We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have booked into this hotel due to its allegedly five star rating and copious wellness offers. However, nothing in the hotel, except perhaps the size of the room we had justifies the rating. The hotel is awkwardly built, long, narrow hallways, furnished in a faux Tyrolean style...not new but kept tidy and clean. The wellness facilities stem probably from the 80s, the sauna area is a dark hole, no natural light. Not enough deck chairs so be ready for a fight. The pool ridiculously small. The lawn outside opens up to a street, not shielded by a hedge or vegetation. Breakfast just fine, service friendly yet slow. Free soup and one or two sorts of cake in the afternoon, well rationed, so are two tiny slices of bread for dinner. Dinner - nothing of a 5 star cuisine, rather a down to earth stuff (gut bürgerlich) you may have at any place in Seefeld for 20EUR per person, no mistake - properly done but if the menu read: Schinken Melone, Roastbeef, Apfelstrudel, got the idea, altogether you feel like in the 80s in this place. The welcome drink and two pralines brought promptly to our room was lovely and the only gratis thing in the hotel (beside a good night piece of chocolate) - one has to pay for water in the restaurant as well as for the newspaper, covered garage parking as well. The new management is trying really hard, but given the not so good location, uncozy hotel and out of date facilities - good luck!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    65
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
87
281
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

People are really friendly. Food was great. Service was amazing. Sometimes Id leave my room for 30 minutes and it was cleaned. They gave me champaign and chocolates as presents.They had an italian night with music and great variaty of italian food. The people in the hotel came to you and talked. The only downside beeing that it is a bit outside the centrum so you need to walk for like 5-10 minutes. Sleeping quality could be better for such a hote. Also the spa is quite good actually with indoor outdoor pool and a lot of different saunas and then you trink some great tyrolean water and lie on waterbeds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yugobetrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Level Contributor
278 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

We dined twice at this supposed 5 star Hotel and both times found the Restaurant food to be good but the service awful.

Both times we were put in a side room that looked to be the storage room for extra tables. When on the second time we bitterly complained they found an ability to put a table on the landing as you enter the restaurant. Then the Daily Menu shown to us was actually not correct (even though it is printed every day) and they had to appologise that the main meal would be different than what we had ordered.

Then they forgot to delivery the sorbet course to the meal.

Luckily they also forgot to bill us for our drinks.

So the restaurant is in complete disorder and I would not recommend it to anyone.

I am told by locals that the Hotel management was recetly fired and new management will arrive in April 2011 - obviously it is needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Astoria team has succeeded during three years in a row of largely exceeding our expectations. The service never failed during our stay and this despite of a full house (all rooms occupied). The meals were delicious and well balanced. The staff is charming and very helpful. In one word: a delight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnyRDeinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

stayed there just for 2 nights from 10. to 12th of february 2011 - during this days our room was never cleaned. the key lock of our room was a little bit confusing -sometimes it took us 2 minutes to enter the room- also they offere no WIFI at the rooms. Furniture and floor of the room was at most 3 stars. At breakfast we waited for 20 minutes before we decided to ask if it is possible to get a coffee. at dinner they had a piano but without a piano player - it was full automated and the waiter had to chance the CD´s which were directly behind our table. It was just annoying. also a beauty package which constited of staying for 30 minutes in a goated milk towel was an really undissapointing experience.
We are frequently checking in at 4, 4 1/2 and 5 Star hotels but such a bad service we never found even in 4 stars. Check the ratings ....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mc-entertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Astoria is a very nice hotel, beautiful interior, but service is terrible. Stuff is rude and without manager control at all, he is always in the office as one receptionist said.
Spa is closed at 7 pm (should be open till 8 pm), even you couldn't use outdoor part of swimming pool, the spa stuff member, Mr. Markus Scheyer, said that it was broken, he lied.
There is no concierge service and we didn't get a real help.
Hotel is far away from city center and Olimpia sport centre, we took a taxi every day.
One day we ordered Sacher cake and 3 days later we called to ask about it, phone took Claudia Einhemmer and answered that they didn't have it and if we want we could order one and it will be after 2 days, but she knew that we should leave after 1, she even didn't say sorry, also added that there is one cake in the hotel but she will not give us even 1 piece of it. She was very very rude.
Once we asked to clean our room, when we came we saw that it wasn't done, we asked again and they just brought towels and left them in the bathroom chair.
Bedding were changed rarely, dirty glasses from cocktail were in the room for 4 days.
And so on....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

From arriving at the hotel to leaving we were made to feel "at home". The location being perfect for us. Not too close to the town centre but close enough for a nice 15 minute walk.
Without exception all the staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food....... to die for.
As a person who doesn't eat a large amount the idea of 5 courses for evening meals was something I personally was not looking forward to however the choices, size of portion and superb quality made every meal somthing to savour.
The spa facilities and pool were first class and despite inclement weather we managed to completely 'chill'. A perfect summer hotel for middle aged couples wanting to relax in beautiful surroundings. I can only imagine what it must be like in winter but we highly recommend (also if you are travelling to another hotel in the group - as in our case the 'Sacher' in Salzburg - given voucher for free upgrade) FIRST CLASS

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amron240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seefeld in Tirol
0.3 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterbrau
Hotel Klosterbrau
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Interalpen-Hotel Tyrol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#2 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria

Property: Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
Address: Geigenbuehelstrasse 185, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the Astoria relax & spa hotel. Elegance, stylish surrounding and comfort. The special flair and warmth of our hotel greets you the moment you enter, whatever the season. Enjoy your tea in front of the crackling fire or relax mind and body with an enjoyable book in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing