We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 42 Hampi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! Beyond helpful staff, stunning location, clean spacious rooms. We had one off the bungalows over looking the rice paddies. A little more expensive than the other accommodation but well worth the splurge. Hire a bike from the guest house and explore the stunning scenery and culture that is surrounding. Loved the fact that any purchases were simply added to the room and there is a lovely vibe of peace and trust. Food is really yummy aswell!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MondooExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    118
    37
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
90
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Shanti Guesthouse, over the river in Hampi, is definintely the best place to stay in the area. We stayed 2 nights here at the start of our 3 week tour of South India, and looking back, our stay at Shanti was a trip highlight. After a walk through Hampi bazaar, a boat ride across the river, and another 10 minute walk on the other side, arriving at Shanti makes the effort well worth it. The location is excellent, the bungalows amazing with their swing seats out front, and the staff really lovely and friendly. We ate in the restuarant each night and the food was also excellent. For the price, we can't believe just how much we enjoyed our stay here!
If you are going to Hampi, stay here - you won't find better value or location for your rupee!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had been to this place in November, after attending our friend's weddinf in Raydurga. The road from Raydurga to this resort was pathetic. The road just looked like the one in the 'Dirt Mania' . Somehow we managed to reach there. Our expectations about this place was very low. But once we reached there, we felt it was worth going there. The place is v calm. We had taken a river side cottage. IT was very relaxing. We played in the water in the evening, It looked as though it was a private pool. The place looked so beautiful in the night. Since we along with one more couple who had come with us were the only Indians among the guests. We felt we were in a foreign country. They had various cousins Israeli, Continental, Chinese, Italian etc., I just love the Barbequed chicken there. Planning to visit this place again. Place was just awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShwethaRishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Excellent food by the chef, awesome view of fields and river from the common restaurant seating place.. Food is also not expensive. On the cheaper side. Same for room rents.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivektiwari1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

First of all , there are two shanthi guest houses in Hampi. One lies in the main Hampi (near Virupaksha Temple, not where you want to go) and the other one lies in Virapur Gaddi . So, don't get confused.

To reach here, you have to cross the Tungabhadra river using a ferry which costs Rs 10-15 per person (fare depends on mood of pilot :) ) .

The location is very serene , calm and picturesque. Enjoy the view of boulders, river and the paddy fields. Its really a nice place to relax far from the crowd in a village environment. The rooms and wash rooms are good as compared to Hampi standards.
We went in July , which is termed as "Off Season" and we got the best rooms for Rs 500. The same rooms cost 1200 in season. Please note that "On Season" and "Off Season" of Hampi depends on the inflow of foreigner tourists. It has nothing to do with the climate. The "On Season" is around new years when tourists visiting Goa , come to Hampi as well . At that time city is full of foreign tourists.

In my opinion, the best time to visit Hampi would be Rainy season only as the weather is nice and cool.

Pros :
1. Scenic View
2. Good Rooms

Cons :
1. It takes around 20 mins (15 mins walk..5 mins ferry) to reach Hampi
2. The last ferry is at 6:30 . So, you shud be back by then.
3. No "Hampi at Night"
4. No Restaurant . There is only one restaurant open in night at Virapur Gaddi.
5. No lighting at night. Carry a torch.
6. Frogs make a lot of noise at night. So u can't sit outside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sindbad_the_sail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were really impressed with Shanthi. We thought that it was really well managed, the food was good and they had a very cheap laundry service. However we did use their travel service to book a train ticket to Hyderabad and they charged us Rs500 commission which is excessive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

We decided on Shanthi Guest House inspite of it being the most expensive of similar guesthouses on Hampi island as it had been recommended by a friend. Not familiar with this territory we opted to go for a tried n tested place.

The location is unbeatable. Across the Tungabhabdra on Hampi Island, Virupapur Gadde. From our cottage No 36 ( ask for this if staying there) we could enjoy the view of paddy fields, lush green, swaying palms and the famous Hampi boulders beyond......Recommended HIGHLY for the view, 24x7 and free.......

The newer cottages are the only rooms worth staying at- neat and clean, decent-sized rooms, tiled bathrooms with shower and hand faucet, large twin beds with a mosquito net. Carry your own towels and sheets ( we did) as this is one dept Shanthi Guest House needs to improve. The garden view rooms should be AVOIDED. They come cheap but are dirty, smelly and mouldy.

The Staff, including Mr Krishna, the owner, is warm and friendly. However, don't expect frills and fancies. You will need to (and be told to) carry your own luggage; and food only when their kitchen is ready. Since the staff wakes up only by 7am ( as a reult of late nights by residents) the earliest you can hope to eat/drink something is 7.45am. No problem generally except in our case we wanted to leave early for sightseeing so as to beat the heat! Couldn't.....inspite of the owner having promised us breakfast at 7am.

The place is chilled out, great for relaxation but inconvenient if you want to wander to Hampi town every few hours. The wait for the boats to cross the river could range from 5-15 minutes .....the boats ferry passengers but also dogs and motorcycles. The former I dont mind, but the latter almost fractured my big toe! Plus, the last boat crossng is at 7pm which is a bother as it means you can't hang around at the sights or Hampi town in the evening.

Food: excellent pizzas, shashliks ( called shupidums), breakfast muesli...the Indian, not very good.

Have I confused you? Don't be...read this review carefully and then decide what is it you're going to Hampi for. And yes, a foreigner gets warmer smiles and prompter treatments than Indians :-(

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustOneLifetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
6.1 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini
Hotel Priyadarshini
#5 of 8 in Hospet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 42 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
0.2 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
0.6 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 42 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Property: Shanthi Guesthouse
Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing