We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We got to Hampi after an endless train ride, so quite naturally we wanted to check in at Gopi asap (I had booked & paid for the room in advance). We were asked to wait a bit - turns our 'a bit' means an hour (FYI, it was around 5pm). Once we were finally taken to our "deluxe" room, it turned out to be filthy, dodgy and with leakage in the bathroom.
We refused to stay there (and believe me, I really am not a picky tourist - all I need is a clean bathroom and clean sheets).
As always, we had to haggle a bit, we then went to look around for another hotel (even if it meant losing the money I had paid online).
Thankfully, the owner arranged for us to stay in a hotel on the opposite side of the road, which was WAY better.

I would give Gopi a terrible/poor grade for that disgustingly dirty room they wanted to put us in, but I do appreciate that the staff came around and sent us to another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZosMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Super nice guesthouse in Hampi! I stayed in the 'old block' for 11 nights in a basic room which was very clean, light, big and comfortable with warm shower also. Perfect. The family that runs the guesthouse (and also the attached restaurant by the way), is super nice and hospitable. Always there to help you out or give any advice if you need it. Yeah, I really enjoyed my stay and can highly recommend this place to anyone. Also the rooftop restaurant with a nice view over the temple is so good, I had almost every breakfast, lunch and dinner during my stay there!

Room Tip: There are 2 blocks, the old block which provides basic rooms (I think they are very good and suitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindahirzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at Gopi for 3 weeks in Feb. , it's a good family run business , clean rooms , fan , hot water & mossie net , & as a bonus in India , quiet . Also a restaurant on the roof with good views all round . I'll definitely revisit when the time comes .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food is first class and the staff are very friendly. After a problem elsewhere we were made very welcome and our faith in human nature was restored. The food is excellent as is the service. Wi Fi is a big bonus here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed in Gopi in January 2013 and had an average experience. The bathroom had a horrible hybrid squat/normal toilet and was just gross in general. The room was not very clean either. Upstairs the restaurant was ok but food a bit bland.

Another questionable thing was seeing the owner of Gopi dictating to another traveller a review for trip advisor.

We had friends who stayed in the new building and apparently it was much more hospitable, we had a quick glance and it seemed nice enough.

Location is pretty good though.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrooveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in Gopi guest house for 2 nights. It is a great place to stay in Hampi. It has very clean rooms at very reasonable rates. And to add on to your experience it has a roof top restaurant with an amazing view of the Virupaksha temple. The place is lively and all the time thronged by tourists. It serves very good food and almost all cuisines. For me it was a complete package. Used to sleep in my room, relax in the roof top restaurants and all my meals were without a doubt at the roof top restaurant.
And as if this is not enough, Gopi guest house has a very friendly owner named Kiran. He guided me on which all places to visit in Hampi on all three days. In short, made my entire travel plan when I was in Hampi :) If you get a chance - do meet him :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anubhav26488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The atmosphere, the food, the rooms and views were wonderful but the best part was the great communication both online and in person by Kiran and his staff. Our only hope for this guest house is that is saved from the governments plans to change Hampi into a high end Agra and loose the charm of the Hampi bazaar and it's residents.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 44 in Hampi
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#5 of 44 in Hampi
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: $26 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing