We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampi's Boulders

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampi's Boulders
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hampi
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this wonderful resort amidst the famous boulders of Hampi on the banks of the Tungabhadra.

It was a great experience waking up with the chirping of birds all around and going to sleep covered by the total silence and darkness of the star studded nights!

We were indeed touched by the hospitality and personal attention that we got from their Managers,Mr. Raj, Mr. Kumar and also the entire staff.

The temples and relics of the great Vijayanagar Empire do reflect the true glory of pre -colonial India!


Suranjan Bhanja
Kolkata

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBhanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    68
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Getting to Hampi is not yet easy ( which makes this world heritage site even more special to visit), arriving at Hampi Boulders after a long, hot drive is wonderful. While the rooms may be relatively simple for the price, just being able to sit on a balcony looking at the boulders and Tungabhadra river, made it seem worthwhile. Like Hampi itself, the setting is outstanding.
The food was simple, yet tasty , the staff very helpful. And the cars provided to get to the river crossing for Hampi site an excellent service. I stayed with 8 other friends - they loved the nature walk too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piarampal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Accommodation and its cleanliness are of an adequate quality but extremely overpriced by any standard let alone Indian. The food is uninspiring and very bland ( eg banana in custard as pudding for two out of three evenings); there is no alternative. The management is friendly but generally very inefficient. The hotel survives on lack of competition. With hindsight, our preference would have been to be in town at albeit inferior accommodation but about 10% of the price

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luciane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ridiculous Pricepolicy. Some efforts are there but not worth rs 20.000.- = euro 235.- in some remote area of India. Water was neither hot nor sufficent, A/C not switchable, cleaniless was some indian standard. Everything was bearable, but not for this price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not an easy place to find - no signage and even the locals didn't seem to know it existed! But once there the quiet - India with no horns or yapping dogs - and the dramatic scenery made the journey well worthwhile with the bonus of spotting a crocodile basking on the rocks. Lovely food and a barbecue as well. If you get the chance to do the walk up to 'Highlands' then do it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalynde J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went on a month self-planned tour of India and hotels that were recommended on Trip Advisor that included Hampi's Boulders. It was slightly remote (across the river from Hampi, but they provided transportation to the river) but the setting amidst the boulders was lovely. The food was exceptional and the service wonderful. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockcreekpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I agree with a previous review, Hampi's is all about the setting and the staff. We stayed in Otter Cottage which is a stone's throw from the river and has a wonderful sense of isolation. The views from our porch were captivating. The food is excellent and fresh and the staff are superb.

Room Tip: Otter Cottage is private, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.4 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
6.0 mi away
Orange County Hampi
Orange County Hampi
#1 of 1 in Kamalapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampi's Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampi's Boulders

Property: Hampi's Boulders
Address: Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hampi`s Boulders Hotel Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing