We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed an extra night”
Review of Monarch Rama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monarch Rama
Ranked #3 of 20 Orchha B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“I stayed an extra night”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am on a bicycle trek across India so I have stayed at fancy hotels amd less so for over a month. I arrived in Orchha very tired and it began to rain. The first hotel on the main road after the second city gate is the Hotel Monarch Rama. The manager shouted to me from the entrance. I asked how much. He replied US $8 and that made me suspicious. You get what you pay for. But he said look at the room first. So I did. Clean. Hot water and I didn't have to wait thirty minutes for it. I saw a mosquito fly into the room. The manager killed it. Cable TV with premium English language stations. All for $8. I have paid a lot more for less in India. The cons: No backup generator when power goes out. And no WI-Fi but the manager informed me the government will approve the Wi-Fi permit this month. Yes! In India you need government permission to get Wi-Fi! I liked it so much I spent an extra day in Orchha. I had a basic room but they have fancier for more $$$. Five minute walk to Jahangir Palace, Main Market, and Rama Mandir. Manager gave me special directions for a road not on maps to save me ten miles bicycling to my next destination in Lalitpur!

Room Tip: I heard some other guests saying that they had premium rooms they were pleased with: 106 and 107. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
45
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

my boy friend and I stayed there for 3 nights, it is very close to the main street, clean, hot water, good service and reasonable price, also there is a computer with internet in the entrance hall. we got a nice clean room for 400 rps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiiiirraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed in a single room for two nights. Very spacious room, 24hours hot shower, TV and the Internet access from a computer in the lobby provided. If you did your laundry you can hang your cloths on the rooftop as well. The price was also reasonable compared with other hostels in the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ekusuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Monarch Rama Guest House in Nov 2012 for one night. This GH located just 2-3 min walk from the main street. There were many guest houses are nearby but we chose this because we thought this GH was worth staying. After negotiating with the manager, we got a nice clean room for 400rps. The room had TV, 24 hurs hot shower and big enough for 2 persons.
I have been traveling for a long time in India but I couldn't find the room with TV and it only cost 400rps. I think it was quite reasonable.
The staffs of this GH gave us good guidance what to do, where to eat etc... and also they were very friendly.
As I mentioned above, there are many guest houses are in Orchha, but you may start from this guest house!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inekichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is very great ! We stay a few days and the room and peoples were great.
Clean room, hot water, tv and good bed.
And if you want AC, it's also possible.
A better choice than some other places for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was very clean and quiet , with hot shower, telly and large spacious room, internet service in the lobby as well as parking ., it is very close to the main sites and market also close to very nice restaurants,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 141natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orchha hotels
0.0 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
0.0 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#7 of 9 in Orchha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 9 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Temple View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Rama

Property: Monarch Rama
Address: Main Road, Orchha, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monarch Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing