We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people, lovely rooms”
Review of Shri Mahant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shri Mahant Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Orchha B&B and Inns
Orchha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good people, lovely rooms”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our room was nice and clean with warm bedding and continually running hot water (other hotels so far only have had hot water for about 2mins before cutting out!) The roof terrace has a perfect scenic view of all of Orchha's temples and is the best place to watch the sun go down. The staff have been very helpful and friendly and if i ever return to Orchha i will definitely stay here again! We ate mainly in the town but the breakfast sandwich we had here (and the Chi) was very nice!
Dave and Joe of Nottingham England

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Multi-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Unfotunetly this hotel is not well located in Orcha to reap the benefits of 'location'.
Instead it is up a hill, a good 10 walk away from the main action in town...however the loaction does place you into a more 'real' neighbourhood than the classic tourist zone, and the local kids playing in the bricks on-route into town are delightful!!
To add to its dissapointments, the hotel has no communual area, (no restaurant or breakfast room) and this is a let-down for the classic backpacking traveller in need of a cup of Chai in the morning!
Rooms are quite large and spacious with good lighting and a little garden area (with lots of frogs at night) - but they need a little more cleaning (evidence of mice in the first room we saw) and maintanance in order to gain better rankings!
The hotel definately has potential - small changes and more efforts could make this place better...

Room Tip: Check a few rooms before you choose; chose the cleanest looking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannieandYianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orchha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We wanted to go to Shri Mahant Guesthouse but our rickshaw took us to this hotel instead. It was dark so difficult to find out where he drived us.
This hotel is a bit outside the village, exept for the view from the roof top (but all hotels have roof top with view) it was nothing intressting there. The reception was not friendly and instead very cold. The room was noisy and absolutly not cosy. The roof top restaurant was not a restaurant but, just that, a roof top.
We left after one night when we discovered that it was the wrong place for us!
The price for one double room was 500rs and we got ill after breakfast!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nakenfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We called one month in advance and booked a room for 4 nights. They said it was nice and clean and confirmed the booking. The guy on the phone was really nice.
We got sick at the previous destinations and couldn’t travel to Orchha on the planned date. When we called to explain we would be delayed but would still pay the missed nights, they said our room was no longer available, they were “rebooking” us somewhere else. That was shocking. Knowing the hotel situation in India I wanted to CHOOSE where I’m going to spend my nights, not just be sent anywhere. After we argued with them they suddenly said the room was available again.

To be fair, when we got there they gave us the room before cleaning it, the previous guest had left not long before, but it was very dirty.
The beds were made, but with dirty sheets from the previous guest, I don’t know if they had intention of changing them. While we were there, they came in, sweapt and cleaning the coffee table. They did have the intention of cleaning the room, but when we saw the shower THAT DID IT FOR US. It had a thick yellow crust in it with incorporated hair and dead insects. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in months. We immediately headed out to find a cleaner and more pleasant place to stay in.

We had booked the most expensive room hoping for something good, but that was not the case. The hotel and rooms are not pleasant.
The other reviews here say that the hotel was renovated in May, that’s why we chose to go there, but it really doesn’t seem like it was.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuriJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel (not to be confused with the guesthouse of the same name) is a short walk out of the center. Rooms vary in price and quality, but the beds look clean. My room had a bathtub and I wasn´t quick enough tor realize that there was no shower head or anything, but the bathtub itself looked so grotty that I wouldn´t have a bath in it for a lot of money. The building is also full of mosquitos, and my room got extraordinarily cold in a december night. I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabaidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Motel was newly renovated and I suspect we were near the first clients since renovation. Rooms were comfortable and spacious whilst staff were first class at meeting our needs and answering our questions.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orchha hotels
0.0 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Rama
Monarch Rama
#3 of 20 in Orchha
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 9 in Orchha
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#8 of 9 in Orchha
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shri Mahant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shri Mahant Hotel

Property: Shri Mahant Hotel
Address: Laxmi Temple Road, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shri Mahant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing