We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, friendly, helpful staff.”
Review of Hampi's Boulders

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampi's Boulders
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hampi
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, friendly, helpful staff.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not an easy place to find - no signage and even the locals didn't seem to know it existed! But once there the quiet - India with no horns or yapping dogs - and the dramatic scenery made the journey well worthwhile with the bonus of spotting a crocodile basking on the rocks. Lovely food and a barbecue as well. If you get the chance to do the walk up to 'Highlands' then do it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalynde J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    68
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
104
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went on a month self-planned tour of India and hotels that were recommended on Trip Advisor that included Hampi's Boulders. It was slightly remote (across the river from Hampi, but they provided transportation to the river) but the setting amidst the boulders was lovely. The food was exceptional and the service wonderful. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockcreekpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I agree with a previous review, Hampi's is all about the setting and the staff. We stayed in Otter Cottage which is a stone's throw from the river and has a wonderful sense of isolation. The views from our porch were captivating. The food is excellent and fresh and the staff are superb.

Room Tip: Otter Cottage is private, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place is all about the staff and the beauty of the location. We stayed over the New Year and were invited to the owners house to watch some classical Indian music which was a nice and welcome gesture.

All of the staff were kind and gentle and it was just a lovely location to explore Hampi from. It is remote and thats the beauty of it. I enjoyed the food as well. Its not got loads of bells and whistles but its natural beauty and friendliness are what counts for me.

Julia

Room Tip: We stayed in Turtle cottage. and that was quiet and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
258 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

An excellent place to stay and chill out, whether on an archeological visit to Hampi, or simply to enjoy a weekend with nature.
Choose from amongst the dozen odd cottages depending on your pocket and likes- Sun, Star and Otter cottages are right on the river and are most expensive; we stayed at the Africa cottage which was good value for money- in addition to being comfortable for the three of us.
The evening excursion to the riverside ( " bird watching") was definitely the best part of the deal, followed closely by the "nature walk" .
Staff is very helpful and courteous.
Meals are very basic, not something to salivate about.
The ruins are across the river on the opposite bank. Need to take the return ferry before 5PM unless you are prepared to spend the night out.

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: Sun, Star and Otter cottages have excellent view; African Cottage has a very good sit out; Rock Cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulsgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well overpriced for what you get. Rooms are tired and basic. When I asked for ants to be removed they were killed but not cleaned up. Food is ordinary and left out to go cold so get there early. Only beer is available. Location is nice and peaceful. Ask - if you can afford it - for bungalow by the river and watch the crocs. Cash payments only.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola_peers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I enjoyed staying here very much. loved the privacy of my room. food is o.k. definately not 5 star the staff were friendly and helpful if you asked or left you alone. the walk to the observation platform is a great experience and there are a huge variety of birds. Directions to the hotel are difficult for a very good reason - to maintain privacy of guests. the hotel makes their vehicle readily available to get you to the river to cross into Hampi. If you like to be away from the madding crowd this is a great place to be

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorelie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.4 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
6.0 mi away
Orange County Hampi
Orange County Hampi
#1 of 1 in Kamalapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampi's Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampi's Boulders

Property: Hampi's Boulders
Address: Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hampi`s Boulders Hotel Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing