We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food and service, below average rooms, awesome swings.”
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and service, below average rooms, awesome swings.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Shanthi has some beautiful views from different parts of the property. The large swing outside every room makes it even better. For the cost, the rooms are very ordinary, bathrooms very basic and so is the overall upkeep. The view, food and service makes up for this some bit. All food orders take time. Thats rather assuring coz they prepare it then and there. So it is fresh and very tasty. The breakfast meals are particularly tasty, wholesome and filling with some great multigrain bread and omelet options. Being across the river, reaching here can be difficult depending on which side you are coming from. Over all, the tranquil view, the swings and the food saved the day for us.

Room Tip: There is no real river to view from the 'River-view' rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    118
    39
    13
    16
See reviews for
29
91
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we started from pune from our own vehicle, it was a marathon journey. lost way for some time after Hubli and so got late, already booked rooms at shanti. so called them and told that v r getting late, we are told that after 11pm no one ll be their to receive, we requested them to do adjustment. Finally we reached at 3am at Humpi. We were frustrated to find that to reach shanti 1 has to go back all the journey to hospet. Its a round of 25km. so every time u want to see something in humpi then 50km round. we were admitted by varsha hotel at kamalpura next to humpi, it was decent with testy food. if like both monuments and hotel very much and stayed 1 day extra. Meanwhile shanthi neither returned our money nor agreed for any other adjustment. conclusion: if u want just a peaceful stay go to shanthi, if u r interested in observing remains of the empire by ur own vehicle better choose something in humpi or kamalapur

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank bhushan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My review for Shanthi is based on the fact that in Hampi you dont find any luxury resorts. There are these small guesthouse with basic emenities. Hence would suggest not to expect luxury treatment since the stay here is very cheap. Well to start with, we stayed at the cottage with a view of the paddy field for Rs 1650/- per night. The view was great and very peaceful. This place is nice for people who want to relax away from the city traffic and the buzz.. Like i mentioned earlier, you will find only basic amenities in the room such as a bed, mosqitoe nets and a mirror. Please beware of the lizards, insects, mosqitoes etc.. May be coz of the fields... The bathrooms were clean. The only thing about this place which was below average or that you might call poor was "The Food". I would suggest not to have food in this place..Rest is ok... The room service was prompt and friendly.. in all an OK place to stay...

Room Tip: Choose to stay with the view of the paddy field since you get a lot or privacy and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarthirao9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent Diwali weekend in Hampi with my wife, son and sons friend. IF you want a retreat from civilisation this is perfect. Across the river from Hampi in a small village containing a few internet shacks and restaurants as well as the inevitable souvenier places this felt very safe and pleasantly isolated. The Guest House is made up of a number of huts which were VERY simple with non frills at all but fairly clean and staff very friendly. Free use of the wireless at reception and lovely sitting are where we idled away many hours. Food is OK - not special but good enough. I would certainy recommend to anyone going to Hampi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeagullSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This guest house is in middle of paddy fields right next to the bank of the river Tungabhadra.
The rooms are well appointed with proper attached baths, and a small veranda in front of every cottage with a nice swing. Lots of birds around and some of the temples like Durga temple, Hanuman birthplace are close by. Staff is friendly and smiling. They can do a better job with cleaning the common areas better. Backpackers love this place and we met people from Israel, Germany, Sweeden and Italy. Food is mainly Indian and tasty, the variety is minimum that helps in speed of service. It is a nature resort kind of place so no TV or AC in the rooms.

Room Tip: Look the rooms that face the paddy fields as they offer the best view, stay away from rooms close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDesiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was here for a weekend trip. Booked a hut for myself. The huts are not really well maintained , cobwebs, dusty floors (and lizards!!! yikes !!) but I guess thats about as much you can expect from a hut?!!
There was a power cut after sunset and it didn't come back until 9.
But the atmosphere is nice, and the staff is helpful

Room Tip: There are quite a few guest houses around..look around, check the rooms and then pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asfa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from my Hampi Trip and couldn't hold on more to share a wonderful experience we had at Shanti Guesthouse. We had a pre- booking and as soon as we reached we were shown our rooms. They were standard and clean which we didn't expect much. The most beautiful part of this was the location and lots of greenery.

The food served was tasty and affordable too. The drinks were served at a nominal charge. I was little disappointed with the service at was most of the time it was slow. Just 2 of them catering a whole bunch of crowd is difficult as they were not able to manage.

The rates during the off season are quite cheap and frequent with decent crowd. This is an ideal location for a holiday if you are looking for peace. We being a group of photographer it was a paradise as it had nature, portraits, landscape and wildlife to click which everyone cherished and captured to heart's content.

Room Tip: Order the international cuisines. The river facing rooms have marvellous view. Book in advance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.9 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Property: Shanthi Guesthouse
Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shanthi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing