We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanthi Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Clarks Inn Hampi(Hampi)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
68
125
43
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
125
43
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy fieldsacross the rivergarden facing roommosquito netenjoy the viewthe cottageslaid backplace to stayswing bedguest househot watermonkey templecheaper roomsdecent foodbirds chirpingboat ridemin walk
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 275 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I only came for three days but would have loved to stay longer. Hampi is a destination worth to explore, with a medieval Indian "ghost city" in a mysterious landscape, and with the highly interesting Virupakscha temple. Shanti Guest House is a peaceful retreat, set amongst rice paddies and hills, quiet, with simple yet clean and spacious rooms, wonderful food, and a very attentive and most friendly staff. And this all at very affordable prices (I paid 1500 Rs. for a night). I can recommend the Shanti Guest House to anyone who is inclined to visit Hampi.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelFalk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I came for 2 days but stayed 1 month! Lovely place , great people.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FreddyPook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

What an amazing place! A quite, fantastic, unforgettable guesthouse! I spent 4 days at the Shanti Guesthouse and I still remember the wonderful atmosphere; the nice bungalows with the amazing views of the sunset/sunrise; the nice and kind staff; the good food and the enjoyable rest room/restaurant where you could lie down/sit for a mean, a drink or just to read a book and you could just think: is it a dream? No… fortunately it is real!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I had the pleasure and the chance to stay for several weeks in the Shanthi guest House, in Hampi. During my stay there, everything was made for guests' confort.
I witnessed the daily involvement of the owners and their staff.
They work hard and listen to everyone's advice and need, to improve the level of the place.
I have also been to others places, called "similar" in a previous review, that says that the "Shanthi Guesthouse is overpriced". Places like the Mowgli or the Goan corner are nice, but nothing to do with the Shanthi and the quality they have managed to obtain.
I can say that as i have been for a long period there, and I have seen all the investments made by the owners and experience the differences between all the places. They really try to get the guesthouse unique and special, and they attend to that.
So when you pay a few rupees more, compared to other so called "similar places", it is because the place worths it.
And to get to a level reached by the Shanthi Guest House, it has a price.
Overall prices are reasonable, and from where i am now, back home, in the cold winter, i would pay then times the price to be there and enjoying the best sunsets i have seen in my life (see pics).
I just want to say: If you go to Hampi, go to Shanthi (across the river, not the one in Hampi Bazar)...best place ever.
Enjoy Hampi, enjoy India, lucky you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Just back from a heavenly break in Hampi and was lucky enough to be there during Vijay Utsav, The Hampi Festival.

Stayed at the Shanti on recommendations of all the reviews on Trip Advisor and let me add was not at all let down. Agree with all the previous reviews on mostly everything except the food.

Shanti has 3 beautifully laid dining area where it serves Italian ( Pastas & Pizzas ) Mexican ( Mostly Enchiladas ) Israeli ( Am not aware of the cuisine , but looked like a nice selection ) the Indian version of Chinese and the south Indian Version of North Indian Cuisine , not to forget a touch of Tibet with there Momos ( Steamed Chicken dumplings ) . But the food quality was just about or rather just below average , the only bright spot were the Momo’s, which though not exceptional were a welcome break.

Said a lot about food, kind of forgot am writing a B & B review not a food one :-).

In spite of Shanti being all that the other reviewers have said there is a downside....... It is one of the 25-30 other cookie cutter similar establishments on the road. I had a chance to visit 2 more places, The Goan Corner (which is slightly different cause it offers a view of the Boulders and not the paddy fields, is also located in slight more wilderness) and the Mougli, right next door to Shanti ............. everything was the same EXCEPT THE PRICE WHICH WAS ATLEAST 25 % LESS Came to know from the other travelers I met, who were staying in similar establishments that they were all paying a lot less than me :-(

Looks to me that all the fame that Shanti got has made it jack up its prices and kind of take away from the much appreciated personal touch.

My advice to the travelers would be to check out other B & B before going to Shanti , as it is at the far end of the road , so a longer walk just to pay a premier price due to it's listing on various travel sites.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rajeev_Nangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews