We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, does the job”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Gopi guest house isn't for everybody. It's for the no frills traveller, who wants a cleanish place to stay without much fuss.
Most of their guests appear to be foreigners, and the staff are well prepared.
Great location, in the centre of hampi town. I visited with two foreign friends and we were comfortable in a basic room in the old block.
A lot of reviews here state that the staff is very helpful. I agree wholeheartedly. The management is a team of brothers who are thoroughly well informed , courteous, and and made our stay there very pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Devika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review,everyday we learning something new from guests and we try to provide best service and make them happy stay in hampi.I hope when you come again to hampi and we will try to provide best service as you were here before and make your stay happy in our hotel.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Gopi Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Personally, the northern part of Hampi (north of the river) felt more comfortable; next time I would stay at the Shanti. Overall, my impressions about Hampi are very mixed; I really don't like that the feeling that everybody cheats on you....

Positive:
* Rooms were ok (at least clean: New building with AC)
* Rooftop terasse
* Pick off and drop off was very punctual

Neutral:
* Food did not hurt
* Food is not very tasty; I had far better Indian cuisine (Palak Paneer, Mutter Paneer) so far anywhere else

Negative:
* No "welcome" information: just here is your room. Initially the AC as well as warm water was not working and no explanation given. I needed to ask twice(!) for each!
* Rooms are overpriced (had new building with AC for 2000RS) at least for my feeling
* Only pick up (I came from Hospet) is included, drop off not (costs 500RS) and was demanded at drop off location without any prior information(!)
* Tour guide from the restaurant: on our arrival one of the owners asked us, if I would be interested in a tour through the ruins by Riksha for 1200RS. Anyhow, after the first temple(!) he introduced a new guide (very annoying one) and was gone.

Room Tip: Check for another place. If not get one in the new building.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review,we are very happy to some hear about some negative and positive review about our hotel,but you said on review about not welcoming sorry for that because we do always welcome guests and we treat them as our family members when they stay in our hotel.

second thing you told about a/c and hot water and also you said about you have to ask for everything twice i am extreemly sorry for this in my service this is first time happen and but one thing i will tell you in all the hotels some time there will be problem about the hot water,a/c.beds etc until you say we didn't knew about the problems of hot water and a/c now everything is fixed and solved.

And third thing you told about the price 2000rs including breakfast and a/c i hope thats very good price we offered you because its very busy time in hampi and its high season but
come during april to septmember we give the same room for 1200rs,anyway sorry for everything i hope when you come back to our hotel we will try to provide best service and make you fell like your home.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

With a beautiful roof top and a great atmosphere, Gopi is the place to stay in the old town side of Hampi. Great food and friendly staff with comfortable rooms. If you ask when you are there you can arrange to visit the Banana Plantation situated 20 minutes away, owned by the Gopi family. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It is so nice to stay somewhere in India where the staff real care and all they want to do is make sure your stay is as good as possible. They try really hard to take care of everything. The facilities are basic but they work really hard with what they have. We would have loved to stay much, much longer. The only disappoint was the foreigners who selfishly took it all for granted. Thank you we noticed how hard you worked to make our stay great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Twin-bedded room in new block. Only problem was lack of water pressure on the shower. Room was clean with AC. Excellent central location. Good food on the uncovered rooftop or on the floor below. Reasonable price. Friendly and helpful staff. Kiron and Vijay are excellent guides. Pick-up from Hospet arranged. Overall, a good place to chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are basic but fully functional and clean. The location is excellent as are the staff. They are friendly personable and will do all they can to improve your stay. Wifi is terrible in the whole town so don't expect too much on that front.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

It's a great place to stay in Hampi. The staff is very helpful, rooms are clean and tidy, price are reasonable and the restaurant (which has a very pleasant rooftop) serves tasty food! Definitely recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SIMODC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review,we learning everyday from guests and improving our service.i hope when you come back again to hampi we provide our best service then when you here before and make your stay in our hotel excellent.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $18 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing