We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What the Advertising Suggests = Disappointed”
Review of Bergresort Seefeld

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bergresort Seefeld
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not What the Advertising Suggests = Disappointed”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Bergresort has a 4-star rating and we chose to stay there based on the positive reviews at booking.com and because it has a nice-looking wellness spa and pool area (2 indoor pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam baths, and an outdoor pool too). The price of the room includes full board with cooked breakfast buffet, lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner. We prefer to stay in hotels that have a traditional feel (think chalet style in the alps, lots of wooden panelling, good schnitzel and fries etc) and thought that we were getting this with the Bergresort, based largely on the pictures on booking .com (and the hotel website) of a chalet(ish) style building and rooms that featured plenty of wood. We didn’t get what we expected. Our room was old-fashioned, flowery, and had no wood to speak of.
<br /><br />Indeed, the Bergresort is well-appointed, though the rooms are ageing in decor. We got room 106 (a 40m2 deluxe double) and were confronted with comfort in the form of a walk-in-wardrobe, a Jacuzzi, two little lounge areas, a 4 nozzle shower, bidet, and flat screen TV... but the room was styled with floral prints, white lattice works, and frilly canopies hanging over the bed, etc. This is by no means traditional Tyrolean and neither modern, rather, just a scary in-between that my mother would love. Don’t get me wrong, the room was comfortable and would have had plenty of space for a cot or third bed but the style didn’t fit the holiday.
<br /><br />But don’t worry; the style did fit the dining hall and the clientele. The Bergresort seems to cater to older couples that like to sit at the nearby tables and scrutinize you, no doubt talking about how you aren’t good enough for the hotel. Your thoughts are interrupted by piano music floating through the restaurant and resembling a £5 piano music greatest hits CD (all the awful tunes you love to hate).
<br /><br />The decor in the restaurant is trying to be very classy and subdued. The staff aren’t overly friendly but are professional. The food is beautifully presented but made on a budget. Although every pretence is made to suggest this is fine dining, the food is no better than that you get from any average restaurant.
<br /><br />Something that really annoyed us was arriving in the room on the first day and reading that one is expected to wear formal clothing to dinner. You what? We came here on a skiing holiday. Formal clothing was left at home, you might be lucky if I scratch up a pair of jeans and a polo shirt. If we had have been told this (no information with booking confirmation), we would have brought something with us or booked elsewhere (probably the later, as this would have been a huge hint that this hotel was not what we were looking for). Even worse, the Saturday evening was to be a ‘Gala Dinner’. That meant you absolutely must be formally dressed. We went to peak at the menu in the afternoon. This resulted in us asking the reception if there were other options. Luckily they were able to give us a voucher for one of the other hotels in the group. The ‘Gala Dinner’ menu was 6 courses... one of which was duck, and another was venison. This is absolutely not the Tyrolean experience we were expecting. Why do they talk about Tyrolean hospitality all over their website? The meal at the traditional Tyrolean restaurant in the partner hotel was infinitely better than the meal we had at Bergresort... simple fare, schnitzel and fries and plate of Spatzl for my wife.
<br /><br />The wellness spa area is very nice. There is also a basic outdoor playground for better weather and an indoor playroom for the colder days. So yes, you could bring kids here, but we are very glad our little one stayed at home with her grandparents. If your child cannot be relied upon to be impeccably behaved in the restaurant you will be stared down on by the old snobs around you. Our advice, if you want to come to Seefeld (which was great for beginner skiers like me) and you want a traditional and comfortable stress free break, then do come, but book at one of the other hotels in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NamparaCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    50
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
82
145
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

very warm crew , gurmet cuisne,fantastic spa.
very good location,very clean,good price.
a lot of rertuns guests .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

An amazing hotel, with exceptional facilities and very friendly people. I have read complaints about the walk into town.... my 9 year old managed it twice a day nearly everyday, without any complaint. The food is real 5 Star quality - you may have read that the portions are small? I for one couldn't manage the 6 or 7 courses they provided us with each night. You'd pay a fortune for this elsewhere - it truly is Michelin quality food... I tried everything - althopugh I did feel a bit guilty about eating the 'chamois'. Everything was perfect except for the weather... rather wet this year, but hey... Its the Alps, of course its changeable. You won't want to come home in a hurry. The transfer from Salzburg is a bit of a pain, but if you book early and fly into Innsbruck its a lot shorter.

Now landing at Innsbruck - thats entertaining :-) but I'll leave that one for you to discover.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our family of ourselves, three adult children ,daughter in law and three grandchildren stayed for a week at this hotel. The food was excellent and the upgraded rooms which they kindly provided were well furnished and spacious. The whole party enjoyed the extensive facilities including the pools jaccuzi and free mountain bikes. Seefeld is a good centre for walking. On our anniversary, the hotel provided a ten course dinner and beautifully decorated table at no extra charge. The only downside was the policy of only providing water at meals if a drink was purchased. The wine(mainly Austrian) was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teasel-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My husband and I got a last minute deal to this hotel with Inghams. We were looking for a spa holiday and this looked like a good deal. The hotel is a 4* plus and we had a beautiful room. Service was excellent both at reception and in the restaurant.

Food is always an important part of holidaying for us and we were not disappointed - it was sooo good! The portions are not that large but they are such good quality and there are several courses so you definitely don't go hungary. We were half board and most days skipped having lunch as we were eating so much at breakfast and dinner!

The spa facilities were also really good with decent sized pools and jacuzzi and several heat treatment rooms. I booked a special deal in the beauty salon and had a massage, facial and body wrap which again were fabulous.

The hotel is a little out of town and I have read other reviews that criticise this. I can understand this might be an issue in the winter when dealing with ski equipment etc but in the summer it really is no problem. It's only about 10 mins walk to centre of town and again given the amount of food we were eating this was not a bad thing! :)

Would def reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The hotel is amazing every year we go to austria as a family but this year me and my mum and i would go toagther as the other could not make it and ouch its was so nice we loved every second there,The hotel was nice and clean and fresh it was all done to a premier standerd the girls as reseption was lovely and we had a good restrant porter weighting on us every night "tino and the grils" they were amazing we thought this place could not get better to we went to the pool area and met a helper pool attendant "david" he put the icing on the cake he was so nice and kind he helped us every day,He was one of the best things at the hotel he couldent help us enought im sure to say we will be back we often stay at alpenpark and we cant deside what one to visit next year but because of david i think its going to be here! we loved it so much if we had to say one bad thing it would be that we got put in a large room and it was dark wood we like light wood but to be honest that just being silly and they could of changed the lunches a bit more even tho it was lush!!! So there our 2 bad points but they are hardly bad are they all i say is that the staff are so frienly i never met so many friends we met friends out there who made friend with miss white lovely lady! and everyone there was so kind inc taxie drivers its a little futher out but is a lovely walk and bike and you could quite easy do it in 10 mins its a nice stroll! now i am thinking of it the thought gets me happy as it so nice we always book thore inghams as there the besta nd there is no stress wiht them at all need help? call them or wait for them to call you there so kind so nothing to worry about so if you think booking dont waste time get on to inghams and book as you wont regret i can put money on it! and the spa ouch they get better well thanks so much to all the staff there ans we missing you lots thanks again bye
p.s also if you want to go on internet bring you laptop as there wirless! how good is that! xx

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We booked this as a last minute deal on Thursday afternoon and travelled on the Saturday. Booking so late, we were unsure as to what we would get, but we were more than pleasantly suprised. The hotel staff were extremely friendly on arrival. Our room was fantastic - huge, clean and modern, with large seatinga reas, a lovely balcony and king-size bed.
The restaurant was first class, and compliments to our waiter, Tino, who did everything he could to make sure we were well looked after, as did Mikey, the barman.
The pool and spa facilities were luxurious, and my wife enjoyed a spa treatment day, whilst I took advantge of the hotels free bicycle hire. Don't be put off by others reviews - the walk into the centre of the town from the hotel is 10 minutes at a very leisurely pace.
The town of seefeld is picturesque, with numerous bars, boutique shops and restaurants. Rail links are excellent bein on the mainline between Munich and Innsbruck. the nightlife is varied and caters to most ages - we managed to attend a traditional Tyrolean evening, an Austrian bowling evening, and a Guns 'n' Roses/ACDC tribute band night (the standard of which was excellent)
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our week, and could easily have stayed another and found plenty to do. We can't wait to book or next stay here.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and can't wait to plan our nect visit back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.5 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#3 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
#21 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Resort
Astoria Resort
#2 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Klosterbrau
Hotel Klosterbrau
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
#23 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergresort Seefeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergresort Seefeld

Property: Bergresort Seefeld
Address: Muenchner Strasse 215, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#7 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#9 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bergresort Seefeld 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alone or with someone and your dog, no matter summer or winter, outside or indoors-our Hotel offers sports, wellness, untouched nature, fresh air, excellent cuisine and Tyrolean hospitality. Long hiking trips are ideal to leave the city behind and breathe to the fullest. We are looking forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bergresort Seefeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergresort Seefeld Hotel Seefeld In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing