We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bundelkhand Riverside
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. Comfortable large rooms, with view of beautiful river. Spacious grounds. Had stomach problems and the manager was so kind and attentive, providing appropriate medication and light foods(on the house). Beautiful location, and interesting historic buildings a short autorickshaw ride away

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location overlooking the river, although it is some distance from the town centre if you needed to walk. The hotel complex is in a fascinating old heritage building. It didn't look its best when we arrived in the dark but its charms were revealed in the morning.

The rooms were OK (just) with antiquated electricals (looked like they should be in a museum), large gaps under the doors which allowed wildlife to come inside, basic bathrooms and old bedding. Heritage is one thing, but old and past its use by date is something else. The room terrace overlooking the river was very small and a bit claustrophobic being enclosed in metal railings. The garden on the river side was quite overgrown and unkempt with a rickety wire fence detracting from the view. All this could be easily improved to enhance the view to the river and some basic upgrading of bedding and electrical appliances would be a simple step.

The restaurant was average, catering mainly for the tourist palate with everything underflavoured and uninspiring.

On the positive side, this is a relaxing place to chill out. The roof terrace has wonderful views of the river and looking towards the town and temples. The architecture is amazing and the grounds inside the building are lovely.

Staff are friendly enough but we did feel a bit hassled to leave our room early as they were preparing for a big event the following day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent one night in this lovely spot on the river.
No stress, people are smiling and director Ajay is great.
Very large rooms, furnishing of India, music and campfire in the evening,we'll come back with friends and we'll stay more than one night.
Orcha is a delightful place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coustet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Very calm and nice stay.
Wonderful view if you stay at a room with a river view. That was what I love about the hotel: river view.
Staff's very kind.
Restaurant is not that good: is dark, hot, without illumination, a little poor and food is not very tasty (but it's OK). It's better have lunch at the external area and have dinner at an other restaurant.
Rooms are a little old, but it's OK, too.
Hotel is like a farm, it's better if you have a car to get in. Is not that close to the city center.
It's a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dri_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is located pretty close to town. It has a lovely roof terrace and you can see the extensive grounds and the beautiful river.

The rooms were basic, no hot water and there were ticks in our bedsheets. I am glad I took a sleeping bag. The rooms were freezing, we requested a heater but it only worked for 30 seconds and then switched off.

Great food, good breakfast.

We spend New Years eve here and enjoyed good food, fireworks and a extreemly loud disco. The place looked beautiful all light up and the staff made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessiecar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

+ The hotel has very beautiful view to the river and it's located in a quiet and nice area.
+ Friendly stuff

- The room was very dark and quite cold at night, so we feel like living in some basement, and in the bathroom it took me sometime to take my cloths off as it was really cold there. Maybe during other seasons it's ok, but during the winter it's cold and not comfortable at all. They gave us a heater, but it was ancient so the smell was just terrible. Great they have at least tea-kettles in the rooms so you can warm yourself with hot tea :)))

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Oksanchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly this beautiful buiilding characterised by detailed artisan decorations is not a heritage hotel but an exervise in nostalgia for the architecture of times gone by.. Built in the nineties it copies the maharaja's nineteenth century hunting lodge which is also on the property. We were entertained in royal fashion by his nephew who organised a trio of traditional musicians while sitting in the beautiful gardens around a bonfire. Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skoonveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
1.3 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
0.9 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#4 of 9 in Orchha
13 reviews
7 mi away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hare Krishna
Hotel Hare Krishna
#9 of 9 in Orchha
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundelkhand Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundelkhand Riverside

Address: Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range: $46 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bundelkhand Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bundelkhand Riverside is built on 50 acres of land on the banks of the River Betwa in Orchha and the old house, which still exists, was used as a hunting lodge cum guest house. The present retreat is an addition to the old construction that dates back to 1895. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bundelkhand Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundelkhand Riverside Orchha
Bundelkhand Riverside Hotel Orchha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing