We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonali Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonali Regency
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bhopal
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Although this hotel was located in a lane behind Hamidia Road, the stay there was very good. The complimentary breakfast however could be improved. Only a minimum no. of channels were offered on the television. Very courteous service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Baptist S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
resp sir\mam
thanks a lot for your great review it has been and always will be a pleasure to serve an esteemed guest like u
we look forward to serve u in the future
thanks again
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
18
24
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

ahh this was secon time i have been bhopal and this time i have to stay for more then five days i search and guess find hotel sonali near by station ,its quiet easy to get there when i first went to hotel the front staff is quick responding ,they r strict bt quiet helpful,specially mr tariq the manager of hotel he take care personally if i have any complain with services even my boss like this hotel who stay along with me ,when we have to go for local survey for our projects we need cab along with driver who know every thing about city area, they help me arrange a cab it allow me doing my work without waste of time i thnks them speciall for that help,very next time we need to come n stay at bhopal no wonder i will come back nd stay hotel sonali........food is good service very fast they say to get order in fifteen to twenty minutes they never delayed in that,it make my boss happy too.........good price.............value for my money
cool managment with flexible nature.

i always stay with this hotel coz ,it come to ur budget

Room Tip: hotel is on quiet side room front facing r much better sunlight direct come to u,with good ventila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dilshadkhan688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
resp sir\mam
thanks a lot for your review
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

As a foreign traveller, you're probably not staying in Bhopal to enjoy Bhopal. The Sonali Regency is conveniently located near the railway station, and Nadra bus stand on Hamidia Road, so it's useful for arriving, departing and day tripping.

The hotel itself is basic, grotty and overpriced for what you get. The rooms were shabby and not particularly clean, and I've had a better standard from budget hotels elsewhere in India for much lower prices. It's infected with the general unhealthy miasma of Bhopal. The staff tried to be helpful, but they're not very reliable: I'd booked in advance by telephone, but on arrival they had no record of it (though they had rooms available so I still got one easily enough). They did, however, manage to arrange a taxi for a day trip to Bhimbetka, which was good, and they gave me useful advice on how to get to Sanchi by bus.

The restaurant was OK, food edible although there are better alternatives nearby.

Its biggest selling point is its convenient location: don't expect much else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thephenocryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
resp sir\mam
thanks a lot for your review
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Its convenient and affordable. if that's the USP you are looking for then you could pick on Sonali regency. Its in the midst of busy streets and the location itself not so great if you are travelling with a family. Food is pretty average but then should you ask for more at that price in Bhopal, not sure?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prasanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
resp sir
thanks a million for your response -- it was a pleasure serving you and will be a matter of pride for us to serve you in your in the future also,
thanks again
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had stayed at hotel sonali in Bhopal in the second week of November. We had gone to Bhopal only with the intention of vising the sanchi Stupa's and had stayed in hotel sonali only for one night.

The hotel is located very close to the Bhopal railway station and since were travelling to and from by train the location of the hotel was extremely convinent. We reached the hotel at 10 am in the morning and found that the rooms was ready. The rooms are compact but clean and comfortable. The bed quality is also decent. The hotel has a restaurant however we found an excellent eatery called "Manohar Dairy" which was extremely close to the hotel and offered food options. There are not many other restaurants close to the hotel.

Since we had to visit the sanchi stupas on the same day we had requested for a car at the time of check in and the staff had promptly booked one for us.

I must say that the staff of the hotel are extremely helpful and couteous. The hotel has a 24 hours checkout policy and since the hotel was fully booked on the 2nd day we could get a room only for one night. We had to vacate the room at 10 am on the second day and had a train at 11.30 pm from Bhopal. We informed the same to the staff of the hotel and they not only arranged for keeping our luggage in their cloak room but also provided us with a sitting place in the lobby and arrange for an autorickshaw in night.

The stay at hotel sonali was extremely comfortable and I stongly recommend the same to our fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siddharth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
resp sir
thanks a million for your response -- it was a pleasure serving you and will be a matter of pride for us to serve you in your in the future also,
thanks again
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were arriving early in the morning (5.30am) and had called them the night before to book a room. The person on the phone said we would get a room when we got there in the morning - it would be for Rs. 750 - he gave us directions to the hotel and said he could send someone to pick us up as well.

When we arrived in the morning, the person at the reception refused to give us a room. He said they were not available. We waited for sometime and then he said he could give us the more expensive room (which he had ealier said was not available as all rooms were booked).

We then went around the railway station area looking for hotel rooms - all hotels (other than one) said they could not allow foreigners (still don't know whether this is true).

Later, some person at the other hotel told us that only three hotels in this area are allowed to accept foreigners - which is why they charge so much.

So be careful and get a written confirmation if you plan to stay in the railway station area. I would suggest looking for homestays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
resp sir

we at hotel sonali feel bad that we could not offer u a standard room 600/750 but would like to clear certain points

** WE DO NOT ACCEPT RESERVATION on mail or phone OF ANY GUEST FOR STANDARD AND EXECUTIVE (NON AC ROOMS) .... time and again we have cleared this we make it a point to tell u tht check these rooms on arrival......

** 600/750 ARE STANDARD ROOMS ATTACH LET-BATH WITH ALL BASIC FACILITIES and are the most basic rooms in the hotel
if u still believe this amount is expensive
pls check hotels adjoing us and the amount that they demand for rooms and the services wht they offer--- in return and wht upkeep they have
** ALL HOTELS ACCEPT FOREIGNERS THERE IS NO SUCH CHECK, PLS CHECK WITH GOVT SITES
**WE ARE 100% RELIABLE --- we do not accept reservation for NON AC ROOMS---WRITTEN OR VERBAL CONFIRMATION--- WILL NOT BE GIVEN -- IF U ARE for looking confirmed reservation PLS book PREMIUM OR SUITES
THANKS
SAMEER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bhopal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhopal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Adarsh Palace
Hotel Adarsh Palace
#23 of 43 in Bhopal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Bhopal
Courtyard Bhopal
#2 of 43 in Bhopal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jehan Numa Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sudarshan Palace
Hotel Sudarshan Palace
#31 of 43 in Bhopal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rajhans Regent
Rajhans Regent
#21 of 43 in Bhopal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Ashirwad
Hotel Grand Ashirwad
#16 of 43 in Bhopal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonali Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonali Regency

Property: Hotel Sonali Regency
Address: Hamidia Road | Radha Talkies Road, Bhopal 462001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bhopal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bhopal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonali Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All we try to provide u with comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonali Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing