We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for relaxed stay in Hampi”
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our cottage at Shanthi was clean, cozy, and quiet (except for one night when a group of 20-somethings hung out on the neighboring porch laughing into the wee-hours). The view over the rice fields cannot be beat, so spring for one of those cottages if you can. The bug net on the bed worked well, and the free (actual factual free wi-fi) in the reception area was a real bonus. Be ready for bugs (this is on a rice field) and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Cottage #38 is at the end of the row, so your odds for privacy are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 259 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The guest house is as close as it gets to serene village experience. The swings outside the rooms overlooking the paddy fields are so inviting that you could spend hours on them i.e. if you are the lazy kind. The is enough and more to do at Hampi if you are active.

The guest house is clean and minimalistic. The rooms, the bed and the toilets are clean. The idyllic eating area where you sit on the ground and can spend hours at length on a slow breakfast or lunch while relaxing and engaging in conversations with your friends and family makes it totally outstanding.

The guesthouse is barely 5 minutes of walk from the river crossing location. Cross the river and you enter the realm of ruins and plus temples.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank kpx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at Shanthi for eight days, and it was a delight. This guest house has fantastic views from the higher priced huts, which if you can afford is a real treat. We stayed in hut 19, situated back in the garden area without the views, but was perfectly fine. The circular huts are large and comfortable, with mosquito nets and window gauze. Mosquitos are a problem in the whole area because they farm paddy fields and water is everywhere, so bring plenty of cream/spray/coils (coils are purchasable at the local shops) because Hampi is a known malaria and dengue risk. Shanthi is well laid out compared to some other guest houses I saw, and the atmosphere is quiet and restful. They have hammocks in front of all the huts which are extremely enjoyable - days can easily slip past sitting on the hut verandahs. Hot water is solar, and usually available in the afternoons and evenings, beds are very comfortable.

The restaurant at Shanthi serves very good Indian dishes and has a remarkably fast service. You also get the usual pizzas and pasta if you like that, but I can recommend the North Indian food there, which is surprisingly tasty - more than I would expect from a guest house restaurant. We found the staff very responsive and helpful, especially the waiters Sudersun and Devinder. We tried a few other restaurants in the area but couldn’t find any as good as Shanthi.

WiFi is free with a good connection in the restaurant - it doesn’t reach most of the huts, but will reach the closer ones. Airtel is hopeless in Shanthi itself (and I expect most of the guest houses across the river), but around Hampi area generally it is fine.

Hampi is such a peaceful place, it is hard to imagine how this location was the bustling centre of one of India’s greatest empires, where you couldn’t move through the streets for the crowds of people and elephants. The land must always have provided a romantic and calming backdrop to the hype of humans, as it is blessed with ample water and some of the most ancient rock outcrops in the world - the rocks were literally worn into shape by time and water. The big question for visitors is which side of the river to stay.

If you choose to stay across the river from the Sacred Centre, then there are a few things to know. You have to cross in a boat (Rs10/person) to walk the main ruins of Vijayanagara, and the boat runs between certain hours - stopping at 6pm I was told. But it is not likely you need to be out after this time unless your friends are on opposite sides, or you need to travel at dark or early morning (which is quite likely). The boats wait until they are full before departing, so sometimes you will have a little wait, but rarely too long. In all, the boat issue is not too inconvenient, except when arriving or leaving at odd hours.

The main problem with being on the other side of the river, is that the main train to Goa leaves Hospet at 6:30am. It is a half-hour rickshaw drive to Hospet from the Hampi village side of the river, but a 1hr to 1.5hr drive from the other side, on a rough road for much of the way, so it is more comfortable to get a taxi, and more costly. We paid Rs120 to reach Hampi from Hospet railway station on arrival, and Rs1300 to return to Hospet railway station on leaving. Plus you have to get up at 3:30am to be ready to leave at 4:30am for the drive. Just keep that in mind when choosing which side to stay.

Across the river is definitely more peaceful than staying in Hampi itself, so better for longer stays. Staying in Hampi is good for experiencing village life, albeit a tourist village. It is also laid-back, but not as much as across the river. It is also easier to just walk off into the ruins, but that is not too much of a problem from across the river, as one typically makes day excursions to the various sites. Across the river is easier access to the lake, Anjeyanadri Hill and Anegondi village.

If you do choose to stay across the river, what you find is many guest houses lining one side of a long dirt road with paddy fields on the other side. There are even dedicated places for Israelis for those who don’t like to mix. I’m sure most guest houses along here are quite reasonably comfortable. Shanthi is at the end of the road, so be prepared to walk a few hundred meters to get there, which isn’t too hard. There are more guest houses further along the road, and in fact there are guest houses all over the whole area if you want to stay completely away from the ‘scene’.

Around Hampi’s sites, the rickshaw drivers charge exorbitant rates, but you can usually bargain them down from the ridiculous fairly quickly - you still pay twice as much as you would in Delhi. As for the sites themselves, they are strewn over a very large area, so unless you are there for some time, you will never see them all. It is pleasant walking around these sites, but really, it is worth getting a rickshaw to do the Vittala temple and the Royal area together in one day, because not only do you only have to pay once the Rs250 (for foreigners - no wonder the Indians always try to rip off foreign tourists, because even the government does it), but many of the sites are accessible by rickshaw, so you get to see a lot more. Later, it’s a very pleasant walk from Hampi to Vittala, and you only have to pay to actually enter the temple, while there are many things to see outside that.

I would be happy to return to Hampi again, as it is such a magical place, and I would definitely return to Shanthi Guest House.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay the extra for a paddy field view, which is very nice, then we found hut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Shanthi Guest House on 25th November 2013 for one night. Our family of four had two rooms (Room No 33 and 34). Stay was comfortable, food was good and service cordial. Rooms have basic amenities but at a place like Hampi you do not require anything more, since the main attraction is the Hampi site. Moreover, since the check-out time was 9.00 AM morning and our train to Bangalore was at 8.45 PM night, we were allowed to retain one room for luggage and freshening up at half the daily charge. Overall, my family was happy with the stay and would come again if an opportunity is there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anilbisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We (my daughter, wife and myself) were there at Shanthi for 4 days and 3 nights during the Diwali weekend. Location-wise, the resort/guest house may be disappointing if one's expecting a star hotel kind of treatment. The location, Virupapur gaddi, is bit hard to find. You can rely on maps. Better to rely on directions given by locals or hotel staff. The location may seem odd to approach, but once you are familiar with the terrain, it would seem normal. It's strange but Hampi is just a 10-min journey from Shanthi, if you take the ferry/coracle across the river. Else by road, it would take 45 mins to 1 hour or close to 45 kms. The choice is yours!!

At Shanthi, it's like going to basics - no in-room entertainment (TV) , no AC, no gizmos, no concierge, no bell boys, no captain....et al. It's quite simple, rooms with built-in rest rooms (open ceilings :-) cramped), beds with mosquito nets, and the best part a jhula(swing) in the portico of every hut. It's your space. Parking may be bit cramped if there are more vehicles. Staff and owner (Mr K Krishna) are quite helpful.

Food: Staff, cook are Pahadis from Himachal - courteous, well mannered. North Indian food is authentic. Food in Hampi is generally good. Shanthi is good for your breakfast and dinner. If you happen to be in Hampi for lunch, a must visit is Mango Tree restaurant near Virupaksha temple in Hampi. (remember this restaurant just moved into Hampi from its previous location. Try mango lassi). Coming back to food at Shanthi - Indian breakfasts are tasteful, didn't dare to try Continental or American or even Israeli. Dinner format is about sitting on a gaddi (cotton mattress) on floor with chowki (low table) dinner. Menu spread is great. Food yummy. Dessert yummier (try Hello to the Queen).

Attire: Be in simple cottons, preferably 3/4ths or shorts, sandals/open footwear, umbrellas/caps (must), loads of water bottles:-), sunglasses and sunscreen lotions.

Overall, Shanthi is a good place to stay, great value for money, one of the best places to have food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Perfect gateway for the weekend. Located on the banks of thungabadra, midst lush paddy fields, away from all the bustling city life. This is a place i would surely visit again.

Reached here by 12 pm, but the owner was kind enough to still prepare dinner for us. Room were thatched huts with all basic amenities. Beds had mosquito nets, so you dont really have to worry about the insects, which otherwise were all over the place. This was expected in village stay, so no worries.

Food here was the highlight. Iranian, Italian, continental, Indian all in the menu and all made with at-most care by the chef. Was quite authentic too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Following on a friend' recommendation we decided to tour Hampi & stay at shanthi guest house. The resort is quite basic, as the prices indicate but if you compare the value for money, yummy food they serve this comes out as probably one of the best resorts in Hampi. The kitchen staff & cook are all from Himachal during the peak season (Oct-Mar) when Himachal closes down for the winters. Due to this you can be assured that the best North Indian food in Hampi is on your table. For every meal we ordered dal, paneer & hot rotis, which were simply amazing.

Food: 5 / 5
Room: 3 / 5 - its very basic & fully functional (no A/C etc.) if you want A/C then go to royal orchid or the hyatt
Value for money: 5 / 5

Our overall stay (2 adults + 2 kids) for 4D+3N came in at ~7k including every meal (breakfast, lunch & dinner). We'd probably have paid more for a single day at Hyatt/Royal Orchid.

Room Tip: Try any room higher than 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harish v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.9 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $29 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing