We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strange hotel in strange town”
Review of Jagat Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jagat Palace
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Pushkar
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very strange hotel in strange town”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pushkar is really a dump. As far as I could tell we stayed at the best hotel in town; actually sort of on the outskirts of town. It seems like a very old hotel. But I'm actually not sure it is. Room was pretty spacious and bathroom also ok. Previous reviews have said it's dirty. Obviously they haven't stayed at dirty hotels. But it's not clean as you expect from a hotel in this price range. Food there was terrible - so actually sub standard of the hotel. The hotel consists of two separate but identical buildings. Two big lounges (one with wifi) and two big dinning halls with buffet. We were dinning all by ourselves in the huge and strangely decorated dinning room together with four waiters and one cashier who all just stared at us. We sort of felt like we were in a movie and I joked that we would be part of the buffet the next day. Actually my friend didn't find that funny. But truth be told the staff is actually really friendly and well meaning. The hotel just has a strange vibe. But I suppose it's actually pretty consistent with the vipe of the town.

The hotel is very well meaning Electricity kept coming and going but can't necessarily fault the hotel for that. Happens in the best of places in India.
If you really insist on going to Pushcar I suppose this is the best place to stay. However I would recommend that if you really want to see Pushkar you do it without overnight stay.
Tip: My friend got an ayurvedic full body massage, her breasts included. So if you don't appreciate that perhaps refrain from a massage here. Wouldn't count on being able to communicate it beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    108
    76
    43
    23
See reviews for
51
127
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, booked by a travel agent. Strange place
The owners have a five and a no star accommodation in Pushkar. They seem to have invested in the hotel buildings and then decided to run it on a shoestring, cutting out all possible costs whilst remaining open
Nice gardens. Nice, If dirty pool. Reasonable rooms but huge cost savings make the staff surly and the food is truly awful. We had 3 breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food is really bad. Rice and bread are stale and tasteless. Dal soup was thin yellow water and the Kashmiri vegetable curry had curdled and gone sour. Terrible food
I tried to get the Wi-Fi working for three days. I sat outside and inside the Reservations office and begged. No good. The Reservations Manager, Mr Amid was unable to helpt I suspect that they had not paid their ISP so there was no bandwidth available. I wrote to the owner begging for help but my letter was ignored
Unpleasant walk into town and dangerous walking back in the dark
This place is probably the best in Pushkar but I would never stay there again. I would prefer not to go to Pushkar again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muffinthemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pushkar hotels

Southport
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pushkar, for a supposed holy place was an absolute dump. On the outskirts of the town there must have been 10's of thousands of plastic bag everywhere. Judging by the depth and range of the animal droppings, the so-called famous cattle and camel fair must be held daily. Not a place to stop for long. When we got to the hotel it was gorgeous with very large rooms and great fresco's painted everywhere. The staff where very helpful, but there was no water to make tea. It did have free internet and we enjoyed our one night there. Being a holy city there is no meat and no alcohol, but as long as you are discrete, you can drink what you like in your room and no problem putting the empties in the bin. The vegetarian food was not a problem and was very tasty. I can recommend the hotel with no problem, but not the town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
207 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Once inside, it is so beautiful. Outside is a bit like a desert (i.e. the parking lot and beyond as it is a bit set back from the road).
Food was average for India (still good but not as good as other places)
Great service from the desk and restaurant.
Wifi was free but went off and on and off.

Room Tip: Room 311! best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalborg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Staying in this hotel I have experienced real India in Maharaja times . It all starts as soon as you get saluted by the doorman .The rooms are fantastically decorated with old style furniture to make you feel as if you are the Maharaja . If you know what is good for you ask to have your breakfast in the garden . With the peacocks chanting in the distance you will have the best breakfast with atmosphere imaginable . Pushkar it self is an adventure but here you live in it's midst .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundaysytmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed with my group at Pushkar Jagat Singh palace from 28 Feb to 1st March. The beautiful transplant Heritage is a unique Hotel for those who love to Heritage of Rajasthan. Real Gold work is fascinating. spacious Rooms with balcony and larger bathroom . Tea makers , English furniture makes your stay like a early 20th century House of a Nobleman.

Beside the room, restaurants lobby.the garden and swimming pool for other activities in Jagat palace. Hotel is located with in walking I distance to Pushkar Holy lake and Ghats.
Hotel is in Pushkar Holy city that's why it is pure vegetarian and Non alcoholic. Be prepared to eat vegetarian food and fresh juice.

I don't Hesitate to recommend theTA readers as it is value for money

Room Tip: Rooms in first wing or second wings are better. I prefer second wing because of free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udaipurmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel out of the town, 5 minutes walk.  An old converted palace type building. Rather like staying in a museum. The rooms are large, painted ceilings and old, mismatched furniture but fine, although I do think they will probably be quite cold in Winter. They have ceiling fans and air conditioning.
Lots of hot water, tea and coffee making facilities. Soap dispenser instead of the small bottles.We stayed in room 311 which is a "deluxe" room and has a small terrace with a lovely view of the mountains and other buildings in Pushkar.
No eggs or meat or alcohol in Pushkar but the food was fine. We stayed clear of the buffet and dined a la carte. Depends on how much you want to eat really.
No wifi in the room, only in the "lobby" - which was impossible to use when there was a large group staying here and it appears to be a hotel of large groups - easy parking for the buses.
Lovely gardens and pool area. A very big Hotel. Staff were all very pleasant but we do tip and have found that in all the Hotels, tip and you get treated like royalty.
If we stayed in Pushkar again we would probably want to stay in the town, possibly overlooking the lake

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311 which was very quie. A large room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pushkar Palace
Hotel Pushkar Palace
#22 of 42 in Pushkar
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts
Ananta Spa & Resorts
#4 of 42 in Pushkar
929 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Greenhouse Resort
The Greenhouse Resort
#11 of 42 in Pushkar
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brahma Horizon
Hotel Brahma Horizon
#7 of 42 in Pushkar
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pushkar Fort
Pushkar Fort
#15 of 42 in Pushkar
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
#10 of 42 in Pushkar
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Palace

Property: Jagat Palace
Address: Ajmer Road | Behind Ramdwara, Pushkar 305022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Pushkar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jagat Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JAGAT PALACE It is restored from 700 year old Fort and named as "Jagat Palace". It has 82 AC/Heated Super Deluxe Rooms have been tastefully furnished in art-deco style to blend with the Rajasthan art and architecture. It has Two Restaurants, one Conference hall & one Swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jagat Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing