We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware tourists”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Padma Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padma Guest House
Ranked #35 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beware tourists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

quite a few times I've recommenced this option to my backpack traveling friends and to standard travellers , but i was there with the small group of 6 on arrival the tour leader paid full amount of 3000 for all three rooms, the lady in charge didn't made any receipt for that payment cause she prompted him like im boss! but when we depart she asked us to pay!! the tour leader from poland explained well that he did on arrival. but lady robbed them again! im the evident to this rob! had no time to complain!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank justmailplzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    87
    47
    21
    29
See reviews for
36
91
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked our room by telephone and agreed R1300. I happened to call the day before travelling to request meet from the station only to be told that they do not have that room butI should come and they would sort us out. On arrival, the only room available was R3000! - with a take it or leave it attitude. After long hours of travelling and arriving quite late in the day I was loathe to trek around with heavy bags looking for an alternative, so for that one night I reluctantly paid more than double what I had agreed.
For that money, the room is poor value - more like what I would have expected for my R1300. Lack of atmosphere, no place to hang or store any clothes, and lack of privacy due to family members using our balcony space for their own sightseeing of the temple.
If you are looking for a place in Hampi, you may not get their view of the temple but you will easily get this quality or better with a little legwork for half the price.
By the way, my annoyance is not just about the money, it is about the apparent lack of integrity and eagerness to 'cash in', even after an agreement was made.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a written confirmation of booking and of the price you have agreed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hampi hotels

lima
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Expensive for what you get. The bathroom was OK, with no shower, only a bucket and a faucet.

I was expecting more for a top choice for lonely planet.

Padma was nice. She is helpful and provides a charm to the experience. She has to invest in the mattreses, linen, etc.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank backpacker8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Padma is basic in terms of room quality, but clean (by many Indian guesthouse standards), and very reasonably priced. Upon arrival, the owners showed us several rooms with varying prices (all reasonably cheap), and we set up there fairly quickly and without fuss. The location for Hampi is brilliant, its seconds away from the Virupaksha temple right in the centre of the town, and has stunning views of the temple from the roof of the guest house. The staff at the guesthouse bent over backwards to make us feel welcome, even making sure we were awake at 5am so as not to miss our train. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Padma guest House is a home with multiple rooms. It is very close to the Main Bazar Bus Stand and Virupaksha temple. The people at the Guest House were really courteous and arranged me a Motor Bike for Hampi sight seeing (without submitting any ID proof) . The best thing about the Guest house is the English Breakfast (recommended). Anyone looking for a basic stay and good food can opt for Padma Guest House .

Room Tip: One can get a good view of Virupaksha temple from the terrace. Choice of room doesn't make any d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant_Chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had an ac room, cost 1300 rupee - apparently overpriced for what you can get in Hampi, but it's a really comfortable stay, and you're just so close to everything.
The view from the balcony is stunning, of the temple etc... Padma is definitely lacking atmosphere, and the showers don't really have any water pressure. Well ours didn't. Bucket bath was fine, hot water and everything!!
They provide booking facility for trains or buses, or there's a booking agent just next door (which I would advise against...doesn't give you all the options, and rips you off a bit) also, the young fellow that works here let me use their phone to book our next hotel. Friendly enough staff, they just look like they would rather be elsewhere.
Wifi facility available at the restaurant. Regular power cuts in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I think the Lonely Planet “Top choice” recommendation has encouraged Padma to charge far too much for what are very basic rooms. Rs 1800 a night for a room (albeit a/c) with no hot water in the shower (only in the tap) and very basic furnishings, in what is definitely a guest house rather than a hotel, is just too much. The construction of the building is also quite shabby and cheap (the room door was just a thin piece of plywood). It’s absolutely fine not to provide luxury, but the prices should reflect what you are providing. From what I saw, accommodation options looked much better over the river.

I also didn’t find either Padma or her family particularly friendly – lots seems to be delegated to hired help, detracting from the guesthouse feel. I think the only times Padma spoke to me were to ask for payment and to confirm I was checking out the next day.

Although to be fair this seems a common error among Hampi restaurants, don’t make the mistake of ordering ‘hash browns’ – what you will get is lumps of potato and green pepper in a sweet and oily Chinese sauce. New Shanti in the main market area will do proper hash browns if you make it’s clear that that’s what you want.

If you do choose to stay here, do not reserve using any agent websites (especially not 'Hampi hotels' which marks up the rooms by around 100%) – contact the guesthouse direct for the best prices.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.4 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#4 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
0.3 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padma Guest House

Property: Padma Guest House
Address: Behind Government School | Main Bazar, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Padma Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Padma Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing