We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

Gopi Guest House and Roof Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Hampi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where should I even start?

Rooms:- which was given to us uncleaned. Bedsheets were unwashed. Staff did not care to clean them before giving them to customers. We booked 2 rooms, one on double sharing one on triple sharing. We were not given extra matress even though we had paid for it. Somehow we managed on our own.

Security:- manager only gave us 1 lock and key for 2 rooms, as were planning to come back in half hour we kept our stuff in one room because we didn't had much stuff. But we came back in 10 min and saw some unknown girls was trying to open the room because they wanted to use 'washroom', but girls left immediately after the response which was suspicious. We told manger about the same and demanded lock. Then also he kept us waiting for lock and keys.

Service:- food was excellent. We ordered set breakfast meal, Indian breakfast meal and Indian egg burjee.worth trying. Only concerns was that even after ordering in advance staff took more than half hour to give breakfast. Meals was including hot beverage.but we had to remind them twice to provide hot beverage.

Last but not least,
Manager:- one of my friends were in contact with manager for booking. Manager was rude. As mentioned earlier he did not solve any of our concerns Nor he approached for anything during stay even though he knew he did not provide us lock or extra mattress. And my friend also had put review on Google regarding guest house.. similar to this review. Instead of accepting criticism the Manager sent sarcastic message to her regarding the review. Which I thought is unethical and childish of him.

Location of the guesthouse is great, food is great.but unskilled rude staff ruined our stay experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Oketaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

reasonable and nice stay in Hampi. Basics but that is sufficient for the amount you pay.Rooms are small but OK. Moreover, they offer complimentary breakfast and you choose from a wide variety which is very tasty and fresh. Otherwise also their restaurant is too good.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mka003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Restaurant has a feel at home atmosphere meals were of a very high standard,room was clean and extremely comfortable,easy walking distance to watch all the activity on the river.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beingm2018, Manager at Gopi Guest House and Roof Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest thank you for your ratings n review.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Though the reviews and tagging is for the restaurant, they have a back pack / homestay type of lodging available.

When we planned for Hampi, there were 2 suggestions- one was to stay at Hospete and another to stay at Hampi. After the trip, IF we consider that our interest was to explore all of Hampi and not stuck on 'comfort' of star rated accommodation we made a goo decision to stay at Hampi- that too a day before the recent flooding of the river !

Hampi is not for feet weak and frail (avoid old aged folks). We hired Auto for the Hospete - Hampi and around Hampi - we were 3 and worked well.

Gopi has 2 accommodations- one is a standalone guest house and another 2 rooms alongside the roof top restaurant. The food was awesome- ambience was decent. Dont expect star stuff - on cleanliness or sophistication. The much reviewed breakfast platter of Allo parata and curry , poori sagu was good. The continental food and shakes were good too

The real advantage was we made this as our base and explored Hampi by feet, cycle and auto - worth it !

Hampi has no ATMs, no Hospitals, No Non Veg ( expect eggs) and no alcohol and not even road as wide as 5 meters ! Condition your mind for a cute village atmosphere !

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ramanathanv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We reached early morning and were given room, they did not hesitate or make a fuss of it. Price for the room we stayed in was on the higher side. Has basic facilities, extremely small bathroom, 24hours hot water, room cleaning done everyday. Room was decent. We had booked room with breakfast, only 2 options offered as set breakfast. Very delicious food. Tea/coffee is served in a huge glass along with breakfast, starting 7.30am. Going around Hampi - they guide you with options like cycle, 2wheeler, auto (all at extra cost), easily can spend 2days in sight seeing.

The property is very close to main temple and river. Early morning walk is worth it. Check out is 9am, but they are not very stringent, you can do a +/- 30mins. Once check out done, you can keep luggage in the restaurant and go around.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank White2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gopi Guest House and Roof Restaurant also viewed

Hampi, Bellary District
 
Hampi, Bellary District
 
Hampi, Bellary District
Hampi, Bellary District
 

Been to Gopi Guest House and Roof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing