We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but better value is probably available elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
Ranked #10 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I don't tend to expect much from budget accommodation in India yet some of the basics were absent here, as well as some of the features we enquired about prior to booking. Most notably was the lack of hot water which we queried beforehand and appears on their website. Furthermore, at times there was no running water at all, hot or otherwise. The manageress explained that the water tank was empty - considering the guest house was not fully occupied this doesn't bode well for peak season.

It was not especially clean, albeit not too bad by the standards held by most Indian budget accommodation. The bedding and sink were not particularly clean and there were some dust bunnies on the floor.

The room had a sizeable mosquito community when we arrived which I appreciate is very difficult to prevent but a hotel with mosquito screens is unlikely to suffer the same issue.

The internet facility that is mentioned on their website was described to us as a business centre when we made our booking but in reality this is a laundry room/kitchen, with clothes at varying stages of cleaning strewn over the desk.

On the positive side the guest house is located within Hampi Bazaar which makes it very central. The family that run the guest house are also very friendly and helpful.

Ultimately the guest house is cheap so you get what you pay for but there is probably better value available in Hampi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were originally planning to go to the KSTDC hotel in Kalampuram (just south of the Royal Center) but our driver took us to this guest house beacuse he thought it more convenient. In the end it was probably a good advice because the guesthouse is centrally localted in Hampi Bazaar and we had only two half days to tour the site.

We stayed only one night. The lady who was taking care of the place was very friendly. She asked for 1000 rupees for a double room with no AC. No idea if that's a fair price. It's cheap (about 15 euros) but you get basic service. We gave an overall 4, but that is to be normalized to Hampi's standards. There are no regular hotels on site.

The room was OK, the bed quite good even though the mosquito net was a bit old and stained. The toilet was in working order and toilet paper was provided. The towels were very old but had been cleaned. There was no hot water, which was OK for one night but could be a problem for a longer stay. The negative point was cleanliness, mainly in the shower/toilet and water basin.

In any case, the houses in Hampi bazaar are being destroyed, so this place may not be in business for long.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredetSusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Managed to get a really cheap price per night. Then learned why. I spent the first half hour cleaning the place and I am not fussy at all, it just needed it desperately. Basin, toilet, shower, bench and floor. It seems they only fix the bed when someone checks out. Worst part was having to share the room with a rat, who scratched around from inside the wall keeping me awake most of the night. If i hadn't gotten such a cheap rate I would have left.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RooBoy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Overall was a great place to stay. Irregular power supply in Hampi was annoying but nothing to do with the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davejonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a cosy AC room,this place was one of the nicest in the whole Bazar area.I checked before ca.10guesthouses.Friendly family,really good location for good price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Most of the buildings in Hampi Bazaar are being destroyed so there aren't many guest houses to choose from. Most of the ones mentioned in the LP are gone. This one was good. The room was clean - no bugs. The whole room was a bit too dark. More lighting would be nice. The TV in the room does not work. It only gets one channel - the satellite advertisement channel. The power cuts out all the time, but I would still choose the AC room over no AC as the heat gets oppressive. Had laundry done there but it didn't feel very clean as it's not machined washed. Overall, it was a decent place to stay and probably one of the best ones in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Yes -- the electricity goes off far more frequently than you'd like (which stops the TV, fan, lights, and AC (if you opted for AC))....but that's a problem EVERYwhere in Hampi Bazaar. But I got a nice, big, corner-located (with cross-ventilation) non-AC room for a reasonable price....and (when the ceiling fan was working (i.e., when there was electricity)) it was cool enough. Most importantly, I liked the owner. She was friendly and helpful...and although I checked-out at 10:00am (and left my bag to pick up much later (because I was taking the "night bus" from Hospet to Mysore)), when I returned in the late afternoon she offered to let me take a shower (no additional charge) in order to wash off the day's dust and sweat, before I began my bus-trek. Finally, I should mention that "the whole street" (where this Lakshmi Tourist Home is located) seemed happy that I was staying at a hotel "on their street"....even if I wasn't staying at their particular guest house. [Really; one of the guesthouse owners told me that.]

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
6.3 mi away
Hotel Malligi
Hotel Malligi
#1 of 8 in Hospet
986 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home

Address: Janata Plot, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is near virupaksha temple, The decor, equipment, and cleanliness of the apartments is second to none. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff is first class. This will always be our number one in Hampi for quality and the value it provides. LAKSHMI HERITAGE TOURIST HOME Hotel is located in Hampi, 300 m from local bus stand of Hampi. It offers a restaurant, free parking and rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Air-conditioned guest rooms have TV with cable channels and en suite bathroom with toiletries and hot shower facilities. Select rooms have a balcony. The staff at the tour desk can assist with travel arrangements and car rental services. Laundry services are offered. The on site restaurant serves a selection of local dishes. LAKSHMI HERITAGE TOURIST HOME 15 km from Hospet. Vidayanagara Airport is 38 km away.Hampi is a village in northern karnataka state, India. It is located within the ruins of Vijayanagara, the former capital of the Vijayanagara Empire. Predating the city of Vijayanagara, it continues to be an important religious centre, housing the Virupaksha Temple, as well as several other monuments belonging to the old city. The ruins are a UNESCO World Heritage Site, listed as the Group of Monuments at Hampi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing