We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hampi
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
147
51
19
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
51
19
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home stay the owner air con hampi bazar hot water mango tree restaurant onward travel homestay wifi india village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 241 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019

The rooms are modestly sized, as befits a homestay, but clean. The family that runs the place are very helpful. The air con is good. Best of all, you can sit by the doorway as the day comes to an end, sipping some tea from the shop around the corner, watching the buffalo stroll home. Isn't that what homestay is about. My only quibble is that my booking said breakfast included, but their restaurant next door was firmly closed throughout my stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JPHStVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Hampi seems to be a bit of a "hippy" backpacker hangout, and I don't know why. Perhaps it's because of its green open spaces, clean air, very little traffic and the town is small. We booked Thilak hotel (homestay) through Booking.com. The hotel is in the centre of the town, although the town is verrrry small. We only stayed one night and had to pay for an extra night for a 6 pm late check out. My travel companion was very sick and need a bathroom before we caught our early evening train. This hotel is OK for a cheap (A$19 per person per night) backpacking joint, although we didn't check out prices in any alternative hotels. The room didn't have any outside windows and was a bit of a cell. There was air conditioning, a fan and hot water in the shower; although the hot water took a long time to come through. The included breakfast was next door in the family-run restaurant. there was a choice of three "fixed menus" consisting of eggs, toast with butter & jam.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wakhoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, the location is great and they were helpful hosts who booked our bus transfer for us. Fine for backpackers who just need a bed but would not recommend for a relaxing holiday or for families. The air con that we paid extra for was very unreliable and did not work properly and the shower did not work. Also very noisy, I think this is partly due to the nature of Hampi itself but the family live above the rooms and after 6am every morning there was banging, shouting, running and all sorts going on up there.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank payesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

Location is the only good aspect. Owner seems to be friendly but you will realise he just wants to rip you off. Room with no window. No hot water. Shower head covered has got so much limescale hardly any water comes through. Bedding and towels dirty and stained. restaurant not very clean. Much better options nearby. A lot to be improved

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PPF_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

A poorly maintained "Home stay" in whats left of Hampi Bazar please don't be fooled by the reviews or pictures.

So the scam goes like this, Kish the manager says your room isn't ready for whatever reason but don't worry you can stay in his "sisters" property just across the road. You quickly realize the other property is in fact another "home stay" called The funky Monkey and costs considerably less than Thilak. Kish then rents out the room you would of had in Thilak to someone else for the same amount you paid for it doubling his money.

I cannot believe all the glowing reviews of this property it's quite frankly ridiculous. We insisted on staying in the room we paid for at the Thilak but with no hot water, a poorly maintained bathroom, shower and no wifi it was a pointless exercise.

Kish, stop being so greedy and provide what guests pay for and maintain your rooms properly. Your helpfulness and chatty nature doesn't work on everyone.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews