We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gopi goes the extra mile!”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gopi goes the extra mile!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Gopi guesthouse was great. Firstly they arranged a pick up for us from Hospet station, early in the morning. We settled in and were offered a site seeing tour of the more scattered sites which needed to be seen on a single day's ticket. This was awesome and ended with a wonderful sunset experience high on a hill overlooking the Hampi boulders. The food, smoothies and room at Gopi were good. Day two was a bicycle tour, very worthwhile with a good guide based at the main temple in the village. Kiran arranged our final transfer back to Hospet for a very early train and we paid him in advance. Unfortunately at 5:30 in the morning the Tuk-Tuk driver said Kiran had made a mistake and demanded an extra 300 Rupees. We were not happy nor in a position to argue, so we paid up.
We later wrote to Kiran to tell him this had happened and he was not happy. Beyond our expectations, not only did Kiran thank us for this information, but he arranged with a contact we had made in his restaurant,to restore the said 300 rupees, as she was going to pass through our next destination. She posted our money under our door a few days later. We were amazed and very, very touched that Kiran had gone to so much trouble. In conclusion therefore.....Gopi Guesthouse comes highly recommended and we only wish we had allowed more that two whole days there. Hampi deserves at least four days, for the wonderful sites and unique landscape.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    111
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
89
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Gopi guest house isn't for everybody. It's for the no frills traveller, who wants a cleanish place to stay without much fuss.
Most of their guests appear to be foreigners, and the staff are well prepared.
Great location, in the centre of hampi town. I visited with two foreign friends and we were comfortable in a basic room in the old block.
A lot of reviews here state that the staff is very helpful. I agree wholeheartedly. The management is a team of brothers who are thoroughly well informed , courteous, and and made our stay there very pleasant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Devika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review,everyday we learning something new from guests and we try to provide best service and make them happy stay in hampi.I hope when you come again to hampi and we will try to provide best service as you were here before and make your stay happy in our hotel.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Personally, the northern part of Hampi (north of the river) felt more comfortable; next time I would stay at the Shanti. Overall, my impressions about Hampi are very mixed; I really don't like that the feeling that everybody cheats on you....

Positive:
* Rooms were ok (at least clean: New building with AC)
* Rooftop terasse
* Pick off and drop off was very punctual

Neutral:
* Food did not hurt
* Food is not very tasty; I had far better Indian cuisine (Palak Paneer, Mutter Paneer) so far anywhere else

Negative:
* No "welcome" information: just here is your room. Initially the AC as well as warm water was not working and no explanation given. I needed to ask twice(!) for each!
* Rooms are overpriced (had new building with AC for 2000RS) at least for my feeling
* Only pick up (I came from Hospet) is included, drop off not (costs 500RS) and was demanded at drop off location without any prior information(!)
* Tour guide from the restaurant: on our arrival one of the owners asked us, if I would be interested in a tour through the ruins by Riksha for 1200RS. Anyhow, after the first temple(!) he introduced a new guide (very annoying one) and was gone.

Room Tip: Check for another place. If not get one in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review,we are very happy to some hear about some negative and positive review about our hotel,but you said on review about not welcoming sorry for that because we do always welcome guests and we treat them as our family members when they stay in our hotel.

second thing you told about a/c and hot water and also you said about you have to ask for everything twice i am extreemly sorry for this in my service this is first time happen and but one thing i will tell you in all the hotels some time there will be problem about the hot water,a/c.beds etc until you say we didn't knew about the problems of hot water and a/c now everything is fixed and solved.

And third thing you told about the price 2000rs including breakfast and a/c i hope thats very good price we offered you because its very busy time in hampi and its high season but
come during april to septmember we give the same room for 1200rs,anyway sorry for everything i hope when you come back to our hotel we will try to provide best service and make you fell like your home.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

With a beautiful roof top and a great atmosphere, Gopi is the place to stay in the old town side of Hampi. Great food and friendly staff with comfortable rooms. If you ask when you are there you can arrange to visit the Banana Plantation situated 20 minutes away, owned by the Gopi family. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It is so nice to stay somewhere in India where the staff real care and all they want to do is make sure your stay is as good as possible. They try really hard to take care of everything. The facilities are basic but they work really hard with what they have. We would have loved to stay much, much longer. The only disappoint was the foreigners who selfishly took it all for granted. Thank you we noticed how hard you worked to make our stay great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Twin-bedded room in new block. Only problem was lack of water pressure on the shower. Room was clean with AC. Excellent central location. Good food on the uncovered rooftop or on the floor below. Reasonable price. Friendly and helpful staff. Kiron and Vijay are excellent guides. Pick-up from Hospet arranged. Overall, a good place to chill out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 236Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are basic but fully functional and clean. The location is excellent as are the staff. They are friendly personable and will do all they can to improve your stay. Wifi is terrible in the whole town so don't expect too much on that front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Property: Gopi Guest House
Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing