We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor !”
Review of Thilak Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thilak Home Stay
Ranked #4 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Because of the laudative comments sent










































































































Because of the laudative comments written by supposedly well seasoned travellers, I had booked for a room with AC from Goa.
I was met by the rickshaw at the station, as said ( which is a service provided by all guest houses in India).The location is right in the middle of Hampi village, like so many other homestays and guest houses.No problem for finding a place !

On arrival, i could not believe my eyes to see that my room( and others) was windowless.No balcony, no terrace and no window.What a cheek to charge an extortionate 2000Rps for a windowless room, even if it is clean !Ludicrous and unbelievable !

It is real easy to find super accommodation in Hampi at very reasonable prices.Within five minutes, I had found a a lovely bright room with a private terrace tem meters away for 750 Rps, with fan (in November, AC is not necessary).
One morning, from my terrace, could hear the row made by a couple of tourists who were as shocked as i had been for the same reason,shouting that those windowless rooms were a rip off They fled, the way I had done.

What is beyond my understanding is the raving of fellow travellers about that place !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pastelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThilakHomeStay, Manager at Thilak Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Thilak Home Stay : Hampi!!!

Can you tell me when did you stayed in my place. We know Our AC room has with lots of facilities which we provide breakfast and transport and tours. In our register book shows that you have never booked a room in our place. please don't write a fake review.

Please don't be FAKE Traveler!

I wish you all the best!

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Thilak Home Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place was amazing to stay at, the location is great, the rooms are super clean and spacious. The staff are really friendly and can get you good deals on tours through Kish, the owners son. Even in peak season the prices were good. Best place in Hampi.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachybeatnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Have been traveling all around India over the past 3 months and have to say this is one of the nicest and cleanest places I have stayed in and it was certainly good value for money! Kish the manager is an absolute gem aswell. Any questions I had he managed to answer and nothing was ever to much trouble for him. The restaurant over the road called Chill Out did some excellent breakfasts to. I stayed here for 4 days which was perfect but would love to go back. If you are after a friendly, clean reasonably priced room then Thilak Home Stay is the place to go!
Thank you so much.
Smily

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloud917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Hampi Bazaar then Thilak Homestay is a very good option. They have 4 AC or Non AC rooms with attached bathroom, 24hours power and Wifi in the rooms. The rooms are a bit small, but as you will spend most of the time outside it's not an issue. The rooms at the back are quieter as they are nit facing the road. We would recommend the one to the left as it has a small window, which gives you a bit more air. The rooms at the back are quieter as they are not facing the road. We would recommend the one to the left as it has a small window, which gives you a bit more air.
Kish is an amazing person, he always wears a big sympatic smile, giving you any information you might need or helping you with onward transport or whatever. He is a very honest and reliable person. He even organized (on his own account) a birthday surprise for my wife, with cake, "firework", artificial snowing and glitter.
The Chillout rooftop restaurant accross belongs also to the homestay, it's there where you will have your breakfast served and it also serves other good food.
Hampi Bazaar is a good place to stay as it is close to the ruines and you can enjoy sunset watching the temple, something you cannot do when staying accross the river, as the ferry stops running at 5.30 PM. You also can sit in one of the rooftop restaurants and just watch Hampi's daily life unfold.
You can reserve under kishorsinghhampi@hotmail.com or +919449900964

Room Tip: We would recommend the one to the left as it has a small window, which gives you a bit more air.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juerg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We turned up having nowhere to stay, so we got quite a good deal on this place.
The room was nice enough, bathroom exceptionally nice.
Our room was basically on the street so it was quite loud - ask for a quiet room.
Top guesthouse in the area.
Check out is 10am - early!
Lots of power cuts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriajane1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThilakHomeStay, Manager at Thilak Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Thilak Home Stay : Hampi!!!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is a great privilege for us!
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel!
We have backup for power cuts!

Looking forward to see you again in Our Heritage Hampi.

Thank you,

Regards
Kish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Look many have already said it, but Kish makes you extremely welcome and is able to organise as much as you want him too.

We stayed for 4 nights and definitely Thilak && Hampi are the places to stay. Our double room was sizeable, with ensuite shower room, working A/C. Thilak also has an adjoining restaurant for breakfast and evening meals.

We had a lower front room so some street noise, but hey enabled us to be up, washed and ready to go early.

Kish organised us to have a days tour guide, Kumar, again a great recommendation.

Finally Kish arranged for us to be collected at the Hospet train station by the lovely Tuk Tuk driver, Bahta.

Do stay here and make full use of Kish & his contacts, they are knowledgeable, helpful, price conscious and just make your stay more memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThilakHomeStay, Manager at Thilak Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Thilak Home Stay : Hampi!!!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is a great privilege for us!
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel ,
It was a great experience to serve you. Hope your journey was in Thailand.

I wish you all the best!

Looking forward to see you again in Our Heritage Hampi.


Regards
Kish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I visited Hampi in August 2013 with friends. The room was spotless and the air conditioning, very refreshing. This guesthouse put a smile on me and my friends face :). The owner Kishor is absolutely helpful and will go out of his way to ensure you are comfortable and taken care of.

And the thing you'll miss after leaving this place is the food @ Chill out (opposite to guest house).. mmmmm....its so delicious. Keep it up guys.

Pros:
1) Location: just a few yards from the main temple
2) Cleanliness
3) free Wifi available at room
4) The Host - Kishore
5) The Most important: food @ Chill out ...ultimate food

Cons:
1) Its hard to remember any cons for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MShaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilak Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilak Home Stay

Address: Main Bazaar | River Road, Hampi, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $11 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thilak Home Stay is built in the middle of Hampi Bazaar. It is a house where you can find A/C and non A/C rooms, each one with individual bathroom, hot shower and mosquito net. Electricity is available 24 hours and WiFi is free. From the roof of the house you have beautiful views of Hampi's landscape and Virupaksha temple, and you can feel free to practice yoga, meditation or to relax watching a wonderful sunset. Chill out roof restaurant is in front of the guesthouse where you can relax and meet people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thilak Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing