We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and ambience”
Review of Sheesh Mahal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orchha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheesh Mahal
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is right in the heritage site and has good connectivity to all the places of attractions... do visit the sound and light show in the evenings... Live music during dinner was fabulous...
The overall experience was little low key but but the service was good and turned out to be value for money....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Creativevibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Good ambience , hospitality, food and a must to go place....owned by MP tourism...go for a great and a traditional experience! !
We went there and had lunch...big menue with varieties. ..ordered all north-indian..delicious food...per person cost appx. Rs 250-300....gave good amount of tip too...not et all noisy so could chat and gossip easily...they had buffet too but we ordered through A-La Carte...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carameldudette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Palace was was built in the ancient times hence we were prepared to stay at a place without modern amenities and since the weather was not so warm at that time we nejoyed our stay.
The rooms were large and Royale and airy hence it was all good.

Thank Chururaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Maharani room for two nights. The only thing I regret is that we didn't stay for one or two more nights. I think we payed about 4000 per night, which was about the same as the modest but good hotel we stayed at in Delhi.

The staff treated us well, both for room service and breakfast and dinner. Both the palace and the town itself were so pleasant that it seemed almost magical (this was not our first trip to India). I have to add that the weather at the end of February/early March was perfect.

My wife has a minor disability, but she was able to climb up and down the steep steps to the town, There is a road to the hotel accessible by automobile, and then there are only a few steps to the hotel lobby.

It was a bit frustrating to book through the state tourism authority, but it was worth it.

-- Steve

Room Tip: Some of the less expensive rooms seem to get mixed reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First - if you are reviewing this because you are considering to go to Orchha, then let me first encourage you to do so. Orchha is certainly worth a journey!

Secondly - please note that I judge hotels restaurants etc in relation to its price, the alternatives forvthe same money in comparable areas.

The Sheesh Mahal is a beautiful Palace and the Hotel is attached to it. The entrance is great and we took the Majestic Maharaja suite. The room is extremely large, with an enormous bathroom. the luxury is the space given to you and less the finest details of the interior. In front of the suite you have a beautiful additional room with pillow lounge to overlook the other palaces and a table to arrange for a candle light dinner.
Some traveller reported that the staff wasn't great. In our case, I can say that they have been very friendly, reactive and helpful. Train tickets were arranged, transport, candle light dinner etc.
The suite costs 4999 plus taxes. you can book it through the state owned website reservation system. if that fails, be prepared for some lengthy emails :-) to ensure your suite is confirmed.

From Jhansi station you get there in 40min by tuk tuk (225 rupee - fix price - as indicated on a board at the station). Returning you pay usually a bit more).

If you found this review useful, thx for letting me know!

Room Tip: maharaja suite - what else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Sheesh Mahal. Room was very nice and big with lots of character. Though there is a bath the geyser is not large enough to have a bath.If I had known it was government run possibly would not have stayed there as they are usually pretty awful places. The staff were pleasant if a little slow.All in all would go back. Also easy to walk round town from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panddkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in Orchha while driving back to Nagpur from Delhi. Initially had planned to stay at 'the Orchha resort' but it being the Valentine's Day, all the premium hotels were booked in Orchha. Disappointed, we thought of driving back to Jhansi and spend the night there, just then the GPS displayed the govt run Sheesh Mahal. We thought of giving it a shot and what a good decision it turned out to be!
The property is a part of the Orchha Palace and has been taken over by the MP Tourism Board. Fortunately for us the whole place had been renovated sometime back, so it was all very well kept. We booked the Maharaja suite and it was simply majestic in terms of the area and decor. The furnishings were also tastefully chosen unlike any govt run hotel.
The staff is a li'l better than what you generally expect the state tourism employees to be. The musical evenings organized in the dining hall are splendid.
Food is good enough with both veg and non-veg option easily available.
In a nutshell, we would go back to Sheesh Mahal relying on the first experience :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yashpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
0.4 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
0.4 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
2 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#4 of 9 in Orchha
13 reviews
7.5 mi away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheesh Mahal

Address: Jahangir Mahal, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range: $72 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sheesh Mahal Orchha
Sheesh Mahal Hotel Orchha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing