We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best view in Orchha” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort View Guest House
Ranked #15 of 19 Orchha B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best view in Orchha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fort View is keeping itself up with room renovations and clean up to offer good rooms at a variety of prices. Its great location, in the middle of town, and great situation, on the river channel, makes for a good combination of convienience and privacy. Treat yourself to the maharaja room for the best view room in town! Friendly owners and staff, and help when you need it, made this place a home away from home for the 10 days we stayed.

Room Tip: tv,s here are a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waves555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The first room I was shown when I checked in was fairly grim. Dark, worn, not particularly clean, full of mosquitos and completely lacking in any kind of charm. In fact it was pretty depressing! However, when I asked to up-grade to a better room, my second room was excellent. This one was much cleaner, better cared for and had a much more pleasant atmosphere - its biggest selling point was the view. This room had a full view out to the fort with a pleasant little day bed which made a perfect place to chill out with a book. One big plus for this place was the staff - they seemed to genuinely want to make their guests happy. When I complained about mosquitos in the room they went out and bought a net for the room, when I complained that the curtains didn't provide adequate privacy, they fixed them. So, on the basis of the service provided I can recommend this place but be aware the quality of the rooms vary considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the back rooms with a view (though these do cost more - they are worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's a budget hotel, and some of the rooms are very basic. Having said that, most of the guest houses in Orchha are very basic and many have no outside windows (which may be a bonus given the incessant racket from the traffic on the main road).

Most of the rooms at Fort View are set back from the road and are around a pleasant garden with a terrace which has fabulous fort views. There are 3 more expensive rooms right at the back which have huge picture windows and sit outs - bargain hard, but these are worth having. We stayed 4 nights and got the best room on the second floor with its own private balcony.

The room is very large and has a marble bed, a/c and tv, although we didn't use the a/c. The hot water from the geyser was a bit hit and miss - once it was steaming, but most times its tepid. The bathroom is large and has a bath tub - but this is india - so there are no taps above the bath to fill it!!!! The bathroom did start to pong a bit so keep the door closed. Bring a torch as there are frequent power cuts.

Orchha itself was extemely disappointing. The palace grounds were lovely, and you can actually take a long walk in peace & quiet. Otherwise the village was the usual mess of dust dirt, filth, horrendous insane traffic etc. It was componded in its ugliness by a lot of the fronts of houses/shops/businesses missing as if there has been an earthquake. We were told it was the government destroying encroachment near the road. Whatever the reason the result is shocking - especially for a place which hopes to attract tourists. We came hoping to hang out for a few days and relax. We couldn't wait to leave.

We preferred Mandu for a relaxing hang out and compared to Mandu it was really disappointing to see that Orchha does not seem to care for or maintain its monuments. Given Mandu only attracts a few foreign tourists, and Orchha gets lots of tourist buses - where is the ticket money going?

Room Tip: The 3 at the back have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel with nice people running it. We stayed three nights in Orchha and loved our time here. Would definitely stay again. Hotel has great views over the fort and the rooms were clean and had 24 hour hot water.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the view and didnt regret it at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksonbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Orchha is a very little place and in general u can not expect luxury here. This guest house is located in the main road (maybe the only one) in the city. The owner is very nice and the view of the Fort from the room in the second floor (I think is the best room-view) is very, very nice. The breakfast is just ok and is included in the price. Around the hotel are a lot of restaurants so u will be fine. The hotel don't provide Internet but they can contact u with a young guy who provide USB-Internet for affordable price. Almost all the city sights in Orchha are a walking distance :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sasu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A good range of rooms to choose from. We had one of the big rooms with great view. Large bathrooms and hot water and friendly staff. Central located and still quiet. All the rooms around a small, quiet courtyard away from the street. (main road)

Room Tip: The room on the first floor with the marble bed was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchha, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

great hotel with a very nice view a relaxing atmosphere and a very friendly staff. can very much be recommended. the rooms have what is necessary - including working hot water and blankets.
it is layed back but still close to charming orcha.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msqgeted12-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
0.3 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#5 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Shrinath Palace
Hotel Shrinath Palace
#9 of 14 in Jhansi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort View Guest House

Property: Fort View Guest House
Address: Main Road Orchha | Main Road Orchha, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel fort view orchha is good place in orchha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fort View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing