We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!”
Review of The Pushkar Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pushkar Bagh
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Pushkar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the Pushkar Bagh on way to Jaipur from Jodhpur on our Rajasthan road trip. The place worked for us as we were looking only for an overnight stay. It's built on a vast expanse of land, has a sprawling garden lawn and a decent-ish restaurant. But the quality of the construction of cottages and their maintenance left a lot to be desired. The huts are rustic and the decor does not really exude luxury.

Our two chief issues with this hotel were (1) we spotted a rat in one of the rooms and (2) there was an issue with availability of hot water. Both these are pretty basic requirements and one would expect this resort to not have such issues. Apart from this, the property is extremely difficult to locate. Would advise travellers to call beforehand and take precise directions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    48
    22
    22
See reviews for
73
117
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wonderful service! Some of the best food we had eaten in all of India! Beautiful, clean and unique! Perfect stop! The staff was hands on without being over bearing. Made us feel like we were home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed one night recently. What a delight to be greeted by a dancing camel, horn player, singing, and flower petals tossed over our heads. The property is charming but the rooms are very rustic - dim lighting, cement floors, hard beds, no TV, etc. I find this relaxing but it is not for everyone. Good news is that you are hardly ever in your room and when you are, you'll probably be exhausted and fall asleep quickly. Between trips to the town and the lakeside ceremony in the evening, the entertainment in the dining area (dancing, puppet show, live musicians!) and sitting outside in the peaceful evening, you won't be in the room awake for long. Food was decent - buffet same as we found in so many other hotels in India. Biggest problem was NO hot water for showers.

Room Tip: Rooms 108 and 109 back up to another hotel's kitchen and it can be quite noisy late afternoon th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSeaweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagan, Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed two nights when on business elsewhere in Pushkar at the time of the Camel Fair.
The property is one of a number run by a delightful gentleman who can trace his lineage back to Rajastahni Royalty (Enjoyed your company, Mahindra).
The property is still being improved and has recently had a nice looking pool built. Sadly not quite ready for water at the time of my visit, but it will be a great addition.
The property is designed on rustic Rajastahni cultural lines and looks delightful. The rooms are well appointed (I didn't see inside a tent) and clean. The food in the large food hall is nice, but a possible area for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The place was generally nice, but I expect to have some form of heating in the tents when it gets to 50F at night. Visited during the camel fair and they provided a camel cart transportation to and from the fair since it isn't walking distance to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripppper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Loved staying here. Stayed here during the Pushkar Fair and though booked for a luxury tent opted for a cottage on arrival. Cottages were kind of basic but very roomy and clean - had a problem with hot water but due to the hot weather this really didnt matter.
The staff offered excellent service, free wi fi in the lobby area. Complimently Camel carts ran all day to get to and from the fair. Buffet lunch was excellent - better than the breakfast and dinner. Served both Indian and a form of western offerings. Provided a puppet show and other entertainment in the evenings. Gardens / grounds very, very tidy and lit up at night - very beautiful. Prices are up at this time of the year because of the fair but still would have been happy to spend a further few days here in the peaceful surroundings..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I was really looking forward to our stay at Pushkar Bagh as read so many great reviews. Booked 1 night via Expedia however due to a travel problem we had to delay our visit by 1 day. We advised the resort who promptly responded and said no problem however there would be a slight increase in tariff! When we checked in we were shown to a basic tent, originally booked a deluxe cottage, my heart sunk, beds were hard and tent was cold at night! I was very upset at checkout when charged more than original tariff for a tent! I expected a small surcharge not double the original fee. This experience left a bad taste for me after a great visit to Pushkar.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
3.3 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts
Ananta Spa & Resorts
#4 of 42 in Pushkar
954 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Greenhouse Resort
The Greenhouse Resort
#11 of 42 in Pushkar
151 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bhanwar Singh Palace
Bhanwar Singh Palace
#14 of 42 in Pushkar
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
Aaram Baagh Pushkar
#12 of 42 in Pushkar
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
#10 of 42 in Pushkar
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dera Masuda
Dera Masuda
#13 of 42 in Pushkar
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pushkar Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pushkar Bagh

Property: The Pushkar Bagh
Address: Motisar Link Road | Village Ghanehera, Pushkar 305022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pushkar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pushkar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pushkar Bagh 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With five star luxury fort and palace hotels mushrooming across the state of Rajasthan, not many young Rajput men gave thought to preserving the real way of life in the desert and sharing it with those who care to travel and see behind the veil of make believe. Kunwar Mahendra Rathore, a direct descendant of the Thakurs of (Rajliya), thought of doing this. To him the location was ideal - an area far, far away from the sounds and sights of urban chaos and closer to the captivating quietude of rural Rajasthan. He dreamed of creating an experience in the area that was not quite the regular heritage hotel one often finds in Rajasthan today. Mahendra wished The Pushkar Bagh (symbolizing Garden in the local dialect) - to become a desert destination known for its culture and surroundings by ushering in a movement to preserve the local heritage, culture, flora and fauna. Firmly in the saddle with his unique idea and armed with a dream, Today the Pushkar bagh nestles close to the ground, almost blending with the surrounding landscape - it has not only become a tourist destination but also an economic hub from which a large portion of the neighboring villages draw their sustenance. The Pushkar Bagh is an ideal base to explore Indian desert life, culture and landscape of breathtaking beauty. It offers a stark and contrasting desert experience. Within The Pushkar Bagh timeless horizons, you will find yourself one with nature. What better way to spend a day than on camel back, see herds of cattle and sheep roaming around, sometimes grazing, sometimes wandering, as if under the watchful eye of a greater shepherd in a cloud-less sky. Watch village children ambling off to school, while their mothers rustle up their afternoon meal on a 'Chullah' (typical village kitchen fireplace made of clay) fired by dung as bio-fuel. And as the sun takes a bow behind the dunes, something inside tells you that this is your sanctuary... and theirs. THE PUSHKAR BAGH Located in the heart of the sand dune region of Rajasthan outskirt of the ancient city of Pushkar between Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur and Bikaner, the Resort is a hidden gem - very quaint and pleasant, a green oasis in the desert - designed and built in the style of a heritage Mahal (mansion) against the backdrop of a desert landscape. Converting barren land into an oasis was not an easy task. Local architecture was studied at great length before formulating a design for Pushkar Bagh. You'll see that the vernacular elements have been contextualized so that they can breathe and exude an ambience of desert ethos. Care has been taken to draw a distinction between imitation and inspiration. Subtly woven into this rustic expression are technology and services that offer comfort levels expected by the contemporary traveler. The intention to make the interiors warm and comfortable in contrast to the earthy and rugged exteriors has led to the blossoming of a boutique environment which has retained the original beauty and royalty of Rajasthan in its pink send stone structure. The ambience at once makes you fall in love with the place where a curious traveler would like to stay and break a long journey. It is not a super luxury resort Yet, it offers most creature comforts that a modern traveller could wish for. Everything is very clean and tidy. Throughout the resort the atmosphere is relaxed and enchanting. There are two courtyards where the only noise pollution is the chitter-chatter of birds, a restaurant and a bar that open into courtyard.. . It's atmospheric to dine out in an open courtyard and feast on mouth watering cuisine that offers both local and world flavors while folk musicians set the tempo around a crackling fire Beyond this are the living quarters called Rawla's - an area that has cottages, thatched roof-top sit outs, swimming pool and massage rooms overlooking an orchid. Accommodation is in en-suite rooms which are cosy and comfortable, with doors that open onto their own little patios set amidst the greenery of trees and landscaping. The thatched roofs draw inspiration from the local 'dhani'(the village hut). The interiors have smooth stucco plaster, patterned mosaic floors, customised furniture and rugs, traditional 'Khats' (charpoys) have been converted into sofas, curtains and bed covers have been custom made - all of them being very specific to this desert region of Marwar. The staff are all local boys who are very helpful, friendly and anticipate your needs . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pushkar Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pushkar Bagh Hotel Pushkar
The Hotel Pushkar
The Resort Pushkar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing