We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Place in Hampi”
Review of Gowri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowri Resort
Ranked #4 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Quiet Place in Hampi”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Gowri Resort is located about 5km away from Hampi Town (but easily reachable by motorbike, which can be rented cheaply). The countryside is beautiful and it is the best way to escape the tourist circus in Hampi bazaar. We relaxed at the lake, enjoyed some nice conversations with the people from the nearby villages and of course, went to the old temples and ruins. The staff was very friendly and made us feel like at home, and served us delicious fresh meals. We absolutely recommend this place, best choice in Hampi. Thank you very much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    135
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
80
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at Gowri Guest House over a year ago but only just signed up for a TA account so wanted to leave a review.

We booked for a couple of days but ended up staying for about a week. The guest house is situated away from the main area where all the other backpacker guest houses are and it benefits from this. There is almost no traffic during the day on the road that runs along the side of the guest house, the area is so peaceful.

The main reason I enjoyed my stay was the owner, Seenu and his family. We had problems with arranging train tickets and getting some cash at one point during our stay. Seenu arranged to take me on the back of his bike and take me to a town about 15km away. He arranged the train tickets for me when the man at the train station didn't speak English. When the ATM we went to was broken, Seenu arranged for his son to take me out on the motorbike the next day to another town. They never asked a penny from me for any of their help.
Seenu even took us to a friend's property one evening to sit in their garden and watch as all the birds flocked back to their nests for the night, such a great sight.

I recommend Seenu and Gowri Guesthouse to everyone I meet who is going to Hampi, such a great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Gowri is very near the beautiful lake, suraund by nature. Gowri family are most hospitality, Nani took us for an amazing sunset spot, excellent restaurant with nich Gopal the shef, And Sinu the owner is most plesent.
We came twice (we left our precuse belongings there and came back after 4days) with our 3little kids, we rent a bike, a place with free WiFi.
It was an amazing experiance.
Thanks, Amir Kinneret and the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very nice place to stay, when you want to relax and want to roam very casually through the historical ruins of Hampi. Situatedonthe other side of the Tungabhadra river and 7 km from Hampi, This place is very cozy and comfortable, and the management people,Mr Srinivas and Mr Harsha, are very helpful. Best choice if you want to relax for some day, far from the hubbubs of the urban environment.

Room Tip: Take the bamboo huts, they have the best view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmalya6479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The aim for this review is to provide the reader with an honest all round assessment of this hostel.

The Gowri is situated some 8 kilometres from the open air museum of Hampi and not as the advertised 4.4. Hampi, itself, is some way from Hospet train station and can be up to 1 hour's drive via Tut Tut if travelling by road to the Gowri. However, the journey time is halved if you take the river boat crossing over Hampi (Service ceases after 6.30pm ).

It is, therefore, essential to have some mode of transport. Scooters can be hired via the Gowri. If you are not proficient on two wheels, Nani - who does much of the day to day running of the hostel - can link you up with a Rickshaw driver for both the Gowri side of Hampi and across the river at the main Hampi site.

I would strongly recommend 'Moon'. He is fair, welcoming and introduced us to some 'off the beaten track' eateries (thali on a palm leaf!), his home and family. This man goes that extra mile and I had a lovely time watching the sun go down with him.

A day's driver on the Gowri side of Hampi costs in the region of 500 rs and the main side about 700 rs. You need to take into account that you need to get to the river before you can cross, some 8km's away. Main Hampi is as equally big and transport is essential.

The boat ride charges 20 rs per crossing per person and is a lovely experience - especially if you like the smell of 2-stroke exhaust fumes (but that is India for you!).

The Gowri is situated in the heart of the National Park. This holds both plus and negative points - it is situated within peace and tranquility with only the sounds of birds, chipmunks, crickets, monkeys and dog howls to keep you company on one hand. To oppose this, it is stuck in the middle of nowhere with nothing but paddy fields, a long way from the main attractions.

The accommodation is very basic but adequate. The bed is covered with an effective mosquito net (much needed!). Be armed with toilet tissue and soap as none are supplied. If you are caught short, Nani will sell you what you need at a cost, of course, but it is far cheaper if you bring your own.

Electrical supply is sporadic and is only available from 6pm to 11am. It is imperative that you have a fan working - it is incredibly hot - but, in the true style of India's attempts to cost cut, all sorts of excuses can be made apparent to keep the 'emergency' generator off... 'it is too noisy to start up, the noise effects the guests!' If there is a way to squeeze more money or cost-contain, a way will be found, not only by Nani, but by any astute Indian!!! It is also worth noting that there is only one plug socket in the room, so an extension can come in handy and wifi is not available here.

The food is the best part of average but it appears safe to eat - a great advantage for India - and is priced quite high when considering these parts. However, it is convenient and the shack provides additional services like free wifi, mobile charging point and television.

Nani tends to relate more to his generation than us '40 somethings' and doesn't seem to understand the concept of compromise and goodwill. On the other hand, Mr Srivivas, has the wisdom and integrity to know that in being reasonable and fair there is reward. We found this father figure charming, kind and consciencous. However, Nani is very knowledgable about his locality and will spend the time to help customers get the most from their visit. He supplied us with a map which he designed himself.

During the four nights we stayed at the Gowri, neither our room or towel had been cleaned or changed. I guess this is another Indian cost-cutting exercise... lol!

Our overall experience of the Gowri was a fair one. However, just for the experience that we would not have had if we stayed at main Hampi, our time with Moon, I am grateful - more than anything else - to this Rickshaw driver. Without his due care and attention, I am sure that staying at the Gowri would not have been as good as it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazwellyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was very hard to decide how to rate this tiny "resort". Upon arrival, especially at night, the property is dimly lit, and the small cottages with see-through walls, are a bit of a shock. Then you look up, and see all the glorious stars, and hear the croaking and chirping of nature's night creatures, and everything drifts away. The cottages are the best because they give onto a rice paddy. It's a field of green, with bouncing monkeys in the distant trees. The accomodation is VERY spartan. The double-sized bed is ROCK hard. My toilet leaked water when I flushed it, the towel was clean but gray, and a mosquito net is highly recommended. What makes this place so special however, is the peaceful, quiet, unassuming nature of this small place surrounded by nature. The owner and his two sons do everything to satisfy your needs. The food on site is fair. I prefered The Shanty further down the road.

Room Tip: cottage on rice field
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were introduced to this fantastic spot to view sunset. It was a never experienced wonderful memory. Other than that, the food in Gowri is wonderful. With the best food and best room! I will never forget this trip and will definitely come and stay at Gowri again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank _297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
4.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
4.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
161 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
2.2 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#3 of 43 in Hampi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Resort

Property: Gowri Resort
Address: Near Sanapur Lake, Hampi 583234, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Resort Located at Sanapur. Sanapur is one of the places nearest to Hampi, approx 4 km from Virpapur Gaddi. We want to extend a warm welcome to all friends and guests of Gowri Resort. Me, my family and all the good people on our staff will try our best to make your stay a pleasant one and we hope you will enjoy your visit to Hampi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Gowri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing