We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our short stay sweet !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gowri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gowri Resort
Ranked #3 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vasco da Gama, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made our short stay sweet !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were driving from Goa to Hyderabad and decided to stay overnight at Hampi (which extended to 2 nights and wishing for more). Mr. Gowri Shankar directed us to reach the place easily. They prepared a good meal even at that late arrival and made us comfortable. This serene place with natural beauty felt original and not some plastic/ made up place. The host explained the route for the day and we set off with all the information required for local sight seeing on both the days. He has tried and did his best to make our short trip sweet !

What to expect here:
FOOD: Homely, hygienic, tasty true Indian food which you crave for on long drives. (Tasted only Indian)
ROOMS/ AMBIENCE: They are like cottages with serene, natural Indian village atmosphere. Swing in front of the room was a favourite all day! The rooms are basic but very well maintained with attached bathroom. Climate was cold so din't miss A/C. Hot water available on request.
HOST: Makes all the difference, a person who believes in service and good will rather than profit oriented. Takes responsibility to make your stay better.
PRICE: Offers best price and is a value for money. You will be satisfied at the end of the trip.

Finally, apart from sightseeing at Hampi, spending a leisure time in this resort for few days will be a refreshing experience. Will visit the place again !

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe type they have better view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank prtpvarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    134
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
80
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was an awesome place to rest and relax after travelling all the way from Bangalore to Hampi. We crossed the river and on the other side the owner was waiting with his vehicle to receive us and other guest at the resort. It was a nice welcome to a new place. The made us feel comfortable and even arranged for auto to take us for site seeing and even felt bad that the auto guy wasnt so good at showing us the places. As there regulary auto was out of town. The food was good , the place was clean and far from all the city noise. One thing we liked was it was near to lake so we even went for evening walk. The owner of the guest house along with his family were also good and tried everything to make s feel comfortable. I would like to visit the resort once more. Thanks to Trip advisor as well.

Regards
Babita

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babita_Anup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Gowri Resort is a family run guest house,We stayed for two nights and its was really wonderful experience, located in the midst of paddy fields, and very near to Sanapur Lake. You need to drive around 4km to go to the main Hampi from there. The rooms are basic but very neat and clean, if you want to enjoy the beauty of nature then you must try something like Gowri Resort, where you get a total village feel. Thank you very much Srinivas & Harsha for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: Stay there for more days to explore...1-2 days are not enough to cover Hampi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhash_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

A Very nice place to stay, if you are going with your family/friends and want to hang around in village atmosphere. Its midst of fields and very close to Sanapur Lake, where you can experience picturesque sunrise. We stayed in rooms as we travelled with kids, but the huts are also looking equally good option to stay.
They are very cordial, forthcoming and always ready to make you as comfortable as possible. They make you feel at home, with their home cooked food and affection. They even arrange for your sight seeing in and around humpi at much better prices than outside.
Overall, very good place to stay, looking forward for one more opportunity to go and spend couple of more days
Suggestion for Humpi visitors: Stay for more number of days and explore and enjoy the surrounding at slow pace rather than rushing to cover everything in a day or two.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MaheshVarma_Siravuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

we went on a bike and photography trip to hampi in oct 2013 without booking a place to stay. We called up gowri resort after reaching hospet and thankfully rooms were available there. The road to get to gowri resort were pretty bad and I was apprehensive about it. But after reaching the place we were pleasantly surprised and excited to stay in gowri resort. The rooms were next to paddy fields and is absolutely serene. The place is close to thundabhadra reservoir and we took a walk there in the morning. We were about to spot many birds and lot of monkeys :) which gave a kick to our photography instincts and got more enthusiastic about visiting the temple ruins. I also need to mention how warm and friendly is the owner and family. They made us extremely comfortable that we didnt want to leave the place. I would love to go back there anytime and next time going for the bamboo hut.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank priya_m187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We drove from Karwar to this place and stayed for two days till we covered Hampi. It was a refreshing experience. They guided us for hampi sight seeing and arranged for a auto on the other side of the river as commute by road to hampi from this place is about 40 Kms. Cottages are surrounded by farm and mountains with Sanapur lake at walking distance. The staff was courteous, food was excellent. It was more like a second home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Pros- fantastic view and easily have spent and an afternoon outside the room on the swinging bed.
It is near the lake which is beautiful.
Friendly and helpful owners.
Nice size clean rooms.
Lovely home cooked food.

Cons- it is on the other side of the river to hospet which takes at least an hour by rickshaw (about 800 rps) outside of daylight hours when you can cross by boat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#11 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
2.1 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Resort

Property: Gowri Resort
Address: Near Sanapur Lake, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Resort Located at Sanapur. Sanapur is one of the places nearest to Hampi, approx 4 km from Virpapur Gaddi. We want to extend a warm welcome to all friends and guests of Gowri Resort. Me, my family and all the good people on our staff will try our best to make your stay a pleasant one and we hope you will enjoy your visit to Hampi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Gowri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing