We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sai Plaza Guest House
Ranked #24 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Pros
Lovely view of the river and temple from our window.
We preferred this atmosphere on this side of the river.
Able to book and pay online in advance - so we didn't have to withdraw cash.
Ok value for money.
Nice garden and restaurant and places to sit and chill.
Food and drinks tasted good.
Movie every evening.
Service staff were friendly, helpful and professional.
Space to hang up your laundry.
Mosquito net and fan.

Cons
You gave to catch the last boat home when staying on this side of the river.
People hocking loudly outside the window in the morning.
Manager was rude.
I may have got sick from the food here (I got violently ill that night and this was one of 3 places we went to that day).
Not the cleanest place we have stayed (but not the dirtiest).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
19
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The place is slightly expensive during the season but it's definitely worth it! The hotel staff are extremely friendly especially Santosh and lama who constantly catered to our needs. The food was delicious, we had almost every meal at this hotel:)

Would Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nayantara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was my second trip to Hampi and I had developed a certain amount of prejudice for the "other" side of the river because it was a). accessible to the ruins and the main bazaar only till 6 after which you have to beg and plead with a boatman to ferry you across and b). there were too many backpackers banging bongos.

I had seen everything I wanted to in Hampi the last time around and just wanted to relax for a bit, so I decided to take the plunge this time and after checking a couple of other places (Sunny, Hema, Mowgli etc.), found that this was the best value place around. My cottage was impeccably clean, there were nice touches like a swing on the porch where one could lie down and read a book and some not so nice like a mirror dangling over you on the bed. All things said, it was a really nice room for the price with a clean ensuite bathroom where all the plumbings worked. The people running the place were super-friendly and while the restaurant was just 2 yards away from my room, on days when I felt super lazy, it was nice of them to get me some masala tea right to the porch where I lazed about like a spoilt brat.

The place (like most places on the other side of the river) is also very popular with Israeli tourists. Some of them like to smoke up, play loud music and chat till late in the night. Many of them buy great musical instruments (like the didgeridoo for instance) and like to practise playing it till the wee hours of the morning. None of this is the fault of the owners and it didn't bother me so much either, so I won't be docking points. But I'm just putting it in, so whoever's reading the review would know what to expect.

The restaurant is a typical backpacker restaurant with everything from everywhere in the world listed on the menu including backpacker favourites like banana pancakes, lemonnana, mango lassi, ginger lemon honey tea and hello to the queen. There are frequent movie screenings during evenings where one can also practise dodging the resident mouse.

All in all, I had a fun, peaceful, interesting time here.

Room Tip: It's set around a courtyard and all the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Most important thing first: you don't need to make a reservation in hampi regardless of high season, the guesthouses will overcharge you!!!
just pick a side of the river and go there. Guesthouse next to guesthouse, you can look at the rooms and bargain for the price.
We found sai plaza to be horrible value for money as they charged us 1300 Rs per night. No wifi in the rooms nor the restaurant (only at the office up on the street), rooms and bathroom were not very clean, mattresses were horrible. Hot water needs forever to come, so you will waste so much water waiting for it. In the mornings we never had warm water at all.
When we complained about some things, the simple answer was: "I don't listen to complaints."
The only positive things for us: The restaurant is nice and has good food, also we appreciated the view and atmosphere there.

We cannot recommend to stay here at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank das_buerschle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went here in November and had a great time! Very nice place to just lie back and enjoy a nice holiday. Well maintained rooms and good facilities, although the food could have been a little better.
Very close to the river ferry, so getting to the place is not too difficult either. Excellent ambiance overall and a great place to spend time at in Hampi!

Oh and yes - they have film nights too!

Room Tip: "Pick a room overlooking the river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi_jester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse has to be one of the nicest on that side of the river. However, you have to pay a bit more as expected.

The film night in the restaurant was a nice welcomed time away from travelling.

The one thing I might possibly change is the mirror above the bed. Slightly off-putting

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NateLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 days in Hampi during our month in India and found it a fascinating, magical place to be. The cleanliness in the rooms at Sai Plaza was questionable but adequate if you are in traveller mode as we were - and it was really reasonable. The garden area is lovely for relaxing in and the cafe was really good - especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Guest House
Sunny Guest House
#21 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Garden Hampi
Golden Garden Hampi
#8 of 24 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gouthami Guest House
Gouthami Guest House
#12 of 24 in Hampi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Plaza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Plaza Guest House

Property: Sai Plaza Guest House
Address: Virupapur Gaddi Island, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to Sai Plaza Guest House and Restaurant. It is located in a picturesque Virupapur Gaddi Island, of holy Tungabhadra river. The location is just a walkable distance from Tungahadra river, Hampi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing