We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanthi Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
68
125
43
20
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
125
43
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy fieldsacross the rivergarden facing roommosquito netenjoy the viewthe cottageslaid backplace to stayswing bedguest househot watermonkey templecheaper roomsdecent foodbirds chirpingboat ridemin walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

the location is AMAZING. the prices are much more expensive than other places that side of the river and the service and attitude are terrible. they kept hassling us to eat at their restaurant but the food there wasn't good and the service was miserable.
the view is gorgeous (be prepared for the Mosquitos!). but it's a shame they take advantage of their gret location to treat their guests in such an unsatisfying manner.

and if you do decide to stay there - do NOT use their travel agent at the entrance. it is the worst in hampi by far. our friends bought by tickets to a bus that didn't exist !!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allgoodoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shanthi is an awesome place for a small getaway. Me and my wife were here. We took the cottage with the field view and it is one of the best places i have stayed in till yet. Were here for 1 night. Beautiful views, good food with lots of options. Though we faced 1 trouble. We reached at 8 in the morning to take the boat but the boat was not running due to some confusion among the locals. Lots of tourists were waiting to go to the other side. All the rickshaws drivers came and created a fuss that the boat wont run and asked for 1000 rupees to go to the other side. With no option left most of the guys took the rickshaw. After half an hour, i noticed the boat running. Might be some politics among the boat guys and the rickshaw drivers to get some extra money. I called Krishna the owner and he assured he would refund my money if the boat does not start. Ultimately i was there and my stay was awesome.

Room Tip: Take the room next to the fields
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prateekgoel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to Hampi with our family and two other families. The kids loved it (which means the adults had a great time too!). We had 6 kids with us who were 7-11 years of age. After sightseeing all day the kids would run around the hotel grounds and the adults would hang out in their outside restaurant (which are mats on the ground and tables with a thatched roof overhead). Very relaxing. Nice views of the rice paddy fields. Seemed to be a lot of backpackers at this place. The prices are very reasonable from a western perspective and if you're willing to rough it a bit and soak in a more authentic experience, this place is super. Rooms are VERY basic. Two single beds pulled together with a frame around them on top with a mosquito net on top. Bathrooms are extremely simple. We stayed in the river view rooms that had thatched roofs. Food was good with some western items that our kids appreciated (pancakes with nutella, toast, omelets, pasta). The staff was very nice. Beds are hard by western standards. For the price, relaxing atmosphere and the kids liked it, we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are certainly worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GThomas815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Shanthi is on the right side of Hampi and has very cool cottages next to the fields. Do not expect much from the quality of room, it is very basic. But you will not be in the room anyways. You will be either relaxing outside the room on the jhula and chilling at the restaurant eating the awesome food that they have.

Go for a stroll exploring the fields and the river and in the night go to the restaurants in the market that screen movies.

Room Tip: Take the cottages on the field side. They are double the price and worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Shanthi as I was looking for some peace and quiet. The huts are basic and pretty clean and the hammocks outside are fabulous! Do not leave any food or loose items on your patio as there are a lot of curious monkeys hanging out. And bring a lot of mosquito repellent as the huts are located close to some rice paddies and mosquitoes are fierce. I would elsewhere for food and the WIFI is so-so and only works in the restaurant area. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews