We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in the desert !!”
Review of The Pushkar Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pushkar Bagh
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Pushkar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

excellent place to be . one of the most beautiful hotel in Rajasthan ...

Just returned from the place accompanying my group from america . Kr. Mahender Singh has got the best possible staff for sure. From Rooms to Food , everything was great.

Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffroadIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

we only stayed here one night as part of a private tour we planed for two of us with a driver.
he dropped us off here and we felt like we were we in the desert away from everything ( which you are not really) but feels like it. the welcome from the staff was so nice and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. this property is like a fort and you walk out through the gardens to the bedrooms, these are like small cottages in the grounds, it was so quiet in the rooms we slept very well.the rooms are very well appointed with endless furniture,a lovely dressing area before the huge marble bathroom.
we had dinner here but sadly we were the only guest who did, we were in a huge room like a grand hall that was not very enjoyable for just two of us,at breakfast it did not feel as bad as more guest were eating.breakfast was good not amazing but you are in deepest india now.
i would highly recommend this hotel as friendly, clean, good quality and professional .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eatdrinkstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have just returned from having spent two nights in this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are so friendly and efficient, We were greeted warmly on arrival,The bathrooms were quite spacious,Thanks again to the staff for making us feel really welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we stayed in this hotel during our trip to rajasthan with family. the room was nice, clean and big enough. food was nice and testy. staff was so helpful and ready to give as much as possible assistance for making trip easier. very nice garden with lots of birds and ducks.
we recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xuv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We thank the hotel for the wonderful stay and the upgrade to the luxury room (as the hotel was practically empty) which was awesome as the luxury room was very spacious, had a heater and huge bathroom with a tub. Also we had a good a good discount on the package for 3 nights, thanks to Mahendra Singh. We booked directly with hotel by emailing them.

Location-seems like it would be a good place to stay during the camel fair but quiet far from city center. however there is a short cut to get to the city center by foot, around 2kms walk but unsafe to walk in the dark. we hired a bike from the hotel staff @ Rs.200 per day

Pros - 1. the rooms, hotels, lawns etc were extremely clean and well maintained. 2.the property is not rustic as some of the other reviews say. its luxurious and very well decorated as you will see in the photos. 3.They never refused any service no matter what the time was, which is commendable. 4. very peaceful and scenic surrounding. 5. close to railway station but its not operational in pushkar yet. not very close to market. 6. wifi free at reception only.

Cons - 1. Just like the other reviews we also faced problem of hot running water. maybe it was due to the cold the pipes were cold, not sure. but the water in tap was lukewarm and we had to always ask for hot water in buckets to freshen up which was never refused but took time to come. 2. There are no phones in the room. So either we had to walk till reception each time or smartly we took one of the staff's cell number. 3. breakfast was average. choice of eggs, paratha, cereals. nothing fancy or elaborate.4. pool was not functional (no water or maybe getting renovated not sure, it was too cold for a swim)

Note - The staff called Govind Singh was overall okay but kinda weirdly strange. whenever we asked anything he wouldn't say no. he would say it would be arranged but he would always remain ambiguous of the cost and charge differently than what was previously agreed with him. So double check.

Also hotel website mentions many activities like camel safari at night or a night in the desert with dinner or a folk dance. Well, we didn't get a change or any of these and the staff was blank and clueless. Even when we took a cab to Jaipur, wanting to stop enroute to Kishangarh as website mentions a must-do, all the staff incl the cab driver says there is nothing to see there!

Overall: loved the place and would definitely go again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adityani, General Manager at The Pushkar Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for liking The Pushkar bagh and we assure you that we will work hard upon your suggestions . Your appreciation is a great encouragement for us.
regards
Adityani singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here during New Year's Eve and this hotel is not worth the price. I had booked a tent accommodation for 1 night and after traveling on a train 7 hours from Delhi I had found out the tent was not ready. Additionally, the tent was advertised as a luxury-themed experience, and was far from that. Our tent had holes and there was no way to secure the tent itself. The 'lock' on the tent consisted of old rope. The hotel is currently building a swimming pool but it is at least a year away from being finished. Overall, it was not the experience I had paid for and I had higher expectations. This was simply my experience at the Pushkar Bagh. I personally would not choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cklett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the Pushkar Bagh on way to Jaipur from Jodhpur on our Rajasthan road trip. The place worked for us as we were looking only for an overnight stay. It's built on a vast expanse of land, has a sprawling garden lawn and a decent-ish restaurant. But the quality of the construction of cottages and their maintenance left a lot to be desired. The huts are rustic and the decor does not really exude luxury.

Our two chief issues with this hotel were (1) we spotted a rat in one of the rooms and (2) there was an issue with availability of hot water. Both these are pretty basic requirements and one would expect this resort to not have such issues. Apart from this, the property is extremely difficult to locate. Would advise travellers to call beforehand and take precise directions

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
3.3 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts
Ananta Spa & Resorts
#4 of 47 in Pushkar
1,006 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
#9 of 47 in Pushkar
348 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#14 of 47 in Pushkar
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
#16 of 47 in Pushkar
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regenta Resort Pushkar Fort
2.0 mi away
The Greenhouse Resort
The Greenhouse Resort
#13 of 47 in Pushkar
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pushkar Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pushkar Bagh

Address: Motisar Link Road | Village Ghanehera, Pushkar 305022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pushkar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pushkar
Price Range: $70 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pushkar Bagh 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five star luxury fort and palace hotels mushrooming across the state of Rajasthan, not many young Rajput men gave thought to preserving the real way of life in the desert and sharing it with those who care to travel and see behind the veil of make believe. Kunwar Mahendra Rathore, a direct descendant of the Thakurs of (Rajliya), thought of doing this. To him the location was ideal - an area far, far away from the sounds and sights of urban chaos and closer to the captivating quietude of rural Rajasthan. He dreamed of creating an experience in the area that was not quite the regular heritage hotel one often finds in Rajasthan today. Mahendra wished The Pushkar Bagh (symbolizing Garden in the local dialect) - to become a desert destination known for its culture and surroundings by ushering in a movement to preserve the local heritage, culture, flora and fauna. Firmly in the saddle with his unique idea and armed with a dream, Today the Pushkar bagh nestles close to the ground, almost blending with the surrounding landscape - it has not only become a tourist destination but also an economic hub from which a large portion of the neighboring villages draw their sustenance. The Pushkar Bagh is an ideal base to explore Indian desert life, culture and landscape of breathtaking beauty. It offers a stark and contrasting desert experience. Within The Pushkar Bagh timeless horizons, you will find yourself one with nature. What better way to spend a day than on camel back, see herds of cattle and sheep roaming around, sometimes grazing, sometimes wandering, as if under the watchful eye of a greater shepherd in a cloud-less sky. Watch village children ambling off to school, while their mothers rustle up their afternoon meal on a 'Chullah' (typical village kitchen fireplace made of clay) fired by dung as bio-fuel. And as the sun takes a bow behind the dunes, something inside tells you that this is your sanctuary... and theirs. THE PUSHKAR BAGH Located in the heart of the sand dune region of Rajasthan outskirt of the ancient city of Pushkar between Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur and Bikaner, the Resort is a hidden gem - very quaint and pleasant, a green oasis in the desert - designed and built in the style of a heritage Mahal (mansion) against the backdrop of a desert landscape. Converting barren land into an oasis was not an easy task. Local architecture was studied at great length before formulating a design for Pushkar Bagh. You'll see that the vernacular elements have been contextualized so that they can breathe and exude an ambience of desert ethos. Care has been taken to draw a distinction between imitation and inspiration. Subtly woven into this rustic expression are technology and services that offer comfort levels expected by the contemporary traveler. The intention to make the interiors warm and comfortable in contrast to the earthy and rugged exteriors has led to the blossoming of a boutique environment which has retained the original beauty and royalty of Rajasthan in its pink send stone structure. The ambience at once makes you fall in love with the place where a curious traveler would like to stay and break a long journey. It is not a super luxury resort Yet, it offers most creature comforts that a modern traveller could wish for. Everything is very clean and tidy. Throughout the resort the atmosphere is relaxed and enchanting. There are two courtyards where the only noise pollution is the chitter-chatter of birds, a restaurant and a bar that open into courtyard.. . It's atmospheric to dine out in an open courtyard and feast on mouth watering cuisine that offers both local and world flavors while folk musicians set the tempo around a crackling fire Beyond this are the living quarters called Rawla's - an area that has cottages, thatched roof-top sit outs, swimming pool and massage rooms overlooking an orchid. Accommodation is in en-suite rooms which are cosy and comfortable, with doors that open onto their own little patios set amidst the greenery of trees and landscaping. The thatched roofs draw inspiration from the local 'dhani'(the village hut). The interiors have smooth stucco plaster, patterned mosaic floors, customised furniture and rugs, traditional 'Khats' (charpoys) have been converted into sofas, curtains and bed covers have been custom made - all of them being very specific to this desert region of Marwar. The staff are all local boys who are very helpful, friendly and anticipate your needs . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pushkar Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pushkar Bagh Hotel Pushkar
The Hotel Pushkar
The Resort Pushkar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing