We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience you don't want to have”
Review of The Pushkar Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pushkar Bagh
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Pushkar
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An experience you don't want to have”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel at all. My family recently stayed there and I would not consider this a 2 star hotel even. Especially in the cooler months. They have no heat, the portable heaters had no plugs. The toiletries in the bathroom were used and not clean. The food was mediocre.
The manager was missing when our large group showed up there. The staff tried to help and were polite and nice, but this was not the service I was expecting after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicysindhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    47
    22
    22
See reviews for
72
118
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were really impressed by the customer service at this hotel in terms of the efforts by the staff to make us feel welcome and enjoy the New Year celebrations. The guests at the hotel included us in the dancing and were really considerate of us during the festivities. The New Year gala was a really nice event.

The room itself was of a poor standard, we had a 'tent-style' room which was basic. There was no hot water at all during our stay and the holes around the AC unit meant that it was freezing in the room. We were brought a heater (first one set on fire) but this was 'plugged in' using wires and earbuds (see picture). In the morning, a generator came on outside our room which was really noisy and with the hard beds, we had already slept quite badly. Sadly, the lack of sleep, inability to take a shower and cold room meant we were stood looking for our driver to arrive in the morning so that we could check-out and move onto the next hotel.

It is a shame that the rooms are not improved as the staff are lovely and the location is good so much more could be done to improve the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night, it is a little bit out of town but that's ok (there's not a lot in town) we visited Brahma's temple and were ambushed by the locals for donations etc. The rooms were clean and bathroom basic, the manager did knock on our door at 8pm to inform us the hot water was now on, therefore, don't expect continuous running hot water. We ventured into the hotel restaurant for evening dinner and surprisingly it was very good (local food). I would definitely recommend for an overnighter to see the temple, apart from that I don't know what Pushkar lake has to offer for a longer stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank budyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here in Sep2013. This resort is excellent in terms of value for money. I stayed there in off season so it was not crowded at all. Although location in 1-2 kms from pushkar market but staff was very co-operative and provided us the pick n drop to the market even. Wifi is not available here. Food quality is very good. So overall I had an excellent stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulSabharwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Runton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Pushkar Bagh for one night on our motor cycle tour of Rajasthan. The room was large comfortable & quiet. The food was also fine but not too memorable. There was also WiFi but only in the reception area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The room which we had at the Pushkar Bagh was large, clean and very quiet. The bathroom was very spacious but the shower was a little average. The dining room was very average with less choice than other hotels we had stayed at during our Rajasthan tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a superb property that has NOT realized its potential. One would have to criticize management for not operating it better. The staff are polite but seem somewhat clueless as to their collective assignments. I would politely disagree with sakshi_singhal's review.

At most times, there was no one at the front desk that could answer questions that were posed in basic English.

Having said all of this, we had a great time at the Puskar Camel Festival. Hotel provided a camel cart ride at sunset, the room was clean although for some unknow reason, the soap and shampoo was not replaced on a daily basis. As another post stated, hot water was an issue.

In speaking with the manager about occupancy rates, I think I understand what is lacking here. Other than the Camel Festival, when occupancy is very high, there are just not enough visitors the rest of the year. The entire yearly occupancy is around 40%, which when one considers almost sell out conditions during the festival, one can understand how problems may crop up due to lack of cash flow.

There are NOT a lot of choices in Pushkar, and this may be one of the best, just don't set your expectations too high. In retrospect, having spent a month in India, it is easy to get disappointed in the Pushkar Bagh after spending time at the Udai Khoti (Udaipur), the Clarks (Varanasi) and the Samode Bagh.

Restaurant provided marginally edible food, although no intestinal difficulties resulted. My breakfast choice was a simple cornflakes and banana.

Room Tip: I suggest cottages over tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
2.0 mi away
The Greenhouse Resort
The Greenhouse Resort
#10 of 42 in Pushkar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts Pushkar
5.7 mi away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#11 of 42 in Pushkar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pushkar Fort
Pushkar Fort
#13 of 42 in Pushkar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
#12 of 42 in Pushkar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Brahma Horizon
Hotel Brahma Horizon
#7 of 42 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pushkar Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pushkar Bagh

Property: The Pushkar Bagh
Address: Motisar Link Road | Village Ghanehera, Pushkar 305022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pushkar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pushkar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pushkar Bagh 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five star luxury fort and palace hotels mushrooming across the state of Rajasthan, not many young Rajput men gave thought to preserving the real way of life in the desert and sharing it with those who care to travel and see behind the veil of make believe. Kunwar Mahendra Rathore, a direct descendant of the Thakurs of (Rajliya), thought of doing this. To him the location was ideal - an area far, far away from the sounds and sights of urban chaos and closer to the captivating quietude of rural Rajasthan. He dreamed of creating an experience in the area that was not quite the regular heritage hotel one often finds in Rajasthan today. Mahendra wished The Pushkar Bagh (symbolizing Garden in the local dialect) - to become a desert destination known for its culture and surroundings by ushering in a movement to preserve the local heritage, culture, flora and fauna. Firmly in the saddle with his unique idea and armed with a dream, Today the Pushkar bagh nestles close to the ground, almost blending with the surrounding landscape - it has not only become a tourist destination but also an economic hub from which a large portion of the neighboring villages draw their sustenance. The Pushkar Bagh is an ideal base to explore Indian desert life, culture and landscape of breathtaking beauty. It offers a stark and contrasting desert experience. Within The Pushkar Bagh timeless horizons, you will find yourself one with nature. What better way to spend a day than on camel back, see herds of cattle and sheep roaming around, sometimes grazing, sometimes wandering, as if under the watchful eye of a greater shepherd in a cloud-less sky. Watch village children ambling off to school, while their mothers rustle up their afternoon meal on a 'Chullah' (typical village kitchen fireplace made of clay) fired by dung as bio-fuel. And as the sun takes a bow behind the dunes, something inside tells you that this is your sanctuary... and theirs. THE PUSHKAR BAGH Located in the heart of the sand dune region of Rajasthan outskirt of the ancient city of Pushkar between Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur and Bikaner, the Resort is a hidden gem - very quaint and pleasant, a green oasis in the desert - designed and built in the style of a heritage Mahal (mansion) against the backdrop of a desert landscape. Converting barren land into an oasis was not an easy task. Local architecture was studied at great length before formulating a design for Pushkar Bagh. You'll see that the vernacular elements have been contextualized so that they can breathe and exude an ambience of desert ethos. Care has been taken to draw a distinction between imitation and inspiration. Subtly woven into this rustic expression are technology and services that offer comfort levels expected by the contemporary traveler. The intention to make the interiors warm and comfortable in contrast to the earthy and rugged exteriors has led to the blossoming of a boutique environment which has retained the original beauty and royalty of Rajasthan in its pink send stone structure. The ambience at once makes you fall in love with the place where a curious traveler would like to stay and break a long journey. It is not a super luxury resort Yet, it offers most creature comforts that a modern traveller could wish for. Everything is very clean and tidy. Throughout the resort the atmosphere is relaxed and enchanting. There are two courtyards where the only noise pollution is the chitter-chatter of birds, a restaurant and a bar that open into courtyard.. . It's atmospheric to dine out in an open courtyard and feast on mouth watering cuisine that offers both local and world flavors while folk musicians set the tempo around a crackling fire Beyond this are the living quarters called Rawla's - an area that has cottages, thatched roof-top sit outs, swimming pool and massage rooms overlooking an orchid. Accommodation is in en-suite rooms which are cosy and comfortable, with doors that open onto their own little patios set amidst the greenery of trees and landscaping. The thatched roofs draw inspiration from the local 'dhani'(the village hut). The interiors have smooth stucco plaster, patterned mosaic floors, customised furniture and rugs, traditional 'Khats' (charpoys) have been converted into sofas, curtains and bed covers have been custom made - all of them being very specific to this desert region of Marwar. The staff are all local boys who are very helpful, friendly and anticipate your needs . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Pushkar Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pushkar Bagh Hotel Pushkar
The Hotel Pushkar
The Resort Pushkar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing