We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just too hard to get to!”
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We wanted to stay at Shanthi across the Tungabhadra River, it looked so great on the website. But by the time we arrived, with the late train and the rickshaw driver who forgot to tell us he wasn't allowed to drive in Hampi (so we had to lug our bags for many blocks), there was a really big crowd, like more than 50, people waiting to cross the river in little boats. It was so inconvenient and exhausting to get there, and with all the crowd the promise of silence and peace seemed empty, that we decided to find a place in the village of Hampi. I couldn't recommend it but at least it was easy to get to!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christauria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Shanthi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 258 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2010

Despite not being able to find our reservations that we made a week before arriving, Krishna (one of the 2 brothers running the place) was able to honour his words and found a room for us in his packed guesthouse. Located across the river at Hampi, the guesthouse sits at the end of the small road, ideal for us to rest and recover in the calm and undisturbed environment after a long day of walking. The room was unremarkable though, with old bedsheets and pillows, although the mosquito net proved exceedingly useful in keeping out the large number of mozzies. The attached bathroom could do with some scrubbing and the yellowish towels need to be changed.
However, service there was at its best especially by Harmeet. The restaurant faced the paddy fields and was a lovely place to kick back with a book after a yummy breakfast. Try the mixed fruit muesli.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This place is filled with absolute drug hiders from the western world. A bunch of young hippies with their cocaine and drums . absolutely uncultured for thier age (20-25). Not being prejudice. Most Israelis with whom you dont feel comfortable,just beacause of their attitude,not able sleep at the night time among these drum sessions . when complained to the staffs, who doesn,t seems to be taking careof, as they would like to mingle with such groups for their late night relaxation. We are still wondring how come this place be rated on T.A . as # 1. at least a couple of reviews like this would compensate for the price we pay there. When we go to hampi Next time definitely we would walk around to make sure we choose the right place by looking at the property directly.

Apart from this there are few good things about this place, The food is better here than their rooms. probably they should convert this place to a total cafe with some more private lounges. that runs round the clock. We would not recommend this place for any one who is really interested in indian cultural site rather than to get astound.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gimmemoreIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

The views from the restaurant are fabulous, the food is good and the staff very professional. BUT, the rooms are tired, shabby and not clean. Cheap, yes. Good value, no. Also, this place seems to attract people who are finding themselves - which means lots of jabbering late into the night, occasional guitar and flute-playing attempts and a bit of a hippie-wanna-be scene that isn't what I'd been looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Galopexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and I were traveling to Hampi from Goa. We did not have a place to stay. We managed to make a last minute reservation with Shanti. After a room shuffle on the first night we settled in and enjoyed the amazing views. Everyone was really nice. Krishna was awesome. Try the Pizzas if you eat at their restaurant. Overall no complaints and they were very accommodating with us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgiebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Shanthi Guest House is one of the nicest places to stay in Hampi across the river! The relaxed vibe of Hampi hits you as soon as you get there, everything is really shanthi shanthi. The rooms are basic, but have everything you need......a comfortable bed with musquito net, bathroom with cold shower (but warm water buckets are happily provided) and toilet, but the best thing about the room is your patio with swingbed!! If you get one of the more expensive rooms you get THE BEST views you can imagine: rice paddies, rocks, amazing sunsets for free! ;-) (or you can get a cheaper room and sit in the restaurant and enjoy the same views)
I ended up staying here for 2.5 weeks and most of the time I just lay on the swingbed with a book (after 5 months of travling I deserved a break). Hampi's really worth exploring though, you can rent a bicycle, motorbike and do some great day trips around the area and there's also a lot to see by foot. When you come back to Shanthi Guest House after a "hard day out", the lovely and friendly staff will do anything to make you're stay as enjoyable as they can.. Food & drinks delivered to your swing or a nice dinner in the restaurant with the frogs in the paddies as background music, great!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My wife and I are both over 60 and this was our first stop on a two and a half month trip through Karnataka and Kerala. Having checked out many alternative places to stay on the net and in LP we decided on Shanthi Guest House. On balance, reports in Trip Advisor, which I used a lot, seemed positive and consistent over time. We weren't disappointed. The Kavala brothers, Krishna and Rao, gave us a warm welcome and a great room - no. 13 - with a view down to the river over the paddy fields. While the rooms are basic, they're clean and have a mosquito net, plus there's a patio out front with a swing bed. The power in Hampi is off from around 22:00 so take a torch as it's pitch dark in the room. If you're a light sleeper then the frogs might be a problem. But like the power, they seemed to shut down croaking at about 2 o'clock! As for food, we enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we ended up eating there every night. When time came to leave Rao organized an early morning crossing over the river for us by coracle so that we could catch our train from Hospet. What a great way to start our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeeDeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.9 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $26 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shanthi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing