We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B : Bad Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kronenhotel Seefeld
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are looking for a Good B&B to crash in, you may look no further.

The rooms are big and spacious, though a little dated in furniture and fitments. The service is .. well... not there, but do you really care!

For a Hotel, this is less than perfect. The service is in existent. the toilets are very average, with a soap dispenser dysfunctional and the dhampoo doubling up as the soap & shampoo (they have the same thing for both!). The toilet was separate from the bath and apart from being very small they had managed to fit a wash basin, which made it .. well, even tinier !

There was a bar which some years back much have been in function and a reception which had the sole person manning it spending 50% of his time on his mobile phone or other administrative stuff !

The wifi internet was paid and pretty slow. The rooms did not even have a tea/coffee maker. Enough said then !

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor and near to the loby.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Kronenhotel Seefeld
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The property is very well located and is made of 70% wood in german style . The hotel has only one lift and is not the modern type . There is no tea or coffee maker in room and limited amenities in toilet . The rooms do not have central air conditioning facility . Services are not very good . I asked for an iron to press my clothes but owner point blank refused to give one . I needed an extra quilt in night and called reception and owner picked phone to tell that the hotel is now closed and he is at home and he can not do anything about it . Was very strange and rude behaviour as per service industry standards .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NIMISH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

hotel 10 minute walk from centre,10 mins from train station,5-6 minute walk from ski bus area,stayed for a week,half board,continental breakfast,set menu for evening meal,rooms quite big,had a small refit recently,has you dont spend the day in the hotel it is a good place to rest at night,you hand te key in wen you leave,but if nobody is in reception on the way back you could just go behind to get your own room key?? security!! so we kept ours,the manager made our stay he was like basil in the fawlty towers clips!

Room Tip: you get what you pay for,room over reception was ok sun rise in the morning
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby14789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights. We found the manager to be pleasant enough but inattentive. He was much more interested in watching video on his computer than attending to the people stacking up at the front desk.

Walking into the place, what I noticed immediately was the smell... of lots of smoking over the years and old, old carpets and draperies. The place is certainly in need of a complete redecoration and felt dark and oppressive to me. The rooms were large and clean, including the bathrooms... just a bit ugly. (I based my detail room review on size and cleanliness) Walls were thin too, and we could hear voices and alarm clocks.

They do have internet now, but it's slow, and despite it being posted on their website and on the login screen for their network that the internet is free for hotel guests, the manager tried to charge us 20 euros for the service. We objected though, and he retracted the charge.

Breakfast was basic, but decent, and the dining room staff was attentive. The buffet includes a couple of types of rolls/breads, a number of sliced meats, a few cheeses, several varieties of cold cereal and muesli, two flavors of yogurt, butter, jams, hazelnut spread, calf's liver pate, plus a variety of juices, coffee, and a large tea selection. Oh yes, and a basket of fresh fruit.

The bar is now open in the evenings and each night we were there, a large group of people were congregating and socializing in the spacious bar area. People seemed to be having a great time.

The hotel is close to town - easily walkable to other restaurants and shops, and ski rental places. It's quite close to the ski resorts in the area, and there is a bus from town that takes people the few kilometers to ski.

This hotel is fine for what it is, but didn't really meet our standards for comfort. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a good room in the hotel.. walls are very thin and sound travels.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This reveiw is very late but having seen what some people have written has provoked a reaction.
I stayed at the Khronenhotel in Feb 2011,i had booked a snowhouse holiday with Inghams as had all the other reveiwers i'm sure.The snowhouse holiday is a B&B holiday or allocation on arrival but with the Kronenhotel you get a hotel which is being run as a B&B.
This is a mistake i made as i walked up the hill but upon speaking to Hans,he explained he had just taken over the hotel and it was a running work in progress.
He explained it was once a 4 star hotel but no longer reached that grade.
I have stayed in Seefeld twice before and paid far more but i still had a room with a heated floor in the bathroom and a good standard room.
I paid £249 for seven nights and i came away thinking this was my best stay in Seefeld due to the value i gained from the Krononhotel.
After a good days skiing i just wanted to rest my head and the Khronenhotel provided that.
I realise Hans should have taken the old signs down as it provides false expectations but people..you get what you pay for and the Khronenhotel gives you more bang for your buck than some of the much more expensive hotels i have stayed in.(Eden £750 and Bergland £895)
You have a public swimming baths which you can go to and i know it would be nice to have this onsite,but if you want that....PAY MORE MONEY.
I Know you might think i'm being over the top with my praise but i am going back to Seefeld in Jan 2012 and my first port of call was Inghams but they still use this as a last minute hotel and if i booked myself the cost of flights alone are the problem.
At the end of the day,if you pay a bargain price don't expect Buckingham Palace.
I wish Hans luck as i feel he's getting a raw deal on here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beef1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Dreadful gloomy place with ABSOLUTELY NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! Unmanned on our arrival with a note on the desk with our key & a telephone number. No information in the room, which was very dated, clean but shabby/tired - tiles coming off sink in the bathroom so hygiene issues. The hotel was unmanned over night & only 1 or 2 couples there - what would have happened if there had been a fire/someone had a heart attack etc. etc. Breakfast was just ok on the 1st morning but the bread rolls became more rubbery as the week went on so suggest they had been in & out of the freezer (even though we complained straightaway to the rep', we had to stay as Inghams refused to move us stating that we had accepted 'allocation on arrival' so we got what we had paid for - personally I think they were trying to fill their charter flight & maximise profits by providing inferior accommodation - 1st & last time booking with Inghams and recommend others don't bother either)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Although the location is actually very good (it is in Seefeld so pretty much any hotel would deserve four stars for that) it barely helps to boost the standard of this hotel.

The rooms are not alltogether terrible or lack cleanliness (and at least our room actually had quite a decent size of at least 30m² + balcony); nevertheless the interior probably hasn't changed for the past 40+ years and thus barely is of modern four star standard.
The service is not really existing in a normal hotel sense (reception is not staffed, they don't have a single corkscrew in the hotel [what that might tell you about the quality;or at least the range of wines they have on offer is up to you], if you call the reception you get redirected to a private mobile number; if they somehow forgot to put more than one tiny towel in a double room and you ask for more the chambermaid might just wish to enter your bathroom to double-check whether you really needed that towel).

The entire hotel, from reception to the elevator (which, unless you belong the standard bus-tour guest, is probably older than you) and the dark hallways could just as well be the setting for a cheap horrorfilm. Add a dysfunctional, unlit "spa" (and although it was dark in there you could almost feel that it was dirty), a myriad of strange rooms that are normally not supposed to be accessable to hotel guests on yet another unlit corridor when you try to find the spa and you can be absolultely certain that the glorious days of this hotel - if they ever existed - have long gone by.

Although it might be cheap and breakfast is actually not as bad as you might imagine (yet, not of a four star standard) there is really no reason to stay at this place since most 3* hotels in Seefeld will offer a higher standard in every sense (unless of course, you insist on that closed, dysfunctional spa).

Room Tip: If you've already booked, ask for a big room on the top floor (it's hard to believe that thi...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol Alpenhof
Hotel Tyrol Alpenhof
#24 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
#23 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Klausnerhof
Hotel Garni Klausnerhof
#32 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
WellnessHotel Schoenruh
WellnessHotel Schoenruh
#22 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wetterstein
Hotel Wetterstein
#35 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seelos
Seelos
#25 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhotel Seefeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhotel Seefeld

Address: Karwendelweg 732, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range: $92 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhotel Seefeld 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kronenhotel Seefeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronenhotel Seefeld Hotel Seefeld In Tirol
Kronenhotel Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing