We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really helpful guy”
Review of Kiran Guest House

Kiran Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiran Guest House
Ranked #40 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in Hampi during the last week of February 2012. We had hoped to stay at Kiran's but unfortunately all his rooms were booked. He did though find us alternative accommodation at nearby Sunny's guest house. Kiran is an absolutely top bloke and nothing is too much trouble for him. He sorted us out with a rickshaw driver whenever we needed one and gave us plenty of good advice. We told him that we had travelled from Goa by Paulo coach and that it had been a horrendous experience. Kiran changed the ticket for us so we could return with Island (Ganesh) coaches which was a hundred times better. We paid RS 600 per night for a room and when we settled our bill there were no nasty surprises or "add-ons." The rooms at Sunny’s were basic but clean (as is most of the accommodation in Hampi). 8X8 room with a bed with mosquito net, separate shower and toilet.
One bit of advice though. The government is planning to start clearing all the guest houses, dwellings and shops from the Bazaar area in March 2012. I’m not sure how long this process is likely to take so I would recommend contacting Kiran by email first to see if he is still in business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We will never forget this place. It was really magic for us.

Family is lovely, rooms are nice and clean (i love the color on the walls!).

The view was espectacular at night.

Very romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chamelikaphul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Kiran and his family were fabulous. Friendly, helpful and kind. I loved doing Yoga on the roof top which is private quiet and covered. The kids were able to go to the restaurant opposite and start their breakfast before us.

Surrounded by a bannana plantation, it is at a quiet dead end street.

The sad thing is that there is a chance that Hampi will no longer be there soon as it is due to be knocked down by some crazy beauraucrats.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Great place run by nice and hospitable people.
Not a place you go to for room-service (they serve only coffee and tea), nice facilities like a swimming pool etc. You only get an 8X 8 room with 2 beds in it. The bathroom is clean and you get hot water and has a WC.
It's close to the Virupaksha temple and food etc are not a problem. The owner (kiran) can arrange a giude for you, or an auto-rickshaw if you want to go across the river. They are ok with sudden changes in plans and itineraries and don't slap you with fines and penalties. The final bill does not hold any surprises either.
Great place to stay close and experience Hampi.

Room Tip: Get the rooms below. The ones above you might have to share a bathroom (but I guess the rates will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaidya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stumbled upon it randomly from wikitravel and deicded to go ahead. Run by the son of the family who speaks good english and is available on his mobilephone throughout. Not exaclty the star accommodation but decent rooms for the price we paid (Rs.300/day for a double bed). They have 5 rooms and 3 are in the first floor - I recommend you ask for them as it saves from being on the ground floor, which is quite noisy as its in the midst of a housing colony (like all other guesthouses anyway!).

The best parts:
Its on the river with their property kissing the banks - so you can always walk down to the river. We drove down and Kiran could arrange to get our car inside the Hampi bazaar area (not common) all the way to the GH and could park it for free in front of it. Kiran was very friendly, waited for us till 2230 on a Friday night (we were running late) and didn't disturb us with procedures as three of us wearily travelled souls checked in that night, after the long drive from Bangalore.

Very easy access to Hampi bazaar area and most of the ruins (from 3-15 mins walk), has nice restaurants around and pretty close to the most celebrated Mango Tree restaurant too! (we went there twice! Yummy food, very chilled ambience, cheap!)

Very easy to communicate with the owners,
decent rooms and 24x7 power (very essential in Hampi but offerred by very few. He might be the only one who offers it!)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AUnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alicedbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bulotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
0 mi away
Om Shiva Guest House
Om Shiva Guest House
#15 of 44 in Hampi
12 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Sirihomestay
#7 of 28 in Hampi
17 reviews
0 mi away
Manju Guest House
Manju Guest House
#37 of 44 in Hampi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Netra Guest House
Netra Guest House
#11 of 28 in Hampi
4 reviews
0 mi away
Archana Guesthouse
Archana Guesthouse
#35 of 44 in Hampi
121 reviews
0 mi away
Padma Guest House
Padma Guest House
#36 of 44 in Hampi
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiran Guest House

Address: Janata Plot, Hampi Bazaar Area, Hampi, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $11 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kiran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing