We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocky Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
157
90
24
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
90
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantmain templethe ownervirupaksha templefirst floorfair pricetuk tukhot waternight busthe rivertrain stationnon acmosquito netlovely familyac roomdosasfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited Hampi in 3rd week of December, which is a great time as the weather is perfect, even slightly chilly at night! Rocky guesthouse is neat, brand new looking rooms(the ones on 1st floor) and very clean.Though it seemed a bit expensive in comparison, it was worth it as it was a pleasure staying here. The service is wonderful and food (we tried both breakfast and Indian dinner) was delicious, the roof-top restaurant on a full moon night is a sight to behold. And of course Rocky is a great host, very helpful. In fact he charted out a plan knowing the number of days we were spending in Hampi.
The location is great, just 2 minutes away from the Virupaksha temple. I highly recommend this place to everyone who is visiting Hampi!

Room Tip: Room on 1st floor (non-ac) is the best, and naturally air-conditioned with open windows.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prithviii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This isn't the cheapest place in town, but the rooms are clean, the water is hot, and Rocky is a fair guy. Good wifi and a pleasant rooftop, too. Downstairs rooms are much less expensive if you are on a tight budget. I didn't see them, but I imagine they are a fair deal. Recommended.
Now I will babble on, because for some reason TA wants a 200 character review on this one. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs. Try to spend at least 3 nights in Hampi - it is a great place to explore and hang out.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rocky's and overall it was a pretty nice stay.

We stayed in the room downstairs. It was a bit of a dissapointment considering the price (900 INR), as it was rather small and dark (window was facing a wall). The rooms on the upper floors are way better, so if you have a bigger budget, go for these.

Rocky (the owner) was very helpful, in particular with regard to our issue with the train tickets to Hyderabad. He also gave us useful tips for places to see arround Hampi.

The highlight of the stay at Rockys is the food, which is fresh and tasty, especially the thalis and the breakfast dosas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Only a little more expensive than a hostel, but with many more perks. Great room quality- hot water, AC etc, brilliant cheap restaurant (with rooftop views!), and fantastically located right in the centre of it all.
Rocky is a fantastic host- always helpful, informative and great for a chat (especially if you like cricket). He speaks perfect english and sorted out all our travelling plans while in Hampi.
I recommend this place highly

Room Tip: call in anyitme. rocky isn't a scammer and speaks great english.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Good rooms at reasonable prices - excellent matresses. Sink in corner outside bathroom. Efficient reservation system.
If you want to see the Hampi we have loved down the years come quickly - the Indian Govt. plans to "sanitise" the whole area, destroy the village, its family run hotels and restaurants, put a fence round a very large area and then charge tourists bussed in. Even the hotels and guests houses across the river will go too. This is sad for us toursits, but tragic for the people who live here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews