or similar included, I didn't notice this in the prospectus so take some appropriate clothing.
Weekends seem to get very busy with people just coming for the Spa and the rates increase dramatically (Fri and Sat night) so if you are looking for a really quiet stay go Sunday/Monday to Friday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fileybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Hotel info – One of the best (if not the best) hotel we’ve ever stayed in. The staff (especially Gabor in the restaurant & Alexander in the bar) couldn’t do enough for us. The food was excellent and you had plenty of choice. Even though we were on half board, you had access to a lunchtime buffet (Wellness area only) and lots of afternoon cake. The gala food evening and dessert buffet offered an exciting chance to try out something different.

The Wellness area was a nice extra to have (one reason why we chose this hotel especially with the snowy weather, see photos) with a good choice of saunas, steam rooms, etc. We also had some of the treatments that were great.

Ski info – The hotel is ideally placed for access to the Geigenbuhel (& Birkenlift) ski area, though these areas are mainly used for beginners. What it does allow you however is to ski down from the hotel (and drag back) to the centre bus stop (a few minutes walk) where you can pick up the free ski shuttle buses. The smaller of which stops right outside the hotel (no.4) but takes longer to get around Seefeld than the other (larger) two.

The other (bendy) buses will take you to Gschwandtkopf and Rosshutte. We only skied in Gschwandtkopf (enough to keep us happy) so no idea about Rosshutte.

PS. If you are going to book a skiing holiday, don’t use Thomson’s

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have only fond memories of our stays at this Hotel.
The rooms are all thoroughly cleaned and checked several times a day and have a fresh feel about them.
Buffet breakfast can be enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the gardens,
or in the bright and spacious dining rooms where you never seem to be too close to other diners.
The exceptional evening meals have good balance and variety, that shows careful thought and preparation throughout your stay.
The relaxation areas, spa areas and pools are the reality of what you hoped for but didn't think you would find.
I hope they never change a single fitting ,fixture or member of staff.
Try and find another hotel that will compel you to return like the Astoria.
As tranquil a place as you could desire, Just go.


Don't go if you like late night parties.
Don't go if you want to av a larf wiv yer mates.
Don't go if you resent dressing appropriately for dinner.
And most of all don't go if you can't keep your kids under control.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seekareckerbahners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I almost hate to tell everyone about this hotel!

From my first email to checkout everything was flawless.

I arrived without luggage (finally arrived late the next day) and was very embarrased to check into the hotel in my tracksuit. They were very gracious and made me feel totally at ease. Check in was flawless and prompt.

I was given a double room which was beautiful, very clean, and smoke free. Loved the sacher chocolates at evening turndown!

The food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Lots of healthy breakfast options. I have lots of food dislikes but never had a problem with the menu choices. Food was fresh and served quickly.

Ahhhh, the spa!! Relaxing and peaceful. I appreciated the fact that you could not enter the spa unless you were over 15. Relaxation area was peaceful and had a beautiful view. The water beds were great. The spa area was never really busy. The treatments I had as part of my room package were excellent. I wish I could have a massage and facial every week by their staff!!

The hotel is an easy 7 minute walk to the center of Seefeld. There is a free bus which stops outside the hotel but the walk was easy and pretty into town. There was alot of snow while I was there.

The light lunch and cakes were a nice treat in the afternoon.

I never has to wait to use the hotel computer in the lobby.

I never used the lounge/bar area but they were beautiful and welcoming.

Now about the staff....... EXCELLENT. Every person you met said hello to you. They were all friendly and professional. The restaurant staff worked well together. The front desk staff communicated well with each other. The spa staff were very knowledgeable and made you feel at ease.

I thoroughly enjoyed my week long stay at the Astoria. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2traveltexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seefeld in Tirol
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterbrau
Hotel Klosterbrau
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Interalpen-Hotel Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
#19 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria

Property: Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Address: Geigenbuehelstrasse 185, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the Astoria relax & spa hotel. Elegance, stylish surrounding and comfort. The special flair and warmth of our hotel greets you the moment you enter, whatever the season. Enjoy your tea in front of the crackling fire or relax mind and body with an enjoyable book in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing