We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok-ish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hema Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hema Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok-ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It amazes me how people seem to love this place, and how they get rave reviews in lonley planet. I found the place pretty average, not bad, but not that good either. And this is not Hema Guesthouse's fault, but why does Lonely planet hardly EVER quote the correct rates? How does a room go from 250 rp to 850 in one year? But I digress. I didn't like that they close the gates at so early, it made me feel like a teenager with a very strict curfew. The management is very nice though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubelkanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
41
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Independent cottages are nice with hammocks outside,
Rooms are pretty clean, small and cute windows.

The manger Venu was very co-operative right from bookings till we had checked-in.


The only problem is that they close the gate of guesthouse at around 10:30 pm, and river was not accessible from guest house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentCraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Glad we did the right thing by staying in hampi island (virupapur gaddi), its surrounded by boulders, paddy fields and the river. Lined with quaint shops and cafe's, its the place to stay. We were stayed at Hema Guest House, clean neat rooms and bathrooms, hammock outside every room. Provision for hot water during morning hours and early evening hours, worth the price we paid. The cafe attached to the guest house was amazing, served very good food. Had awesome shakshukas and some very good Mediterranean dishes. The staff was very friendly too...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hifazath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

i was there on in the month of november-12. its the one of the best guest house in hampi and homely treatment. its one of the best clean rooms in hampi. people take care of everyone who come to their guest house.

Room Tip: go with the room which has its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

In our last night somebody entered the courtyard and stole all our shoes standing outside of the bungalows. The staff asked us in advance not to enter the rooms with the shoes that's why we left them outside. When we were looking for our shoes next morning the staff told us, dogs might took them, they didn't care about our problems at all. The owner was answering very aggressively and shift the blame on others. The door to the courtyard was open the whole night so everybody could enter. Be aware of all your belongings and don't leave things outside even though they tell you. This is not a safe place and together with the staff also not much welcoming!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EsthaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
0.2 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
0.3 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gouthami Guest House
Gouthami Guest House
#11 of 24 in Hampi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hema Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hema Guest House

Property: Hema Guest House
Address: Virupapur Gaddi, Hampi, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hema Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing